Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 8

Hate?

I am relatively new to this but I've already noticed a trend. It seems a common response that some of you post to anyone that criticizes our coaching staff or our teams play goes something like this: "I know you hate McDermott and the team so just shut up."

I am critical of our coaching staff and I have been critical of our team's play. However, that criticism is not rooted in hate. It is rooted in LOVE for my alma mater. I want the very best for her and will criticize anyone or anything that stands in the way of excellence for her.

I think Coach McDermott is a good man and an honorable man.

I also think he is a good example of the Peter Principle and has been promoted to his level of incompetence. I also sense that the level of expectations for our program have been lowered by fans, the administration, and coaching staff. Somehow not making the NCAA is the new normal and to be expected. Our goals for this program need to be more in line with these three.

1. Iowa State should expect to be in the NCAA every year.
    2. NIT berths should be as disappointing to us as they would be to Kansas.
    3. We should compete for the Big 12 title every year.

Those goals might seem lofty. All I know is when Lynn Nance was our coach we never dared even dream of such goals. We turned it around then and we can turn this around now.

All-Star
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 423
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 0

Re: Hate?

I don't know about hate, but there are some guys that just want to see Mac fired.

I don't think expectations have been lowered and I think your expectations are nice, but not realistic.

All-Star
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Achievements: