Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Legend
    Points: 203,220, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,308
    Points
    203,220
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 203
    Given: 302

    VOIP question (ooma)

    I'm expecting to get a ooma in the mail today and wondered if anyone here has had any experience with setting one of these up?

    Here is my situation.

    Right now I currently have basic phones service along with DSL through Qwest

    It looks like ooma gives me two choices of howto hook up this phone.

    #1 I can just connect straight to my wireless base phone

    #2 I can connect the ooma straight to one of my wall plug in's


    The wall plug in idea sounds like the best plan for me but I don't know if it will work since my phone service is still on. When I pick up the phone and hear a dial-tone I assume it will still be my old qwest service.


    Any ideas? Suggestions?

    BTW-I know that I will need to plug the ooma into a dsl filter.



  2. #2
    Starter
    Points: 14,939, Level: 37
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 711
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    MrGreg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    875
    Points
    14,939
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 7

    Re: VOIP question (ooma)

    I believe you should only have one telephone source plugged into your home wiring.

    If I recall correctly, the Ooma hub has a "pass through" phone jack on it. If you want to plug the hub into your existing home wiring, I think you want to do...

    - Qwest phone line goes directly to the Ooma hub
    - Ooma hub gets plugged into the existing home wiring

    Then you get different ringers depending on which line is ringing. However that sounds like it might be a problem depending on your internet setup since you have DSL.

    I plug my Ooma hub into my wireless phone base, it keeps things pretty simple.



  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 203,220, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,308
    Points
    203,220
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 203
    Given: 302

    Re: VOIP question (ooma)

    Quote Originally Posted by MrGreg View Post
    I plug my Ooma hub into my wireless phone base, it keeps things pretty simple.
    I think this is the route I'm going to take. Do you get caller ID show up on your phones with just the basic ooma service?

    I plan on routing everything through my google voice number first and then sending it to my ooma number.



  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 19,635, Level: 42
    Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 215
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,405
    Points
    19,635
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: VOIP question (ooma)

    Is VOIP anything like SKYPE?



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 559,601, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsOverdriveVeteranRecommendation Second Class
    ISUAgronomist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Back in Iowa!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    21,285
    Points
    559,601
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 153
    Given: 78

    Re: VOIP question (ooma)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigguns View Post
    Is VOIP anything like SKYPE?
    Skype is VOIP (Voice over Internet Protocol)



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 80,683, Level: 88
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,267
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,461
    Points
    80,683
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 8

    Re: VOIP question (ooma)

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    I'm expecting to get a ooma in the mail today and wondered if anyone here has had any experience with setting one of these up?

    Here is my situation.

    Right now I currently have basic phones service along with DSL through Qwest

    It looks like ooma gives me two choices of howto hook up this phone.

    #1 I can just connect straight to my wireless base phone

    #2 I can connect the ooma straight to one of my wall plug in's


    The wall plug in idea sounds like the best plan for me but I don't know if it will work since my phone service is still on. When I pick up the phone and hear a dial-tone I assume it will still be my old qwest service.


    Any ideas? Suggestions?

    BTW-I know that I will need to plug the ooma into a dsl filter.
    Yeah unless you've got your DSL modem connected directly to the incoming lines from Qwest, you do NOT want to plug your oomla into a random jack in the house.

    I can't tell you for sure how bad of an idea is (in terms of frying electronics), but it certainly isn't a good one.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 203,220, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,308
    Points
    203,220
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 203
    Given: 302

    Re: VOIP question (ooma)

    OK, this isn't starting off good. I tried to find a local number here in Des Moiens but there person on the other end was and idiot and couldn't find anything, He pretty much listed every town in Iowa except any within 50 miles of Des Moines, Does anyone know any des moines prefixes that should work?



  8. #8
    Starter
    Points: 14,939, Level: 37
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 711
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    MrGreg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    875
    Points
    14,939
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 7

    Re: VOIP question (ooma)

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    I think this is the route I'm going to take. Do you get caller ID show up on your phones with just the basic ooma service?

    I plan on routing everything through my google voice number first and then sending it to my ooma number.
    Yep, caller ID works with the basic service. I am not using google voice however.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM