Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,085, Level: 61
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,265
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    cloneu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    4,164
    Points
    39,085
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 21

    Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    I recently moved into a new construction home and have had an issue with our circuit breaker tripping. The panel is a 225amp with most breakers having 15 or 20amps for the regular rooms. Whenever we try to vacumn the breaker for that room usually trips. It looks like our vacumn uses 12 amps. Is the issue simply that our breakers can't handle a 12amp vacumn and have the lights on at the same time?

    What solutions are there to this problem? Upgrading some of the individual breakers or do I need to look at getting a bigger panel along with upgrading individual breakers?

    Thanks!


    Step 1: Cut a hole in the box.

  2. #2
    All-Star
    Points: 31,445, Level: 54
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    CykoAGR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Waukee, IA
    Posts
    1,675
    Points
    31,445
    Level
    54
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 68

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by cloneu View Post
    I recently moved into a new construction home and have had an issue with our circuit breaker tripping. The panel is a 225amp with most breakers having 15 or 20amps for the regular rooms. Whenever we try to vacumn the breaker for that room usually trips. It looks like our vacumn uses 12 amps. Is the issue simply that our breakers can't handle a 12amp vacumn and have the lights on at the same time?

    What solutions are there to this problem? Upgrading some of the individual breakers or do I need to look at getting a bigger panel along with upgrading individual breakers?

    Thanks!
    You shouldnt increase the breaker from 15 to 20 amps because the wire is likely not heavy enough for this. 20 amp breakers use 12guage wire and 15amp use 14 gauge wire. Increasing the breaker size could lead to overloading the wiring which could cause it to get hot and start a fire.

    A vac and lights should not trip a 15 amp breaker unless they put a ton of lights on the breaker. Do you have other stuff plugged into the same breaker like tv, dvd, other appliances or anything that uses electricity? If so you might have to unplugg this stuff while vacumming or find a circut that isnt using so many amps.


    “It’s beyond pride. It’s a restored trust. There’s a confidence again, a passion that teeters on swagger. More than anything, (Iowa State head coach Paul Rhoads) has restored the Iowa State “it” factor, the steadfast belief that it is great to be a Cyclone...the man’s enthusiasm is genuine to the core...”
    – columnist Sean Keeler, Des Moines Register

  3. #3
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 8,761, Level: 28
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 589
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    hazleton
    Posts
    266
    Points
    8,761
    Level
    28
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by CykoAGR View Post
    You shouldnt increase the breaker from 15 to 20 amps because the wire is likely not heavy enough for this. 20 amp breakers use 12guage wire and 15amp use 14 gauge wire. Increasing the breaker size could lead to overloading the wiring which could cause it to get hot and start a fire.

    A vac and lights should not trip a 15 amp breaker unless they put a ton of lights on the breaker. Do you have other stuff plugged into the same breaker like tv, dvd, other appliances or anything that uses electricity? If so you might have to unplugg this stuff while vacumming or find a circut that isnt using so many amps.


    if im reading it right, whatever room u go into, the vac blows its circuit?
    for example if its in the living room and blows the circuit breaker, then u take it to a bedroom and it blows one
    your vac may not be functioning properly. sounds like its pulling to much juice.



  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 16,460, Level: 39
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 790
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cdekovic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    16,460
    Level
    39
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4
    Given: 1

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    You might have a short circuit in your vacuum. Have you checked other similar amp items in the outlets?


    Hit it hard, every yard

  5. #5
    All-Star
    Points: 31,445, Level: 54
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    CykoAGR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Waukee, IA
    Posts
    1,675
    Points
    31,445
    Level
    54
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 68

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by cdekovic View Post
    You might have a short circuit in your vacuum. Have you checked other similar amp items in the outlets?
    This is a good point, I hadnt thought of this.


    “It’s beyond pride. It’s a restored trust. There’s a confidence again, a passion that teeters on swagger. More than anything, (Iowa State head coach Paul Rhoads) has restored the Iowa State “it” factor, the steadfast belief that it is great to be a Cyclone...the man’s enthusiasm is genuine to the core...”
    – columnist Sean Keeler, Des Moines Register

  6. #6
    Walk On
    Points: 5,131, Level: 21
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 419
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    127
    Points
    5,131
    Level
    21
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by cloneu View Post
    I recently moved into a new construction home and have had an issue with our circuit breaker tripping. The panel is a 225amp with most breakers having 15 or 20amps for the regular rooms. Whenever we try to vacumn the breaker for that room usually trips. It looks like our vacumn uses 12 amps. Is the issue simply that our breakers can't handle a 12amp vacumn and have the lights on at the same time?

    What solutions are there to this problem? Upgrading some of the individual breakers or do I need to look at getting a bigger panel along with upgrading individual breakers?

    Thanks!
    The circuit breaker's job is to protect your wiring. You can't just upgrade the breaker if the wire in the walls can't handle the extra current (fire hazard). First step is to see what your wiring (and outlet) can handle.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,085, Level: 61
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,265
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    cloneu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    4,164
    Points
    39,085
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 21

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by ss View Post
    if im reading it right, whatever room u go into, the vac blows its circuit?
    for example if its in the living room and blows the circuit breaker, then u take it to a bedroom and it blows one
    your vac may not be functioning properly. sounds like its pulling to much juice.
    This is correct. The breaker that was tripping yesterday covers 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. The only thing plugged in was the vacumn and the lights were on in both of the rooms. When we first moved in we had the same issue in the basement family room. We were using a space heater, tv, tivo, and the lights were on and it tripped on two different times. It also tripped once with the vacumn and the lights on. The tv/tivo were plugged in but not on.

    This is the same vacumn that we had been using at our old apartment and never had any issues. Does anybody know how many amps a regular ceiling light would use?


    Step 1: Cut a hole in the box.

  8. #8
    Walk On
    Points: 5,131, Level: 21
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 419
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    127
    Points
    5,131
    Level
    21
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by cloneu View Post
    This is correct. The breaker that was tripping yesterday covers 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. The only thing plugged in was the vacumn and the lights were on in both of the rooms. When we first moved in we had the same issue in the basement family room. We were using a space heater, tv, tivo, and the lights were on and it tripped on two different times. It also tripped once with the vacumn and the lights on. The tv/tivo were plugged in but not on.

    This is the same vacumn that we had been using at our old apartment and never had any issues. Does anybody know how many amps a regular ceiling light would use?
    How many watts is the light?

    power in watts / 120 = current (amps)

    so 60 watt bulb draws 0.5 amps



  9. #9
    Starter
    Points: 16,879, Level: 39
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 371
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran10000 Experience Points
    heyguy85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    884
    Points
    16,879
    Level
    39
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 13
    Given: 30

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    The Amish never have this problem. Contact them.



  10. #10
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,085, Level: 61
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,265
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    cloneu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    4,164
    Points
    39,085
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 21

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by heyguy85 View Post
    The Amish never have this problem. Contact them.
    I called but nobody answered.


    Step 1: Cut a hole in the box.

  11. #11
    Pro
    Points: 29,189, Level: 52
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 561
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Covenant Clone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Clive
    Posts
    2,916
    Points
    29,189
    Level
    52
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 1

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    What is more than likely happening is you have a bad arc fault breaker in you panel. The 2009 IEC started to require that we put arc fault protected breakers in any room where you plug in something with an cord. Bedrooms, living rooms, etc (lamps are their man concern). Arc fault breakers just offer more protection an a standard breaker. In a standard breaker something can start to short out and the breaker won't necessarily trip. With arc fault that breaker will trip at any sign of a short. The main concern is safety but they are a pain in the butt. The are more than twice as expensive as a regular breaker, they go bad sometimes and they trip very easily. I would guess if it isn't the actual vacuum than it is a bad arc fault breaker. If you are still under warranty call the builder and they will have the electrician come take a look. If not call the builder anyway and find out what electrical company wired the house and give them a call and explain the problem.



  12. #12
    Pro
    Points: 36,605, Level: 58
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    drmwevr08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    3,446
    Points
    36,605
    Level
    58
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 5

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Covenant Clone View Post
    What is more than likely happening is you have a bad arc fault breaker in you panel. The 2009 IEC started to require that we put arc fault protected breakers in any room where you plug in something with an cord. Bedrooms, living rooms, etc (lamps are their man concern). Arc fault breakers just offer more protection an a standard breaker. In a standard breaker something can start to short out and the breaker won't necessarily trip. With arc fault that breaker will trip at any sign of a short. The main concern is safety but they are a pain in the butt. The are more than twice as expensive as a regular breaker, they go bad sometimes and they trip very easily. I would guess if it isn't the actual vacuum than it is a bad arc fault breaker. If you are still under warranty call the builder and they will have the electrician come take a look. If not call the builder anyway and find out what electrical company wired the house and give them a call and explain the problem.
    Yes, I agree. There is NO reason this should trip if the vac has worked elsewhere. Hopefully they will test and fix it for you. Otherwise, stick a penny in it.



  13. #13
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,085, Level: 61
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,265
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    cloneu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    4,164
    Points
    39,085
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 21

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Covenant Clone View Post
    What is more than likely happening is you have a bad arc fault breaker in you panel. The 2009 IEC started to require that we put arc fault protected breakers in any room where you plug in something with an cord. Bedrooms, living rooms, etc (lamps are their man concern). Arc fault breakers just offer more protection an a standard breaker. In a standard breaker something can start to short out and the breaker won't necessarily trip. With arc fault that breaker will trip at any sign of a short. The main concern is safety but they are a pain in the butt. The are more than twice as expensive as a regular breaker, they go bad sometimes and they trip very easily. I would guess if it isn't the actual vacuum than it is a bad arc fault breaker. If you are still under warranty call the builder and they will have the electrician come take a look. If not call the builder anyway and find out what electrical company wired the house and give them a call and explain the problem.
    We are still under warranty and I am waiting for a call back from our builder. Hopefully this is what is happening. Thanks to everybody for your input, except for heyguy85. I know you are not witty enough to have come up with that comment on your own. So thank which ever one of your 5th graders gave you that comment.


    Step 1: Cut a hole in the box.

  14. #14
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,085, Level: 61
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,265
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    cloneu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    4,164
    Points
    39,085
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 21

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    The breaker we had issues with yesterday covers 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. Is it possible to break up the rooms so they are on seperate breakers?


    Step 1: Cut a hole in the box.

  15. #15
    Speechless
    Points: 729,783, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 53.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Cyclonepride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    A pineapple under the sea
    Posts
    47,410
    Points
    729,783
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,274
    Given: 631

    Re: Circuit Breaker Panel Question

    Quote Originally Posted by cloneu View Post
    The breaker we had issues with yesterday covers 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. Is it possible to break up the rooms so they are on seperate breakers?
    Yes- I had to do this in my old house. I had one breaker that covered:

    Kitchen lights
    South wall kitchen
    Dining room
    Hall
    East LR
    One bedroom upstairs

    Whoever wired it was an idiot. I found it because the kitchen light went poof, and I'm lucky I didn't have a fire, because it smoked the wires above the light. I ended up separating all that into two circuits.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FOX
  • Iowa State vs. Baylor
  • September 27, 2014
  • 07:20 PM