Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: WHO13.1

  1. #1
    Recruit
    Points: 4,542, Level: 19
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    83
    Points
    4,542
    Level
    19
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    WHO13.1

    Anyone else having issues with 13.1? My Dish HD receiver does not receive a signal from 13.1, it does still get a SD signal on 13. 13.2 works fine. I have re-scanned my receiver several times with no results. I do have a second 622 receiver in the kitchen and it works perfectly.

    Any ideas please?

    TIA



  2. #2
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 64,791, Level: 78
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Cyclonesrule91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Waukee
    Posts
    4,923
    Points
    64,791
    Level
    78
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 44

    Re: WHO13.1

    I have my HD antenna hooked into my Dish receiver. I was having troubles when scanning being able to pick up all the channels. Then I turned the power off to the Dish receiver and rescanned and had no problems then.

    Hope it helps.


    Last edited by Cyclonesrule91; 03-14-2009 at 08:21 AM.

  3. #3
    Recruit
    Points: 4,542, Level: 19
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    83
    Points
    4,542
    Level
    19
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: WHO13.1

    Thanks, I'll try that this morning.



  4. #4
    Recruit
    Points: 4,542, Level: 19
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    83
    Points
    4,542
    Level
    19
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: WHO13.1

    Bingo, thanks again!



  5. #5
    Pro
    Points: 27,758, Level: 51
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 892
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    2,356
    Points
    27,758
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 4

    Re: WHO13.1

    FWIW, you can get local HD through Dish and not have to deal with the OTA antenna (really only an issue with channel 5), but they have to install a 2nd dish because they have to point it to a different satellite. All for the same $5.99/month you pay for local analog channels.

    edit-this assumes you are in the DM market



  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 197,770, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jbhtexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    10,676
    Points
    197,770
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 98
    Given: 72

    Re: WHO13.1

    Just curious about a couple of things...

    How badly are the satellite providers compressing the local HD channels these days?

    Do the satellite providers let you capture the HD transport stream (i.e. record) from the local channels, and then get the file off the recorder for further processing?


    "Don't worry Boss...they can't do nothin' 'til they're through sparklin'..."

    Avatar - America's new superhero...Cenex Guy

  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 55,615, Level: 73
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,435
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    dustinal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,635
    Points
    55,615
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: WHO13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by jbhtexas View Post
    Just curious about a couple of things...

    How badly are the satellite providers compressing the local HD channels these days?
    I have DirecTV in Ames, and the compression is negligible to my eye.

    Do the satellite providers let you capture the HD transport stream (i.e. record) from the local channels, and then get the file off the recorder for further processing?
    I can record the locals, if that's what you're asking. I don't know whether there's any way to get files off the recorder though. I think I've heard that you can hook up an external computer to the system and record files directly to it, so you might be able to process the files from there. Never tried it.




  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 80,683, Level: 88
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,267
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,461
    Points
    80,683
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 8

    Re: WHO13.1

    Quote Originally Posted by jbhtexas View Post
    Just curious about a couple of things...

    How badly are the satellite providers compressing the local HD channels these days?

    Do the satellite providers let you capture the HD transport stream (i.e. record) from the local channels, and then get the file off the recorder for further processing?
    If you can tell the difference in a double blind test between OTA and DirecTV, I'd be very surprised.

    I have no idea if they allow that or not. If they honor the broadcast flag in the stream, I'd say they do not allow it.

    I haven't had much motivation to try it out, to be honest. There isn't much worth archiving on TV these days.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM