Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: HD Antenna

  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 55,441, Level: 72
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 109
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,463
    Points
    55,441
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 375

    HD Antenna

    Anyone on here have any experience with a hi-def antenna? The wife and I are considering dropping cable (MEDIASCAM) and may or may not add a dish, but would definitely like to get the OTA signals. Any advice would be appreciated.

    I'm not looking for a cable/dish debate, only info on HD antennas.

    TIA



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 114,208, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 29.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    JP4CY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sommerset
    Posts
    6,441
    Points
    114,208
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 409
    Given: 177

    Re: HD Antenna

    I've had this one for a few years, works great, company is called Terk:




  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 43,176, Level: 64
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 1,074
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,435
    Points
    43,176
    Level
    64
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 46

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by JBone84 View Post
    Anyone on here have any experience with a hi-def antenna? The wife and I are considering dropping cable (MEDIASCAM) and may or may not add a dish, but would definitely like to get the OTA signals. Any advice would be appreciated.

    I'm not looking for a cable/dish debate, only info on HD antennas.

    TIA
    I was under the impression that any old antenna would work to recieve the HD signal, as long as your TV is HD-ready. What advantage does an "HD antenna" provide?


    I am a patient boy. I wait, I wait, I wait, I wait...
    http://www.mapcon.com/US-EN/CMMS-Software

  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 27,220, Level: 50
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 330
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Ames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,932
    Points
    27,220
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 13
    Given: 0

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by flynnhicks03 View Post
    I was under the impression that any old antenna would work to recieve the HD signal, as long as your TV is HD-ready. What advantage does an "HD antenna" provide?
    If a regular antenna works then an HD one has to be better right?



  5. #5
    All-Star
    Points: 55,441, Level: 72
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 109
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,463
    Points
    55,441
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 375

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by flynnhicks03 View Post
    I was under the impression that any old antenna would work to recieve the HD signal, as long as your TV is HD-ready. What advantage does an "HD antenna" provide?
    Good question, and I don't know the answer. Both of my TVs have internal HD tuners...

    I do not have an existing antenna.



  6. #6
    All-Star
    Points: 55,441, Level: 72
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 109
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,463
    Points
    55,441
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 375

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by Ames View Post
    If a regular antenna works then an HD one has to be better right?
    Just like those HD sunglasses that I see infomercialed. I am hoping to get a pair for Christmas.



  7. #7
    Starter
    Points: 15,088, Level: 37
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    MrGreg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    875
    Points
    15,088
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 7

    Re: HD Antenna

    I've used a regular old antenna and it picks up the HD signals just fine.

    Edit: Here you go: http://www.dennysantennaservice.com/1161550.html



  8. #8
    All-Star
    Points: 43,176, Level: 64
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 1,074
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,435
    Points
    43,176
    Level
    64
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 46

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by JBone84 View Post
    Just like those HD sunglasses that I see infomercialed. I am hoping to get a pair for Christmas.
    Life is just a lot clearer through HD sunglasses.


    I am a patient boy. I wait, I wait, I wait, I wait...
    http://www.mapcon.com/US-EN/CMMS-Software

  9. #9
    Starter
    Points: 19,426, Level: 42
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 424
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran10000 Experience Points
    bufante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    DMI
    Posts
    978
    Points
    19,426
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 5
    Given: 10

    Re: HD Antenna

    Bunny ears will work just fine.



  10. #10
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,688, Level: 36
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    343
    Points
    14,688
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: HD Antenna

    My nephew has H.D.A.D.D. - High Definition Attention Deficit Disorder. He can barely pay attention, but when he does it's unbelievably clear.



  11. #11
    All-Star
    Points: 32,938, Level: 55
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 112
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    agrabes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,226
    Points
    32,938
    Level
    55
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 26
    Given: 0

    Re: HD Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by flynnhicks03 View Post
    I was under the impression that any old antenna would work to recieve the HD signal, as long as your TV is HD-ready. What advantage does an "HD antenna" provide?
    You're correct, any antenna will work and provide you with an HD signal as long as your TV is HD-Ready. I'm not sure if some of those "HD Antennas" have a better reception range or something, but they aren't needed to get an HD signal.

    Also, if you get basic cable you can get the network channels in HD as well. They'll be on some odd channel number though. I remember my HD ABC in Ames used to be channel 115-3 for a while. Then, they finally got it fixed to 5=regular 5-1=hd, 5-2=weather



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 122,482, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    simply1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,526
    Points
    122,482
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 62
    Given: 6

    Re: HD Antenna

    I lost channel 5 OTA when the digital switch happened as they switched frequencies or something, might want to consider that when buying. Do all of you others get channel 5 ota with your current antenna? I don't.



  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 209,487, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jbhtexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    10,936
    Points
    209,487
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 260
    Given: 154

    Re: HD Antenna

    Check out this site. It will give you an idea of what kind of antenna you need. Depending where you are in relation to the broadcast towers, rabbit ears might not aways work. Plus, you may need a UHF/VHF combo...

    AntennaWeb


    "Don't worry Boss...they can't do nothin' 'til they're through sparklin'..."

    Avatar - America's new superhero...Cenex Guy

  14. #14
    All-Star
    Points: 26,566, Level: 50
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 984
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    iowa_wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,279
    Points
    26,566
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 43
    Given: 17

    Re: HD Antenna

    This website will help you choose an antenna that will work for you under your circumstances: Winegard Direct.com - Need help choosing an antenna? We can help. I used this service and my HD OTA reception is great. The picture on our HD TV is definitely better than when we used Mediacom. We had no complaints with the Mediacom picture. We just got tired of paying the bill every month that kept getting larger and larger.



  15. #15
    All-Star
    Points: 26,566, Level: 50
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 984
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    iowa_wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,279
    Points
    26,566
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 43
    Given: 17

    Re: HD Antenna

    Simply, I assume you are using rabbit ears. Spread them as far apart as possible. The closer you can get them to being horizontal the better. You also might want to unplug you antenna and rescan for channels. Then plug your antenna back into the TV and scan again. What I have told you comes from Channel 5 and not me. Rabbit ears would not work for me so I put a large conventional antenna in the attic. It works like a charm and only cost $60


    Last edited by iowa_wildcat; 12-21-2009 at 11:40 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 11:00 AM