Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 10,510, Level: 30
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    dundermifflin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    342
    Points
    10,510
    Level
    30
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    Is it easy to get channel 5.1 using on over the air antenna (it is an inside antenna that plugs in and is suppose to be as good as indoor can be). I thought it used to come in easily but my tv will detect nbc, fox, cbs, but can't seem to get abc.

    Any help is appreciated. Want to watch the game tonight!


    "Hug It Out."

  2. #2
    All-Star
    Points: 28,153, Level: 51
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 497
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    ISUcy08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,947
    Points
    28,153
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    Quote Originally Posted by dundermifflin View Post
    Is it easy to get channel 5.1 using on over the air antenna (it is an inside antenna that plugs in and is suppose to be as good as indoor can be). I thought it used to come in easily but my tv will detect nbc, fox, cbs, but can't seem to get abc.

    Any help is appreciated. Want to watch the game tonight!
    You're going to need channel 5.2


    2009 Insight Bowl Champions!

  3. #3
    Starter
    Points: 18,880, Level: 41
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran10000 Experience Points
    bufante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    DMI
    Posts
    967
    Points
    18,880
    Level
    41
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    I had to re-program my channels manually to get it.
    Been spoiled with dish and HDMI for too long.



  4. #4
    Starter
    Points: 11,639, Level: 32
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 311
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cyclonesurveyor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    687
    Points
    11,639
    Level
    32
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 11

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    might have to angle a little more NE i think in Des Moines. Different azimuth compared to Kcci and who.


    Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn't drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than selfish and worry about my liver."
    --by Jack Handy

  5. #5
    All-Star
    Points: 28,153, Level: 51
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 497
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    ISUcy08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,947
    Points
    28,153
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    I've always had a problem with 5.1 since the switch


    2009 Insight Bowl Champions!

  6. #6
    Speechless
    Points: 185,635, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    kingcy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Menlo, Iowa
    Posts
    16,955
    Points
    185,635
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 62
    Given: 18

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUcy08 View Post
    I've always had a problem with 5.1 since the switch
    I did also, but today I ran a new coax to my antanna and it worked great tonight. I guess you need good coax and coax even 10 years old isnt good enough for the digital.


    The gap in our economy is between what we have and what we think we ought to have--and that is a moral problem, not an economic one. - Paul Heyne

  7. #7
    Recruit
    Points: 4,620, Level: 19
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran
    drgnslyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Churdan
    Posts
    111
    Points
    4,620
    Level
    19
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUcy08 View Post
    I've always had a problem with 5.1 since the switch
    +1

    Crazy, it worked when both the analog and digital signals were there, but after the official change, lost it to the world. I really miss 5.2 RTV



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 333,325, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUFan22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    31,631
    Points
    333,325
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 40
    Given: 42

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUcy08 View Post
    I've always had a problem with 5.1 since the switch
    Quote Originally Posted by drgnslyr View Post
    +1

    Crazy, it worked when both the analog and digital signals were there, but after the official change, lost it to the world. I really miss 5.2 RTV
    I'm guessing both of you may need a new antenna. Had I not changed to a new antenna before the switch, we would have lost OTA ABC as well.



  9. #9
    Pro
    Points: 29,384, Level: 52
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 366
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,700
    Points
    29,384
    Level
    52
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 5
    Given: 0

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    WOI's signal has always been the most suspect in my area(going back to well before the digital switch), continues to be the case today. Most of the time it comes in fine but there are days when signal strength isn't strong enough and it comes poorly.



  10. #10
    Prospect
    Points: 3,714, Level: 17
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    52
    Points
    3,714
    Level
    17
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    Quote Originally Posted by dundermifflin View Post
    Is it easy to get channel 5.1 using on over the air antenna (it is an inside antenna that plugs in and is suppose to be as good as indoor can be). I thought it used to come in easily but my tv will detect nbc, fox, cbs, but can't seem to get abc.

    Any help is appreciated. Want to watch the game tonight!

    If crawling through the crawlspace above the house (single story small ranch house so It isn't that taxing) to get to the antenna to install a signal booster is considered easy then....... yes, I would say it is easy.

    I live 60 miles out from Des Moines and could not get ABC without the booster. Because of the limited space and how it was originally set up, I didn't get a chance to rotate the antenna the appropriate direction (www.antennaweb.org - needs to be rotated to face SE, but mine essentially sits facing E) to see if I could pick it up without the booster. Once the booster was installed, I just had to rotate my antenna slightly to pick it up.

    It all depends on your location. If you re-run your channel scan and it doesn't pick it up, chances are you will need either a signal booster or a bigger antenna if the booster doesn't work.



  11. #11
    Prospect
    Points: 3,714, Level: 17
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    52
    Points
    3,714
    Level
    17
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    also, all ABC affiliates that I have experienced (Here in Iowa and KC) have the weakest signal. I think I have seen this discussed on other forums in other locations as well (throughout the US).



  12. #12
    All-Star
    Points: 22,878, Level: 46
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 672
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    iowa_wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,161
    Points
    22,878
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 3

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    I put a large antenna in the attic in my single story ranch house in north Ames and have no problems with 5.1 or 5.2 or any other DSM station. Winegard.com even has a service to help you choose the correct antenna. I bought the antenna they suggested and am super happy with the results.



  13. #13
    All-Star
    Points: 22,878, Level: 46
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 672
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    iowa_wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,161
    Points
    22,878
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 3

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    Kingcy is correct about the coax. Replacing old coax is a good investment and not all that expensive.



  14. #14
    Prospect
    Points: 3,714, Level: 17
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    52
    Points
    3,714
    Level
    17
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: ABC 5.1 over the air problem

    Quote Originally Posted by iowa_wildcat View Post
    I put a large antenna in the attic in my single story ranch house in north Ames and have no problems with 5.1 or 5.2 or any other DSM station. Winegard.com even has a service to help you choose the correct antenna. I bought the antenna they suggested and am super happy with the results.
    Luckily with the house I bought (same as yours, single story ranch) from an estate, the family didn't take the antenna out of the crawl space (they probably didn't even know it was there). However, it had the old wiring (that two strand crap) so I had to run coax. I still wasn't able to get ABC until I did add that signal booster, but it was nice I didn't have to spend the money upgrading my antenna or suffer the pain of lugging it up to through the crawlspace.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM