Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

Fanatics who cycle….

Do we have any cyclists here? I am a beginner with hopes of going on RAGBRAI this year. I live out near Granger and am looking for someone who might want to ride from time to time. Also, I was wondering if anyone local knows of any good non-busy roads to ride around Granger/Grimes area? I use the trails, but some of them are quite a drive for me to get to, and the ones around Saylorville aren’t very fun to ride for training purposes. Being that I live on a very busy divided highway, I can’t really just jump on my bike and go, I have to put the bike on the rack and drive.

Prospect
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 430
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0

Re: Fanatics who cycle….

You might try this forum Midwest - RoadBikeReview Forums

I've got a friend that rides to DSM from Ankeny. He may know
    of some rides around the area.

RAGBRAI could be crazy this year if Armstrong shows up for the week as promised.

Pro
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 641
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3

Quote Originally Posted by cys_av8r View Post
    Also, I was wondering if anyone local knows of any good non-busy roads to ride around Granger/Grimes area?
    I would avoid riding anywhere in Polk County. The roads are very busy and the drivers don't respect cyclists. Several have been hit or killed by cars in recent years. When I lived in Ames, I used to ride out to the Ledges State Park on some of the Story and Boone County Roads. It was an enjoyable 20 mile ride (40 round trip).

I would go north and west of where you live.

Some people wear Superman pajamas. Superman wears Chuck Norris pajamas.

cyclONEnation