Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Legend Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    DaddyMac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14,375
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Anyone use Quicken?

    I've used MS Money for about 12 years now and just read that they are discontinuing the product. I'm lost without it. Haven't kept a check register and that stuff in an equal time.

    Looks like the only option is Quicken. I had a few coworkers who used it way back, but eventually ported over to Money.

    Wondering is anyone is using it and had opinions? I see that IPhone has an app for it, but only with their online version - and I'm a little leery of that. Pluse I'm not sure it gets all the investments, retirement and day to day transactions - at least in a way that I find useful.

    Can you buy the more robust desktop version, synch it online to get to the mobile apps?

    TIA.



  2. #2
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 55,982, Level: 73
    Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 1,068
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    benjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,518
    Points
    55,982
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 36
    Given: 9

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    check out mint.com



  3. #3
    Starter
    Points: 12,404, Level: 33
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 246
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Psyclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    669
    Points
    12,404
    Level
    33
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I've used Quicken for years, but I am trying to ween myself off of it. I have used it extensively for investments, but the downloads from my brokerage firm to the program are not perfect and require too much handholding. As the brokerage firm improves their online tools, I am hoping to abandon Quicken entirely for my personal stuff. I just get too little in return for the time I have to put into it.



  4. #4
    Starter
    Points: 21,748, Level: 45
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 802
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    mkadl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Cornfield
    Posts
    964
    Points
    21,748
    Level
    45
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I have checking accounts at 2 banks, 1 doesn't offer quicken downloads one charges for them. I enter everything from my receipts and categorize entries myself. My brokerage statements are also entered once a month manually. I am buy and hold, with dedicated, automatic investing. I would be lost without Quicken. You need 2008 version for Vista. Older versions are cheap on EBAY. I have 12 years of records, I guess it is just compulsive me.



  5. #5
    Legend
    Points: 198,790, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    12,926
    Points
    198,790
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 46
    Given: 104

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I've used Quicken for the last 10 years with no problems. The higher end versions will track you stocks, bonds, etc. It does everything I've needed it to do. I tried a free Money version a few years ago and couldn't get used to it since I've used quicken for so long.



  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 378,723, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,291
    Points
    378,723
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 75
    Given: 91

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I tried the quicken free product online. Its pretty slick and you dont have to buy anything. I use money as well, so that sucks that its going away.



  7. #7
    Addict
    Points: 118,984, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    simply1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    5,225
    Points
    118,984
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 1

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    Quote Originally Posted by benjay View Post
    check out mint.com
    I'll second that, it's been much easier for me to use than Quicken.



  8. #8
    Walk On
    Points: 6,967, Level: 24
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 83
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Where our RV is parked
    Posts
    138
    Points
    6,967
    Level
    24
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I too would be lost without Quicken and if you have use Money all these years you know the advantages of having years of financial info quickly available. I also found the downloads to be not worth the effort so I enter everything manually. I have a palm pilot and there is an app for it called PocketQuicken (Pocket Quicken). I enter items on the palm and at the next hotsync all the data is on the desktop. BTW PQ also works on windows mobile.



  9. #9
    Legend
    Points: 198,790, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    12,926
    Points
    198,790
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 46
    Given: 104

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I tried Mint but I felt very uncomfortable giving all my private info to a web site.



  10. #10
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 64,553, Level: 78
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 297
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Cyclonesrule91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Waukee
    Posts
    4,917
    Points
    64,553
    Level
    78
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 17

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I've used Money since the mid 90's but last year when I updated I figured I would try Quicken once. I tried it for two months and went out and bought the newest version of Money. A lot of differences to get used to and I couldn't download transactions from the bank because they didn't support the file download quicken wanted. If you have been using Money for a long time you might have the same frustration I did.



  11. #11
    Speechless
    Points: 846,016, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    CycloneErik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Jamerica
    Posts
    53,701
    Points
    846,016
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 528
    Given: 509

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    Quote Originally Posted by mkadl View Post
    I have checking accounts at 2 banks, 1 doesn't offer quicken downloads one charges for them. I enter everything from my receipts and categorize entries myself. My brokerage statements are also entered once a month manually. I am buy and hold, with dedicated, automatic investing. I would be lost without Quicken. You need 2008 version for Vista. Older versions are cheap on EBAY. I have 12 years of records, I guess it is just compulsive me.
    I'm using 2005 on Vista, and I have no problems.

    FWIW, I've used Quicken for years, though our financial setup isn't real fancy, and I probably need to do more work with it. It's been great for me.


    Since we are an elite team now, let's go get that One Cyclone Moment.
    Make this one for the ages!




    http://rememberingdoria.wordpress.com/

  12. #12
    Burgermeister!
    Points: 347,861, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    TykeClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22,323
    Points
    347,861
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 44
    Given: 87

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    Free Accounting Software | GnuCash

    Worth a look as it's free to use.



  13. #13
    Legend Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    DaddyMac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14,375
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I tried a demo product of Quicken a while back. As stated earlier, it's just alot different, but I'm sure a good product in it's own right. At least I hope.

    I found my answer else where. Wondering if I could get from desktop software to my IPhone. I REALLY want that mobile ability with desktop.

    Doesn't look like it. But they're promising a new version in the fall, so we'll see what happens. You can get from your online Quicken to the IPhone, but I'm not comfortable working totally online like that. I setup the basics last night, and it's pretty slick. But there isn't near the level of customization that Money has, and I would think the desktop Quicken has.

    And I hate being at the whim of an online service.

    Thanks for the replies



  14. #14
    Rookie
    Points: 9,441, Level: 29
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 509
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran5000 Experience Points
    stvfarmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    382
    Points
    9,441
    Level
    29
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    I use an older version of Quicken that I got with a computer a few years ago. I want to say it is about 2004 or 2005. I don’t use many of the features of it but it does what I need it too. About all I use it for though is an electronic version of balancing my checkbook.



  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 91,708, Level: 94
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 1,442
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,169
    Points
    91,708
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 3

    Re: Anyone use Quicken?

    Quote Originally Posted by DaddyMac View Post
    I've used MS Money for about 12 years now and just read that they are discontinuing the product. I'm lost without it. Haven't kept a check register and that stuff in an equal time.

    Looks like the only option is Quicken. I had a few coworkers who used it way back, but eventually ported over to Money.

    Wondering is anyone is using it and had opinions? I see that IPhone has an app for it, but only with their online version - and I'm a little leery of that. Pluse I'm not sure it gets all the investments, retirement and day to day transactions - at least in a way that I find useful.

    Can you buy the more robust desktop version, synch it online to get to the mobile apps?

    TIA.
    Why not try out Microsoft accounting express the program they replaced money with. It is free and can be downloaded from their web site.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM