Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Rookie
    Points: 12,861, Level: 34
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 489
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    578
    Points
    12,861
    Level
    34
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Question about setting up wireless network?

    I have set up a wireless network at our apartment for me and my roommates. I have never had a problem doing this before. We have 5 different computers with vista, and I have 4 of them so they can see each other and access shared files. The 5th computer can see all of the other ones, and can be seen by all the others.. but can't access or be accessed. I have shut off all firewalls, both Kaspersky and the windows firewall. I have not had any luck at all, and have ran out of ideas. Any computer pros that can help me out! thanks!



  2. #2
    All-Star
    Points: 43,433, Level: 64
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 817
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,467
    Points
    43,433
    Level
    64
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 86
    Given: 59

    Re: Question about setting up wireless network?

    Quote Originally Posted by lennon3 View Post
    I have set up a wireless network at our apartment for me and my roommates. I have never had a problem doing this before. We have 5 different computers with vista, and I have 4 of them so they can see each other and access shared files. The 5th computer can see all of the other ones, and can be seen by all the others.. but can't access or be accessed. I have shut off all firewalls, both Kaspersky and the windows firewall. I have not had any luck at all, and have ran out of ideas. Any computer pros that can help me out! thanks!
    Make sure the username you login with on the other computers is created on the 5th. If you log in as jsmith, make sure it exists on the problem computer.


    I am a patient boy. I wait, I wait, I wait, I wait...
    http://www.mapcon.com/US-EN/CMMS-Software

  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 142,334, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,177
    Points
    142,334
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 210
    Given: 161

    Re: Question about setting up wireless network?

    Quote Originally Posted by lennon3 View Post
    I have set up a wireless network at our apartment for me and my roommates. I have never had a problem doing this before. We have 5 different computers with vista, and I have 4 of them so they can see each other and access shared files. The 5th computer can see all of the other ones, and can be seen by all the others.. but can't access or be accessed. I have shut off all firewalls, both Kaspersky and the windows firewall. I have not had any luck at all, and have ran out of ideas. Any computer pros that can help me out! thanks!
    I'll start with the obvious... do you have file sharing enabled on the fifth?



  4. #4
    Rookie
    Points: 12,861, Level: 34
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 489
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    578
    Points
    12,861
    Level
    34
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about setting up wireless network?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    I'll start with the obvious... do you have file sharing enabled on the fifth?
    Yep



  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 80,717, Level: 88
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 1,233
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4,075
    Points
    80,717
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 366
    Given: 118

    Re: Question about setting up wireless network?

    Is the power button on?



  6. #6
    Rookie
    Points: 12,861, Level: 34
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 489
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    578
    Points
    12,861
    Level
    34
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about setting up wireless network?

    Any other ideas, or can anyone expand on what Flynn said? I pm'd him but he just got off...



  7. #7
    Addict
    Points: 61,609, Level: 76
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 41
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CyinCo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Clive, IA
    Posts
    5,450
    Points
    61,609
    Level
    76
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 43
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about setting up wireless network?

    On my vista PC at home, I MUST have a password defined for log on or it won't allow me to access the drive from my other PC. I'm not sure why but it does. I once took off the logon password because it is just a home PC. No point in having a password. When I did that, I couldn't do remote access.

    I'm not an PC whiz. Maybe this is common knowledge.


    ISU Grad 1997.
    ISU Fan for Life.

    Not in CO anymore but I'm not changing my name :)

  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 83,066, Level: 89
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 684
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,973
    Points
    83,066
    Level
    89
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 145
    Given: 0

    Re: Question about setting up wireless network?

    If you are students go get Windows 7. I always had networking problems with Vista. Some days it worked fine the next it would see the computer but wouldn't ever connect. It think for me it may have something to do with connecting to ISU's network during the day and trying to connect at home later. Windows 7 fixed the problem by adding a homegroup instead of networking.



  9. #9
    All-Star
    Points: 43,433, Level: 64
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 817
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,467
    Points
    43,433
    Level
    64
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 86
    Given: 59

    Re: Question about setting up wireless network?

    Quote Originally Posted by CyinCo View Post
    On my vista PC at home, I MUST have a password defined for log on or it won't allow me to access the drive from my other PC. I'm not sure why but it does. I once took off the logon password because it is just a home PC. No point in having a password. When I did that, I couldn't do remote access.

    I'm not an PC whiz. Maybe this is common knowledge.
    Same for me. I've got an XP and a Vista and share the same username for both. Vista requires a password, I beleive.


    I am a patient boy. I wait, I wait, I wait, I wait...
    http://www.mapcon.com/US-EN/CMMS-Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. West Virginia
  • November 29, 2014
  • 11:00 AM