Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: TV Channels

  1. #1
    Recruit Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Northwest Iowa
    Posts
    113
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    TV Channels

    I live in Friley and we get some high def channels, but they arent listed on the internet where I find the guide. Does anyone know what channel the high def TNT is on? I'm watching the Cavs-Magic game right now. The regular channel is 47 and the high def is not the channel above it like for CBS where it is channel 8 and the high def is channel 8-1
    TIA



  2. #2
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 55,615, Level: 73
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,435
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    dustinal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,635
    Points
    55,615
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: TV Channels

    You need an HD receiver box from Mediacom to access HD cable channels.




  3. #3
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,505, Level: 61
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 845
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tman24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,025
    Points
    39,505
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 12
    Given: 17

    Re: TV Channels

    Quote Originally Posted by dustinal View Post
    You need an HD receiver box from Mediacom to access HD cable channels.
    You dont have to in dorms and some apartment complexes.

    My friend just went through all the channels and wrote them down on paper since they aren't in any order. Just keep flipping through until you find it, is the best advice i can give you.


    Hooray for Metaphors!

  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 55,615, Level: 73
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,435
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    dustinal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,635
    Points
    55,615
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: TV Channels

    Quote Originally Posted by tman24 View Post
    You dont have to in dorms and some apartment complexes.

    My friend just went through all the channels and wrote them down on paper since they aren't in any order. Just keep flipping through until you find it, is the best advice i can give you.
    I stand corrected. I thought about that after posting. I should have just kept my electronic mouth shut.




  5. #5
    Recruit Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Northwest Iowa
    Posts
    113
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: TV Channels

    Quote Originally Posted by tman24 View Post
    You dont have to in dorms and some apartment complexes.

    My friend just went through all the channels and wrote them down on paper since they aren't in any order. Just keep flipping through until you find it, is the best advice i can give you.
    Thats probably a good idea, I did some channel surfing and I think there is just a digital feed for TNT and no HD



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 119,847, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    simply1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,293
    Points
    119,847
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 28
    Given: 2

    Re: TV Channels

    Post your findings so others may see when searching :)



  7. #7
    Speechless
    Points: 405,019, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    alarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    21,108
    Points
    405,019
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 275
    Given: 118

    Re: TV Channels

    Quote Originally Posted by tman24 View Post
    You dont have to in dorms and some apartment complexes.

    My friend just went through all the channels and wrote them down on paper since they aren't in any order. Just keep flipping through until you find it, is the best advice i can give you.
    You dont have to in most places under mediacom. Many of the basic hd channels can be picked up if your tv has a qam tuner (most newer hdtvs have this). Also this tuner will pick up the digital simulcast channels. I cant remember the list of whats where though.



  8. #8
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,505, Level: 61
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 845
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tman24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,025
    Points
    39,505
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 12
    Given: 17

    Re: TV Channels

    Quote Originally Posted by alarson View Post
    You dont have to in most places under mediacom. Many of the basic hd channels can be picked up if your tv has a qam tuner (most newer hdtvs have this). Also this tuner will pick up the digital simulcast channels. I cant remember the list of whats where though.
    I figured that might be the case, but I only experienced them in the dorms and one of my friends apts.


    Hooray for Metaphors!

  9. #9
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,303, Level: 62
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 347
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,603
    Points
    41,303
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 0

    Re: TV Channels

    All I know is picking up Channel 5 in HD OTA would be like winning the Lottery. I can see their tower and its still hard to get :)



  10. #10
    All-Star
    Points: 25,773, Level: 49
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 777
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    iowa_wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,222
    Points
    25,773
    Level
    49
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 8

    Re: TV Channels

    Sanitizer, what are you using for an antenna? I have no trouble getting channel 5 in HD here in Ames using an attic antenna? If you are using rabbit ears, spread them a wide as possible (as near horizontal as possible) in order to receive 5. It has a very low band width and rabbit ears anywhere near vertical will not work.



  11. #11
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,303, Level: 62
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 347
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,603
    Points
    41,303
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 0

    Re: TV Channels

    Quote Originally Posted by iowa_wildcat View Post
    Sanitizer, what are you using for an antenna? I have no trouble getting channel 5 in HD here in Ames using an attic antenna? If you are using rabbit ears, spread them a wide as possible (as near horizontal as possible) in order to receive 5. It has a very low band width and rabbit ears anywhere near vertical will not work.

    thanks for the info...
    I have a $20 OTA. I never use it b/c I get the HD Channels through the Dish, but there have been a couple times during massive storms where I needed it. Every channel but 5 works. I can get it, but it is not near the signal strenght as the others. I would think I would be ok since I live in Bondurant. Can't really get too much closer to the tower :)



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 117,788, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    aeroclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5,984
    Points
    117,788
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 202
    Given: 67

    Re: TV Channels

    I believe this is what you are looking for.

    hdhomerun/channels - Silicondust

    Provide your country and zip on the first screen. On the second screen use the drop down menu to select your provider. It will then give you a list of the digitial channels you can get without a box and what channels they map to.

    Keep in mind that this content is user provided and updated, so it isn't always current.



  13. #13
    Pro
    Points: 39,053, Level: 61
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,297
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    2,957
    Points
    39,053
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 12

    Re: TV Channels

    Try 835 for TNT



  14. #14
    Speechless
    Points: 269,761, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    isuno1fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Clive, Iowa
    Posts
    17,481
    Points
    269,761
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 110
    Given: 22

    Re: TV Channels

    Quote Originally Posted by HandSanitizer View Post
    All I know is picking up Channel 5 in HD OTA would be like winning the Lottery. I can see their tower and its still hard to get :)
    Zero problem for me getting 5-1 and 5-2 and I live in Clive.



  15. #15
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 55,615, Level: 73
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,435
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    dustinal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,635
    Points
    55,615
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: TV Channels

    Quote Originally Posted by iowa_wildcat View Post
    Sanitizer, what are you using for an antenna? I have no trouble getting channel 5 in HD here in Ames using an attic antenna? If you are using rabbit ears, spread them a wide as possible (as near horizontal as possible) in order to receive 5. It has a very low band width and rabbit ears anywhere near vertical will not work.
    That's what she said.




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Fox Sports 1
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM