Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 68
    Given: 15

Real Estate Question

Like many others, I'm upside down on my mortgage. For me to sell right now, I would probably have to bring about $25k to 30k to closing.
    I know this is a bad time to sell, but it is a fantastic time to buy. There are houses selling at auction up here for a fraction of the normal cost.
    So here is my question; If I were to buy a house for $100k, would I be able to take out a $130k mortgage to cover the loss on my current house? For argument's sake, we can say that the house would appraise for $150k. So that would not be an issue.

Rookie
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 329
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 31
    Given: 31

Re: Real Estate Question

I am a realtor. I dont know any bank right now that will loan you more than what the market value of the house is. Those days are over. So even if you bought it at 100K, and it was appraised for 150K. They are only going to loan $ you based on the sales price, not the appraisal. They have to cover their but in case you default. Lets say you default in a year and the house sells for 105K and you your lien is 149K. The bank is going to have to eat the 44K difference. Good luck. Things are definitely picking up, especially down here in KC.

Pro
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 1,328
    Achievements:

Level
    Thumbs Up

Thanks for the insight.
    Would you be able to get a second mortgage up to 90% of the appraised price?

Addict
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 955
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 36
    Given: 44