RAM question
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: RAM question

  1. #1
    Speechless
    Points: 261,192, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    BryceC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    16,868
    Points
    261,192
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 240
    Given: 0

    RAM question

    I pulled my machine apart yesterday because I was looking to see how many PCI slots I had on my motherboard as well as how many RAM slots... I pulled out the RAM and put it back (with a lot of difficulty) and now I'm getting an error that says setupdd.sys is screwed up.

    I did some research and basically that happens when you screw up your RAM hardware, like it either isn't set right or it's broken. I didn't break the RAM cards and I think I got them set right. Are they that fragile? I haven't handled them much, and it was really hard to get them back in based on where they were in the case. How do I know if they are set right? I'm pretty worried I just broke some RAM here.




  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 143,083, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,245
    Points
    143,083
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: RAM question

    Quote Originally Posted by BryceC View Post
    I pulled my machine apart yesterday because I was looking to see how many PCI slots I had on my motherboard as well as how many RAM slots... I pulled out the RAM and put it back (with a lot of difficulty) and now I'm getting an error that says setupdd.sys is screwed up.

    I did some research and basically that happens when you screw up your RAM hardware, like it either isn't set right or it's broken. I didn't break the RAM cards and I think I got them set right. Are they that fragile? I haven't handled them much, and it was really hard to get them back in based on where they were in the case. How do I know if they are set right? I'm pretty worried I just broke some RAM here.
    Just try re-setting them. There should be two little lever like things on the sides that clamp down on them when their fully seated.



  3. #3
    Addict
    Points: 91,556, Level: 94
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,594
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CYdTracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    8,700
    Points
    91,556
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 8

    Re: RAM question

    re-seat them and if you still get it just try taking them all out and booting up with 1 stick of RAM at a time. if it is RAM you'll know which stick is bad once you add it back


    Go Cubs Go!

  4. #4
    Pro
    Points: 25,491, Level: 48
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 59
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Skyh13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,933
    Points
    25,491
    Level
    48
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 27
    Given: 3

    Re: RAM question

    RAM doesn't usually require a excessive amount of force to get back in... although sometimes it can be tough.

    The thing about RAM is that you can't put them back in any direction -- there will usually be a notch or two (depending on the type of RAM) on the stick, and those notches fit over raised parts in the RAM slot. You use these to guide you in putting them back in the correct direction. If you didn't check for those, chances are that a.) the RAM sticks are set correctly, and/or b.) A stick could be ruined.

    So I would check that out first.. make sure that they are going the correct direction, and all of the notches are where they are supposed to be. If that's the case, then perhaps they just aren't set all the way down. Usually there are locks on either side of the RAM slot that come up and lock onto the RAM stick after it is set all the way down. Make sure your RAM is set down far enough so that lock can come up and set on the stick.



  5. #5
    Starter
    Points: 21,978, Level: 45
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 572
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    HawkFanISUalum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Iowa City, IA
    Posts
    789
    Points
    21,978
    Level
    45
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 1

    Re: RAM question

    What is your make/model of the computer? Just curious how old it is. If it's a pretty old machine, you may have to put the RAM in at an angle and then snap them upright into place. It would have to be a pretty old machine for that to be the case, but just thought I'd ask.

    It's also worth noting that if you just grab your user manual (paper copy or online at your manufacturer) it generally will tell you all of the information you wanted to know by opening your machine. That way you can avoid problems like this. :)



  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 140,900, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    Flag Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    13,090
    Points
    140,900
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: RAM question

    The title of this thread is so misleading... here I thought we were going to be talking about stealth planes and their special coatings


    Oh we will fight, fight, fight for Iowa State,
    and may her colors ever fly!!!
    In Accordance with Prophecy

  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 61,638, Level: 76
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    aauummm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    On the road again
    Posts
    3,886
    Points
    61,638
    Level
    76
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 127
    Given: 1,328

    Re: RAM question

    Quote Originally Posted by Skyh13 View Post
    RAM doesn't usually require a excessive amount of force to get back in... although sometimes it can be tough.
    Sometimes a side-to-side motion helps as you firmly push the RAM back into it's slot. I agree, an excessive amount of force is not needed. As others have stated, when the RAM is correctly seated, you should hear or feel a slight click as the end tabs take hold of the ends of the RAM.



  8. #8
    Walk On HtownCyclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    204
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: RAM question

    I thought we were going to talk about the 2010 truck of the year



  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 261,192, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    BryceC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    16,868
    Points
    261,192
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 240
    Given: 0

    Re: RAM question

    Quote Originally Posted by Skyh13 View Post
    So I would check that out first.. make sure that they are going the correct direction, and all of the notches are where they are supposed to be. If that's the case, then perhaps they just aren't set all the way down. Usually there are locks on either side of the RAM slot that come up and lock onto the RAM stick after it is set all the way down. Make sure your RAM is set down far enough so that lock can come up and set on the stick.
    I figured this out and made sure everything was lined up correctly. And when they were set there were those little levers that popped up to lock it in. I figured I was good to go.

    As far as my machine goes, I don't have the manual and I think it's about 3 or 4 years old. It was actually given to me as a gift so I don't have a whole lot of background on it.




  10. #10
    All-Star
    Points: 36,296, Level: 58
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 354
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures25000 Experience Points
    mikeiastat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,519
    Points
    36,296
    Level
    58
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 25

    Re: RAM question

    I thought that we were talking about the RAM Bar in Chi town.



  11. #11
    All-Star
    Points: 23,346, Level: 46
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 204
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran10000 Experience Points
    cloneluke80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    1,639
    Points
    23,346
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 25

    Re: RAM question

    you may have broke something.

    Try the RAM one stick at a time thing.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Mediacom 22
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Drake
  • December 20, 2014
  • 04:00 PM