Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 56,763, Level: 73
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 287
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    guitarchitect7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6,318
    Points
    56,763
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Question Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Alright, I do have to apologize for starting another thread. I did search through the old ones, but I couldn't find the topic that I remember being discussed before.

    I recall us discussing how some TV's don't accept HDMI audio from the PS3 and only support video. Well I have one of those TV's because anytime I turn on surround sound nothing happens for sound out of my theater speakers. Originally I had HDMI to the TV and optical from my TV to my reciever. But his didn't work. After moving and rehooking everything up this weekend I tried HDMI to the TV and Optical to the reciever from my PS3. But again still no sound. HDMI still works for 2.1 sound to the TV, but the 5.1 to the reciever does nothing. I tried switching the PS3 settings over to optical, but the only thing that does is take away my 2.1 from my TV since it's not using the HDMI anymore..

    So what am I doing wrong? I've also now considered getting a new reciever that has HDMI inputs, but I want one that will upconvert component to HDMI as I will be hooking up my Wii via Component. Any recommedations on this type of reciever?


    "You must try to generate happiness within yourself. If you aren't happy in one place, chances are you won't be happy anyplace." -- Ernie Banks



  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 451,375, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    39,844
    Points
    451,375
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 358
    Given: 45

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Make sure you set the optical out on the PS3 to DD 5.1. That is not turned on by default. Just check that box to enable it. You should be able to have 2.1 out of the HDMI to your TV and 5.1 out of the optical at the same time.

    I have it setup that way.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  3. #3
    Addict
    Points: 56,763, Level: 73
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 287
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    guitarchitect7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6,318
    Points
    56,763
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    Make sure you set the optical out on the PS3 to DD 5.1. That is not turned on by default. Just check that box to enable it. You should be able to have 2.1 out of the HDMI to your TV and 5.1 out of the optical at the same time.

    I have it setup that way.
    See I know for sure I did it that way, but I'm having to select to use either HDMI or optical, but not both?


    "You must try to generate happiness within yourself. If you aren't happy in one place, chances are you won't be happy anyplace." -- Ernie Banks



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 86,795, Level: 91
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 655
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    BigBake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    U'dale
    Posts
    5,611
    Points
    86,795
    Level
    91
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 16
    Given: 71

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    When you are selecting Optical for audio you wouldn't want to select "Both". Audio will output to one of those two. Select optical.

    That's how I originally had it hooked up and it worked fine.

    Video - HDMI
    Audio - Optical


    Fanatic #25

  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 451,375, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    39,844
    Points
    451,375
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 358
    Given: 45

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by guitarchitect7 View Post
    See I know for sure I did it that way, but I'm having to select to use either HDMI or optical, but not both?

    You can select how you want to output each one. I have it currently working with both.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 56,763, Level: 73
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 287
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    guitarchitect7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6,318
    Points
    56,763
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    I'm clearly doing some thing wrong then. I've had the HDMI selected as the desired auido output into my TV with only 2.1 sound. The moment I select the opitical for sound and selected my desired sound outage. DD 5.1 DTS 5.1, etc. the HDMI sound in my TV is gone.


    "You must try to generate happiness within yourself. If you aren't happy in one place, chances are you won't be happy anyplace." -- Ernie Banks



  7. #7
    Addict
    Points: 86,795, Level: 91
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 655
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    BigBake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    U'dale
    Posts
    5,611
    Points
    86,795
    Level
    91
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 16
    Given: 71

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by guitarchitect7 View Post
    I'm clearly doing some thing wrong then. I've had the HDMI selected as the desired auido output into my TV with only 2.1 sound. The moment I select the opitical for sound and selected my desired sound outage. DD 5.1 DTS 5.1, etc. the HDMI sound in my TV is gone.
    or right....it's likely that maybe the PS3 can't do audio to both.


    Fanatic #25

  8. #8
    Starter
    Points: 30,828, Level: 53
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    tzjung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    995
    Points
    30,828
    Level
    53
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 64
    Given: 124

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    You are correct, PS3 sends sound to one type of output only, not to both concurrently.



  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 451,375, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    39,844
    Points
    451,375
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 358
    Given: 45

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by tzjung View Post
    You are correct, PS3 sends sound to one type of output only, not to both concurrently.
    That is not true. I only have HDMI from the PS3 to my tv. I also have a optical cable from my ps3 to my stereo. If I forget to turn down the tv I get a really weird effect where the TV audio is a few milliseconds ahead of the stereo, so I know they both work at the same time.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 86,795, Level: 91
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 655
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    BigBake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    U'dale
    Posts
    5,611
    Points
    86,795
    Level
    91
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 16
    Given: 71

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    That is not true. I only have HDMI from the PS3 to my tv. I also have a optical cable from my ps3 to my stereo. If I forget to turn down the tv I get a really weird effect where the TV audio is a few milliseconds ahead of the stereo, so I know they both work at the same time.
    So it kinda works then but not really.


    Fanatic #25

  11. #11
    Starter
    Points: 30,828, Level: 53
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    tzjung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    995
    Points
    30,828
    Level
    53
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 64
    Given: 124

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    That is not true. I only have HDMI from the PS3 to my tv. I also have a optical cable from my ps3 to my stereo. If I forget to turn down the tv I get a really weird effect where the TV audio is a few milliseconds ahead of the stereo, so I know they both work at the same time.
    You and I are both right...sort of. I decided to go to Playstation.net, and I found a pretty good manual which explains this phenomenon.

    Note the *Hint* area at the bottom, and I quote: "[Linear PCM 2 Ch.] audio is set to be output from all output connectors by default. If you change the audio output settings, audio will be output only from the connectors that were set."

    Thus...if you changed your optical to be 5.1, you would only receive sound out of optical (which is what I do!)

    PS3™ | Audio Output Settings



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 56,763, Level: 73
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 287
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    guitarchitect7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6,318
    Points
    56,763
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by BigBake View Post
    or right....it's likely that maybe the PS3 can't do audio to both.
    Well I went home for lunch to check this all out. And I'm right, at least for my PS3. It even says. "Select audio output for TV OR amplifier, NOT BOTH!

    So the moment that I want 5.1 and select DD 5.1, my PS3 only uses optical not HDMI. So my TV gets no sound.

    How have all of you combat this issue then? (Excluding brianhos show seems to have the freak of nature PS3)


    "You must try to generate happiness within yourself. If you aren't happy in one place, chances are you won't be happy anyplace." -- Ernie Banks



  13. #13
    All-Star
    Points: 49,720, Level: 68
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 30
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    isubeatle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    1,337
    Points
    49,720
    Level
    68
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 67

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    does your receiver accept HDMI? if so couldn't you just doe HDMI to the receiver, and then HDMI to the TV?



  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 56,763, Level: 73
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 287
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    guitarchitect7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6,318
    Points
    56,763
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by isubeatle View Post
    does your receiver accept HDMI? if so couldn't you just doe HDMI to the receiver, and then HDMI to the TV?
    My current one does not, but am looking at upgrading to one. The only issue with that scenerio is I always have to have the reciever on to transfer the HDMI signal to the TV right? For Audio and Video? Sometimes I just play my PS3 using my TV speakers, I would hate to have to turn on my reciever just to do that.


    "You must try to generate happiness within yourself. If you aren't happy in one place, chances are you won't be happy anyplace." -- Ernie Banks



  15. #15
    Legend Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    DaddyMac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14,375
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Not Another PS3 HDMI Thread...

    I had an issue when I first hooked my PS3 up to the tv via HDMI. I then had RCAs out of the TV to the receiver (yes - it's that old).

    But when I first hooked it up, I had sound and no pic, or pic and no sound - don't remember which.

    Fix I found online was simply to hook up the PS3 to the tv and restart the PS3. The audio/video out on the PS3 "autodetected", prompted me for my setting and life has be fine ever since. (I'm thinking I had sound, no picture)

    Might not be what you're looking for, but I did have a similar issue of the HDMI not "immediately" working.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. West Virginia
  • November 29, 2014
  • 11:00 AM