Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: HD Antenna

  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 28,038, Level: 51
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,464
    Points
    28,038
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 428

    HD Antenna

    Anyone on here have any experience with a hi-def antenna? The wife and I are considering dropping cable (MEDIASCAM) and may or may not add a dish, but would definitely like to get the OTA signals. Any advice would be appreciated.

    I'm not looking for a cable/dish debate, only info on HD antennas.

    TIA



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 98,514, Level: 97
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 536
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    JP4CY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sommerset
    Posts
    6,509
    Points
    98,514
    Level
    97
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 490
    Given: 196

    Re: HD Antenna

    I've had this one for a few years, works great, company is called Terk:




  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 43,388, Level: 64
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 862
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,457
    Points
    43,388
    Level
    64
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 81
    Given: 54

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by JBone84 View Post
    Anyone on here have any experience with a hi-def antenna? The wife and I are considering dropping cable (MEDIASCAM) and may or may not add a dish, but would definitely like to get the OTA signals. Any advice would be appreciated.

    I'm not looking for a cable/dish debate, only info on HD antennas.

    TIA
    I was under the impression that any old antenna would work to recieve the HD signal, as long as your TV is HD-ready. What advantage does an "HD antenna" provide?


    I am a patient boy. I wait, I wait, I wait, I wait...
    http://www.mapcon.com/US-EN/CMMS-Software

  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 27,274, Level: 50
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 276
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Ames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,935
    Points
    27,274
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 0

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by flynnhicks03 View Post
    I was under the impression that any old antenna would work to recieve the HD signal, as long as your TV is HD-ready. What advantage does an "HD antenna" provide?
    If a regular antenna works then an HD one has to be better right?



  5. #5
    All-Star
    Points: 28,038, Level: 51
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,464
    Points
    28,038
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 428

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by flynnhicks03 View Post
    I was under the impression that any old antenna would work to recieve the HD signal, as long as your TV is HD-ready. What advantage does an "HD antenna" provide?
    Good question, and I don't know the answer. Both of my TVs have internal HD tuners...

    I do not have an existing antenna.



  6. #6
    All-Star
    Points: 28,038, Level: 51
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,464
    Points
    28,038
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 428

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by Ames View Post
    If a regular antenna works then an HD one has to be better right?
    Just like those HD sunglasses that I see infomercialed. I am hoping to get a pair for Christmas.



  7. #7
    Starter
    Points: 15,088, Level: 37
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    MrGreg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    875
    Points
    15,088
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 7

    Re: HD Antenna

    I've used a regular old antenna and it picks up the HD signals just fine.

    Edit: Here you go: http://www.dennysantennaservice.com/1161550.html



  8. #8
    All-Star
    Points: 43,388, Level: 64
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 862
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,457
    Points
    43,388
    Level
    64
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 81
    Given: 54

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by JBone84 View Post
    Just like those HD sunglasses that I see infomercialed. I am hoping to get a pair for Christmas.
    Life is just a lot clearer through HD sunglasses.


    I am a patient boy. I wait, I wait, I wait, I wait...
    http://www.mapcon.com/US-EN/CMMS-Software

  9. #9
    Starter
    Points: 19,461, Level: 42
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 389
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran10000 Experience Points
    bufante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    DMI
    Posts
    978
    Points
    19,461
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 5
    Given: 10

    Re: HD Antenna

    Bunny ears will work just fine.



  10. #10
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,688, Level: 36
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    343
    Points
    14,688
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: HD Antenna

    My nephew has H.D.A.D.D. - High Definition Attention Deficit Disorder. He can barely pay attention, but when he does it's unbelievably clear.



  11. #11
    All-Star
    Points: 32,898, Level: 55
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    agrabes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,230
    Points
    32,898
    Level
    55
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 28
    Given: 0

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by flynnhicks03 View Post
    I was under the impression that any old antenna would work to recieve the HD signal, as long as your TV is HD-ready. What advantage does an "HD antenna" provide?
    You're correct, any antenna will work and provide you with an HD signal as long as your TV is HD-Ready. I'm not sure if some of those "HD Antennas" have a better reception range or something, but they aren't needed to get an HD signal.

    Also, if you get basic cable you can get the network channels in HD as well. They'll be on some odd channel number though. I remember my HD ABC in Ames used to be channel 115-3 for a while. Then, they finally got it fixed to 5=regular 5-1=hd, 5-2=weather



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 59,659, Level: 75
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 391
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    simply1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,590
    Points
    59,659
    Level
    75
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 70
    Given: 7

    Re: HD Antenna

    I lost channel 5 OTA when the digital switch happened as they switched frequencies or something, might want to consider that when buying. Do all of you others get channel 5 ota with your current antenna? I don't.



  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 205,487, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jbhtexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    11,001
    Points
    205,487
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 312
    Given: 191

    Re: HD Antenna

    Check out this site. It will give you an idea of what kind of antenna you need. Depending where you are in relation to the broadcast towers, rabbit ears might not aways work. Plus, you may need a UHF/VHF combo...

    AntennaWeb


    "Don't worry Boss...they can't do nothin' 'til they're through sparklin'..."

    Avatar - America's new superhero...Cenex Guy

  14. #14
    All-Star
    Points: 26,206, Level: 49
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 344
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    iowa_wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,294
    Points
    26,206
    Level
    49
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 49
    Given: 26

    Re: HD Antenna

    This website will help you choose an antenna that will work for you under your circumstances: Winegard Direct.com - Need help choosing an antenna? We can help. I used this service and my HD OTA reception is great. The picture on our HD TV is definitely better than when we used Mediacom. We had no complaints with the Mediacom picture. We just got tired of paying the bill every month that kept getting larger and larger.



  15. #15
    All-Star
    Points: 26,206, Level: 49
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 344
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    iowa_wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,294
    Points
    26,206
    Level
    49
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 49
    Given: 26

    Re: HD Antenna

    Simply, I assume you are using rabbit ears. Spread them as far apart as possible. The closer you can get them to being horizontal the better. You also might want to unplug you antenna and rescan for channels. Then plug your antenna back into the TV and scan again. What I have told you comes from Channel 5 and not me. Rabbit ears would not work for me so I put a large conventional antenna in the attic. It works like a charm and only cost $60


    Last edited by iowa_wildcat; 12-22-2009 at 12:40 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Fox Sports Net
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. Texas Tech
  • November 22, 2014
  • 02:30 PM