Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 33,745, Level: 56
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Points
    33,745
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    a little tech support requested

    Hello oh wise Cyclone Fanatics. I've been having this issue for a couple weeks now and after not being able to follow college games online, I've reached the point of needing to get this taken care of. I upgraded to Safari 4.0 way back in May or April, and use Firefox every once in a while. Didn't have any issues until I moved into a new apartment building and set up the wireless internet.

    For a while I couldn't see Facebook or Youtube but that apparently fixed itself a few days ago. I still can't view espn.com, SI.com, cyclones.com, the photos on isuisu.com, most pics on gocyclones.com, etc. Some sites I just get a plain "cannot access the server" page that pops up--this happens on kcci's site, weather.com, and frequently when i click on outside links. I've even tried downloading the latest FlashPlayer update since that was recommended by a friend (although the FP wasn't an issue a month or so ago)

    Here are some screenshots of what I get:

    SI:

    Cyclones.com:

    KCCI Error page:

    Attempt to download the Flash Player, and I get this:



    I don't really know of any good tech support sites, so thought I'd try my hand around here first. Thanks for any tips...



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 93,293, Level: 95
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 1,757
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,202
    Points
    93,293
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 7

    Re: a little tech support requested

    Download CCleaner 2.23.999 - FileHippo.com

    Goto that site download ccleaner and install it. Then run the cleaner to remove temporary files.

    If that doesn't work check back



  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 33,745, Level: 56
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Points
    33,745
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Re: a little tech support requested

    Got anything to run on a Mac? That site says it only works on Windows machines. I tried to download, but it gave me something w/ a ".exe" file extension that attempted to open in Quicktime (?!)



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 101,345, Level: 99
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 1,705
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    HiltonMagic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    6,186
    Points
    101,345
    Level
    99
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 19
    Given: 40

    Re: a little tech support requested

    I thought Macs never had any problems?


    Don't confuse hope for a plan.

  5. #5
    All-Star
    Points: 33,745, Level: 56
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Points
    33,745
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Re: a little tech support requested

    Quote Originally Posted by HiltonMagic View Post
    I thought Macs never had any problems?
    I myself have never said that (as I have had a few minor hiccups in the past, but nothing this annoying), so please don't start that debate. I'm just trying to fix an issue here. I'm leaning towards it being something w/ the wireless, but I had perfect wireless all summer in another location.



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 93,293, Level: 95
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 1,757
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,202
    Points
    93,293
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 7

    Re: a little tech support requested

    I don't work on macs so I am not sure what programs there are out there for remvoing temp files on them or if that is even the issue.



  7. #7
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 10,993, Level: 31
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 257
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Cyberclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    310
    Points
    10,993
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 4

    Re: a little tech support requested

    [QUOTE=clone2011;1228172]I myself have never said that (as I have had a few minor hiccups in the past, but nothing this annoying), so please don't start that debate. I'm just trying to fix an issue here. I'm leaning towards it being something w/ the wireless, but I had perfect wireless all summer in another location.[/QUOTE

    Have you tried, to see if there is a change if you hook directly to your pc, from your service provider with an ethernet cable. That should determine
    if it's a wireless problem, or something else.



  8. #8
    All-Star
    Points: 33,745, Level: 56
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Points
    33,745
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Re: a little tech support requested

    Alright, thanks anyway. Might have to swing by the Apple store tomorrow while I'm out at Jordan Creek.



  9. #9
    All-Star
    Points: 33,745, Level: 56
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Points
    33,745
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Re: a little tech support requested

    [quote=Cyberclone;1228183]
    Quote Originally Posted by clone2011 View Post
    I myself have never said that (as I have had a few minor hiccups in the past, but nothing this annoying), so please don't start that debate. I'm just trying to fix an issue here. I'm leaning towards it being something w/ the wireless, but I had perfect wireless all summer in another location.[/QUOTE

    Have you tried, to see if there is a change if you hook directly to your pc, from your service provider with an ethernet cable. That should determine
    if it's a wireless problem, or something else.
    When we moved in, we were told the ethernet was on. It worked on my roommate's computer (a PC), but not on mine, despite having worked fine on mine for the last three years when I lived on campus (off-campus now). We bought a wireless router that I set-up through her computer. Ironically, now I can get wireless but she can't. She still uses the ethernet cord. Her internet doesn't have this issue, but I don't know if it's because she's on the ethernet or because she's on a PC.



  10. #10
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 10,993, Level: 31
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 257
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Cyberclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    310
    Points
    10,993
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 4

    Re: a little tech support requested

    [quote=clone2011;1228190]
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyberclone View Post

    When we moved in, we were told the ethernet was on. It worked on my roommate's computer (a PC), but not on mine, despite having worked fine on mine for the last three years when I lived on campus (off-campus now). We bought a wireless router that I set-up through her computer. Ironically, now I can get wireless but she can't. She still uses the ethernet cord. Her internet doesn't have this issue, but I don't know if it's because she's on the ethernet or because she's on a PC.
    Check to see if either computer has been been setup with a permanent IP number. It should be set to obtain IP and DNS automatically. If you go other places with free wireless do you have these same issues?



  11. #11
    Addict
    Points: 80,837, Level: 88
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 1,113
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,470
    Points
    80,837
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 8

    Re: a little tech support requested

    To me that kinda looks like a DNS issue, but it's hard to say. Can you check to see if you have a static DNS server set up. I don't know where that lives for sure on your Mac, but it's a network setting.

    Try flushing the DNS cache as well. Instructions can be found here:
    How do I Flush DNS?


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 160,768, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUKyro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,697
    Points
    160,768
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 122
    Given: 254

    Re: a little tech support requested

    Less porn = less problems. Cut back on the 'free' sites ;)



  13. #13
    All-Star
    Points: 33,745, Level: 56
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Points
    33,745
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Re: a little tech support requested

    Quote Originally Posted by jumbopackage View Post
    To me that kinda looks like a DNS issue, but it's hard to say. Can you check to see if you have a static DNS server set up. I don't know where that lives for sure on your Mac, but it's a network setting.

    Try flushing the DNS cache as well. Instructions can be found here:
    How do I Flush DNS?
    Thanks for the tip...but in a severe case of irony, when I click on the link on Apple's page to download their DNS Flusher for my OS, I get a page similar to that shown above from the attempts to re-download Flash Player. I can't attempt to fix the problem because the problem is preventing me from making the download.

    And ISUKyro...you're so funny!



  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 80,837, Level: 88
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 1,113
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,470
    Points
    80,837
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 8

    Re: a little tech support requested

    How to Flush DNS in Mac OSX

    In Mac OSX Leopard, you can use the command dscacheutil -flushcache to flush the DNS resolver cache:

    bash-2.05a$ dscacheutil -flushcache
    In Mac OSX versions 10.5.1 and before, the command lookupd -flushcache performed the same task:

    bash-2.05a$ lookupd -flushcache


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  15. #15
    All-Star
    Points: 33,745, Level: 56
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 505
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Points
    33,745
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Re: a little tech support requested

    How do I make a command though? I know what the command button on the keyboard is, but it's not like on Windows where I could go Start--Run--Open--type cmd, is it?

    I'm not the most tech-savvy (obviously). Using the Spotlight feature doesn't seem to be doing anything either



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FOX
  • Iowa State vs. Baylor
  • September 27, 2014
  • 07:20 PM