Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Geek question

  1. #1
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312

    Geek question

    I had a hard drive fail and decided to go Linux this time around. What's a good distro for beginning Linux users? Ubuntu?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 63,666, Level: 78
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 1,184
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,481
    Points
    63,666
    Level
    78
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 22
    Given: 10

    Re: Geek question

    Ubuntu.
    The only other option I'd really give a shake is Fedora, but I'd really stick with Ubuntu.

    I've been using Linux for a long time, and it's what I would use. It's what I do use, mostly, actually.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  3. #3
    Addict
    Points: 128,269, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    tim_redd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    7,769
    Points
    128,269
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 342
    Given: 193

    Re: Geek question

    If everything works right out of the install, you'll like it. It's only when there's some random hardware issues that it gets annoying. I've really liked 9.10 so far. The only time I boot into windows now is when I want to use the slingbox.



  4. #4
    Legend
    Points: 397,000, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,692
    Points
    397,000
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,616
    Given: 1,218

    Re: Geek question

    I like Mint. Easy peasey.

    http://www.linuxmint.com/

    Straight up Ubuntu is good too.



  5. #5
    Walk On
    Points: 7,801, Level: 26
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 349
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    150
    Points
    7,801
    Level
    26
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 30
    Given: 8

    Re: Geek question

    Also if anybody that is running Linux or Windows can always use virtual box. You can virtualize just about any operating system to see if you might like it. Just follow the link below. Pretty easy to install and use.

    http://www.virtualbox.org



  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312

    Re: Geek question

    Well, decided to try Ubuntu. Downloaded, burned to disk, bootup, select "Install Ubuntu" or "Try Ubuntu..." either way I get a black screen with a blinking cursor and just sits there. Any advice?



  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312

    Re: Geek question

    Tried the disc on a different pc today and it works fine. Obviously something more wrong with my other one than just the hard drive.



  8. #8
    Legend
    Points: 397,000, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,692
    Points
    397,000
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,616
    Given: 1,218

    Re: Geek question

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    Tried the disc on a different pc today and it works fine. Obviously something more wrong with my other one than just the hard drive.

    Linux can be a little ***** with certain video cards. Depends on the machine. Try a different version like Mint. I was able to get that one to work on machines that Ubuntu straight up wouldnt.



  9. #9
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312
    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    Linux can be a little ***** with certain video cards. Depends on the machine. Try a different version like Mint. I was able to get that one to work on machines that Ubuntu straight up wouldnt.
    Tried Mint with basically the same results. I have the pc stripped down to just keyboard and monitor, new hard drive and cd/DVD drive, disabled pretty much everything in the bios that isn't necessary and it still freezes. I've also run memory tests and dusk checks. The only thing else I can think of us the motherboard. Any other ideas?



  10. #10
    Legend
    Points: 397,000, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,692
    Points
    397,000
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,616
    Given: 1,218

    Re: Geek question

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    Tried Mint with basically the same results. I have the pc stripped down to just keyboard and monitor, new hard drive and cd/DVD drive, disabled pretty much everything in the bios that isn't necessary and it still freezes. I've also run memory tests and dusk checks. The only thing else I can think of us the motherboard. Any other ideas?

    Could be I guess. Is this a homebuilt pc or a manufacturer.



  11. #11
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312
    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    Could be I guess. Is this a homebuilt pc or a manufacturer.
    Dell optiplex



  12. #12
    Legend
    Points: 397,000, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,692
    Points
    397,000
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,616
    Given: 1,218

    Re: Geek question

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    Dell optiplex
    Which model?



  13. #13
    Addict
    Points: 97,564, Level: 97
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 1,486
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CYdTracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    9,055
    Points
    97,564
    Level
    97
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 158
    Given: 452

    Re: Geek question

    I would try testing with 1 stick of RAM at a time. Just because they passed RAM tests doesn't necessarily mean there is not a bad stick still. Put 1 in, run it for awhile and see if it freezes, if it does try another stick. You'll find out soon enough if it is a stick of RAM if 1 is good and 1 is not. I had this happen before, PC would get loaded to Windows then freeze anywhere betwee 1-10 minutes after that. RAM passed all the tests so I took 1 stick out and it worked fine, swapped the sticks and it frooze up pretty quickly.


    Go Cubs Go!

  14. #14
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312
    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    Which model?
    Gx270



  15. #15
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312
    Quote Originally Posted by travman23 View Post
    I would try testing with 1 stick of RAM at a time. Just because they passed RAM tests doesn't necessarily mean there is not a bad stick still. Put 1 in, run it for awhile and see if it freezes, if it does try another stick. You'll find out soon enough if it is a stick of RAM if 1 is good and 1 is not. I had this happen before, PC would get loaded to Windows then freeze anywhere betwee 1-10 minutes after that. RAM passed all the tests so I took 1 stick out and it worked fine, swapped the sticks and it frooze up pretty quickly.
    I thought I tried that but now not so sure. Will try again in case.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.TV
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. UNI
  • September 5, 2015
  • 07:00 PM