Help: opendns problem
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: opendns problem

  1. #1
    Legend
    Points: 143,162, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,250
    Points
    143,162
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    opendns problem

    I can't access cf from my laptop. I get a page from opendns. No problem from my mobile. Any ideas?
    Posted via Mobile Device



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 85,495, Level: 90
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    superdorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    6,948
    Points
    85,495
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: opendns problem

    What happens if you ping cyclonefanatic.com?



  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 143,162, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,250
    Points
    143,162
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175
    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    I can't access cf from my laptop. I get a page from opendns. No problem from my mobile. Any ideas?
    Posted via Mobile Device
    No problem with other sites on my laptop.
    Posted via Mobile Device



  4. #4
    Speechless
    Points: 350,914, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    isucyfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    19,874
    Points
    350,914
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 105
    Given: 2

    Re: opendns problem

    I've had a similar problem a long while ago, and it turned out that it was just a server problem somewhere along the route that your IP routes data through. I spent hours on the phone with Qwest, and they could find no problem. I'm not completely sure that this is your problem but if you run a "tracert" command, you can see where the connection fails, and there might just be a problem at that location.


    Forever trying to find a cure for the Dunning-Kruger Effect.

  5. #5
    Legend
    Points: 143,162, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,250
    Points
    143,162
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175
    Quote Originally Posted by superdorf View Post
    What happens if you ping cyclonefanatic.com?
    Ping no problem
    Posted via Mobile Device



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 85,495, Level: 90
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    superdorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    6,948
    Points
    85,495
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: opendns problem

    what address did it resolve? Should be 74.86.70.202



  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 143,162, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,250
    Points
    143,162
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: opendns problem

    Quote Originally Posted by superdorf View Post
    what address did it resolve? Should be 74.86.70.202
    Not that I switched to a different computer on my LAN and it's not having any issues. I went to opendns website and refreshed the cache for cyclonefanatic.com and it has several locations that aren't resolving.



  8. #8
    Legend
    Points: 143,162, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,250
    Points
    143,162
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: opendns problem

    Now none of the computers on my lan can get to cf. I've only found one other site I can't get to. Wth is going on?
    Posted via Mobile Device



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 85,495, Level: 90
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    superdorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    6,948
    Points
    85,495
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: opendns problem

    Can you try a different dns service?



  10. #10
    Pro
    Points: 38,418, Level: 60
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 632
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    acrozier22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In van down by the river!
    Posts
    2,598
    Points
    38,418
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 1

    Re: opendns problem

    Call tech support at your office and see if they can help! :)



  11. #11
    All-Star egami's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    1,944
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0

    Re: opendns problem

    Try overriding the DSN server on your network connection to 209.244.0.3 and see if that alleviates the problem



  12. #12
    Pro
    Points: 38,418, Level: 60
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 632
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    acrozier22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In van down by the river!
    Posts
    2,598
    Points
    38,418
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 1

    Re: opendns problem




  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 143,162, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,250
    Points
    143,162
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: opendns problem

    Quote Originally Posted by egami View Post
    Try overriding the DSN server on your network connection to 209.244.0.3 and see if that alleviates the problem
    Yeah, that works. Where/what is that server?



  14. #14
    Legend
    Points: 143,162, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,250
    Points
    143,162
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: opendns problem

    There's something screwy going on somewhere but I'm not familiar enough with this stuff to figure it out. I used this dns tool. Can anyone tell me what the heck is wrong?

    Toolbox



  15. #15
    Legend
    Points: 143,162, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,250
    Points
    143,162
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: opendns problem

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    There's something screwy going on somewhere but I'm not familiar enough with this stuff to figure it out. I used this dns tool. Can anyone tell me what the heck is wrong?

    Toolbox
    Damn, when I run it again it looks okay



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.tv
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Mississippi Valley State
  • December 31, 2014
  • 06:00 PM