Mediacom in Des Moines
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 50,993, Level: 69
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 157
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    AirWalke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    5,750
    Points
    50,993
    Level
    69
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 17
    Given: 9

    Mediacom in Des Moines

    Anyone know if they're having issues with their high-speed internet in the Des Moines area, or statewide? I do realize that we just had an ice storm, but it seems like I'm having problems with my connection. I can't even load their website to see if there's any outage news. Goes normal speed, then begins to load a page very slowly, then times out... kind of a strange web browsing experience when half your sites won't load, then suddenly load perfectly.


    Go Sssssssssyclones!

  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 424,031, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 33.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    alarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    21,794
    Points
    424,031
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 867
    Given: 416

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    My internet is fine, but i just lost both 13 and 813.



  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 209,765, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,907
    Points
    209,765
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 438
    Given: 646

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    Damn, I hate seeing things like this when I'm switching back to mediacom in 2 days. My DSL didn't go out in 2 years.



  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 42,479, Level: 63
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 471
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    JY07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,182
    Points
    42,479
    Level
    63
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 30
    Given: 40

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    See the other thread:
    http://www.cyclonefanatic.com/forum/...n-problem.html

    Mediacom is definitely having issues with their internet right now (the problems for me started last night)



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 50,993, Level: 69
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 157
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    AirWalke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    5,750
    Points
    50,993
    Level
    69
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 17
    Given: 9

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    Damn, I hate seeing things like this when I'm switching back to mediacom in 2 days. My DSL didn't go out in 2 years.
    I generally have zero complaints about Mediacom's service, which is why I'm not pitching a fit about it. Just seeing if anyone else knew what was going on, and if it was indeed the ice bogging down wires and such.


    Go Sssssssssyclones!

  6. #6
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 72,592, Level: 83
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 558
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cyfan964's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    4 blocks from the Jack
    Posts
    4,614
    Points
    72,592
    Level
    83
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 121
    Given: 303

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    Yup I'm having issues with my internet in Ames as well.


    Now that MBB is back, do we still have to pretend that WBB matters?

    -acgclone

  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 209,765, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,907
    Points
    209,765
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 438
    Given: 646

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    This makes those commercials about Dish not working in bad weather kind of funny.



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 451,912, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    39,918
    Points
    451,912
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 379
    Given: 47

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    This makes those commercials about Dish not working in bad weather kind of funny.
    Just for arguments sake, my DSL and Satellite are just fine. I have not lost satellite in years.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 87,049, Level: 91
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 27.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    BigBake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    U'dale
    Posts
    5,672
    Points
    87,049
    Level
    91
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 40
    Given: 99

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    Mediacom in udale has been down since yesterday.

    And on top of thAt their 800 tech support number is a constant busy signal.



  10. #10
    Pro
    Points: 30,435, Level: 53
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 415
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    CyPride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,537
    Points
    30,435
    Level
    53
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 6

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    Quote Originally Posted by AirWalke View Post
    Anyone know if they're having issues with their high-speed internet in the Des Moines area, or statewide? I do realize that we just had an ice storm, but it seems like I'm having problems with my connection. I can't even load their website to see if there's any outage news. Goes normal speed, then begins to load a page very slowly, then times out... kind of a strange web browsing experience when half your sites won't load, then suddenly load perfectly.
    recently switched out of my mediacom phone/internet and soon to be TV. Too expensive and far to unpredictable. too many phone outages.


    “The American people will never knowingly adopt socialism, but under the name of liberalism they will adopt every fragment of the socialist program until one day America will be a socialist nation without ever knowing how it happened.”
    – Norman Thomas, American socialist and six-time presidential candidate for the Socialist Party of America

  11. #11
    Speechless
    Points: 649,732, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 30.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    25,000
    Points
    649,732
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,552
    Given: 277

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    It's a DNS issue of some kind, check the other thread for instructions on how to switch over to OpenDNS and you'll be right as rain.



  12. #12
    Rookie
    Points: 10,783, Level: 31
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 467
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    HawkfromNorwalk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Norwalk via Marshalltown
    Posts
    380
    Points
    10,783
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 10
    Watch it man there's a beverage here!

  13. #13
    Rookie
    Points: 8,564, Level: 27
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Cyfan1843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    541
    Points
    8,564
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 13
    Given: 19

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    I live in Ames my Mediacom is down I am stealing my neighbors quest for the time being



  14. #14
    Pro
    Points: 29,731, Level: 52
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    2,158
    Points
    29,731
    Level
    52
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    Just for arguments sake, my DSL and Satellite are just fine. I have not lost satellite in years.
    My dish was all iced up tonight when I got home, but after a couple pitchers of warm water and sweeping the junk off, the signal came right on.



  15. #15
    Addict Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Oldpeopleville
    Posts
    9,207
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom in Des Moines

    Quote Originally Posted by garn91 View Post
    and sweeping the junk off, the signal came right on.
    I have no idea why you would need to do that, nor do I want to know how that helped the situation.


    "Seven minutes to glory."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Mediacom 22
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Drake
  • December 20, 2014
  • 04:00 PM