Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    POOTMFS
    Points: 89,451, Level: 93
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 1,799
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7,785
    Points
    89,451
    Level
    93
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Remote Desktop Connection

    I'm trying to setup "Remote Desktop Connection" so that I can access my work computer from home.
    Can anyone help me with this or walk me thru the steps I need to take?
    Thanks in advance.
    dave



  2. #2
    Prospect
    Points: 6,300, Level: 23
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 250
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    nj344170's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9
    Points
    6,300
    Level
    23
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    I am not sure where you work but I would check with your IT department. If they even allow it, most likely you will first need to connect to your work network with some kind of secure connection (VPN). In my company only people in IT are allowed to do this and I know in past companies I have worked for this was not allowed at all.



  3. #3
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,684, Level: 63
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,266
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,670
    Points
    41,684
    Level
    63
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 52
    Given: 1

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    Quote Originally Posted by nj344170 View Post
    I am not sure where you work but I would check with your IT department. If they even allow it, most likely you will first need to connect to your work network with some kind of secure connection (VPN). In my company only people in IT are allowed to do this and I know in past companies I have worked for this was not allowed at all.

    This is exactly right. Most companies will provide you with a disk with a VPN client to install or in better situations companies will point you to an address Like https://vpn.companyx.com with the resources you need.
    You will still need access from your IT guys though. Good Luck.



  4. #4
    POOTMFS
    Points: 89,451, Level: 93
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 1,799
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7,785
    Points
    89,451
    Level
    93
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    We don't have an IT dept. I am it.



  5. #5
    Starter
    Points: 11,549, Level: 32
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    657
    Points
    11,549
    Level
    32
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 1

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    On your work computer go to "system properties," click on the "remote" tab, and check the box "allow users to connect remotely to this computer." Then all you need is that computer's IP address. I'm pretty sure thats all I had to do, but its been a while so I could be wrong.



  6. #6
    Rookie
    Points: 8,984, Level: 28
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 366
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    380
    Points
    8,984
    Level
    28
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 2

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    Quote Originally Posted by thunderdave View Post
    We don't have an IT dept. I am it.

    oh-oh


    If you are using your work laptop at home for work puproses (wink) have your company foot the bill to have a professional do the hook-up. But, you will need the VPN through your company. Since I was not 100% sure with the sceurity factor on my wireless for our home. I hired Geed Squad for that. (If a good business person, computer engineer or computer science major wants to make some major money - I would recommend establishing a business such as Geek Squad - would not be hard to undercut them).

    Anyway, now through fall we can sit out in our screen porch with our laptops and CF, work, watch movies, whatever.



  7. #7
    Prospect
    Points: 6,430, Level: 23
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 120
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    66
    Points
    6,430
    Level
    23
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    Go to www.logmein.com
    You can use the basic free account to access and use your computer at work. If you need to transfer files between the 2 units, you will need to sign up for the Pro version.



  8. #8
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 45,907, Level: 66
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 1,043
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    3,797
    Points
    45,907
    Level
    66
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 16

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    "It is the nature of man to rise to greatness if greatness is expected of him."
    John Steinbeck

    XBOXLive: MNclone
    PS3: JHudd23
    Twitter: JasonAH

  9. #9
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,684, Level: 63
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,266
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,670
    Points
    41,684
    Level
    63
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 52
    Given: 1

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    Haven't really used Logmein or gotomypc, but I am guessing that would work. The only thing you would have to be concerned about is making sure your PC is on and connected at work, making sure you have the firewall disabled or filtered and maybe certian ports opened up. It probably uses port 443 so your probably OK, but I would double check
    (You can't get to those websites at our company b/c we don't want people jacking up their PCs. Plus there is a legal thing going on with that also in certian companies.. . )



  10. #10
    Rookie
    Points: 7,260, Level: 25
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 290
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    377
    Points
    7,260
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    Quote Originally Posted by thunderdave View Post
    I'm trying to setup "Remote Desktop Connection" so that I can access my work computer from home.
    Can anyone help me with this or walk me thru the steps I need to take?
    Thanks in advance.
    dave
    I use remote desktop all the time from home with a VPN client but, as someone mentioned, I am an I.T. guy and use it for support. What kind of firewall are you using at work? Is VPN enabled on the firewall and is your user login enabled for your VPN connection? Do you have a VPN client installed on your machine? If so, can you connect to your netoworK? Can you ping your computer from a command prompt?


    Psyched about the Clones!!!

  11. #11
    square root(31) = 5.56776436
    Points: 498,803, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupVeteran50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second Class
    Angie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    17,673
    Points
    498,803
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 774
    Given: 3,115

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    I use UltraVNC (I do IT stuff, too), and just have port forwarding set up. I installed it as a service so that I can connect even when my computer is locked. The only thing with VNC is that a lot of times people will just randomly try to hack in (it's logged in your Event Viewer), so make sure to set up a password.


    M 7/09

  12. #12
    Starter
    Points: 18,624, Level: 41
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 326
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Posts
    724
    Points
    18,624
    Level
    41
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 6

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    I have used gotomypc.com for over a year and it works great.



  13. #13
    All-Star
    Points: 22,768, Level: 46
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 782
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Cybone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,056
    Points
    22,768
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    I have set up all of my users for remote desktop and it works great. I am leary of using anything more complicated with them in fear their heads will explode. If that happens, I will end up having to clean up the mess. VNC works fine too, I just don't like having open ports on my network (personal preference, nothing more)

    Then again, don't listen to me, I have been rubbing cheetah blood on my servers to get them to run faster.......now they are sticky and still slow down sometimes.

    I am an IT guy/Manager (soon to be director, hopefully)....if you happen to "IT" running around, pleae let me know...imust have gotten out.



  14. #14
    Legend
    Points: 208,375, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,630
    Points
    208,375
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 311
    Given: 479

    Re: Remote Desktop Connection

    pcanywhere



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 07:00 PM