Thread: Crossroads

Prospect Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

Crossroads

Ok, my first ever post, so be “soft” in your responses. This is only my view and my background is no more than playing in high school and coaching young teenagers.

There were a lot of negatives from the Duke game. No consistent hard block outs on the boards, bigs getting blocks BECAUSE they were behind their player (soft defense), guards trailing the player they were defending on baseline screens (Staiger, Colvin), very soft picks on offense (everyone) and obvious times when players were not running the offensive sets; especially Dendy.

While we made many mistakes, I actually saw many positives from the game. For the first time, we had players fighting to get over screens, at times our bigs showed hard on ball screens, the other big hedged to cover the roll and we quickly rotated back (ok, maybe for only 10 minutes as we made Scheyer look like the greatest guard in the nation, but that is better than other games), Hamilton fought hard under the boards, there was movement in the offense (not all of the time), Garret to me even penetrated well. There also was some fire and leadership. Brackins tried to pull the team together on the court, Garret actually chewed on Dendy for blowing his assignment on the offensive set (again which by the way afterwords it looked like Dendy really worked hard). Not for 40 minutes, but I saw desire from this team.