Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 40,204, Level: 61
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 146
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tec71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    1,135
    Points
    40,204
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 1

    Limited of no connectivity?

    I have a work laptop that I bring home because I can't access work stuff through the VPN off my personal computer. I have a 802.11b wireless access point. My work laptop identifies the point, picks up max signal strength, connects to it but the Status says "Limited of no connectivity." No matter what I do I can't get it to connect so that I can use it. I've put in the network key but nothing works. Anyone got any fresh ideas? I was thinking of breaking out my FORTRAN99 book and seeing what I could cook up but I don't think that will help.


    Hope is not a method. Soon is not a time.

  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 426,314, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,656
    Points
    426,314
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 41
    Given: 1

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    I'm assuming Vista is the OS?



  3. #3
    Addict
    Points: 91,729, Level: 94
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 1,421
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,171
    Points
    91,729
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 3

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    you either entered the wrong security code for the access point.

    If that is not it:

    Unplug the power from your router. Also unplug your DSL or cable modem.

    Plug the modem back in. Then the router then see if the problem is fixed



  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 92,011, Level: 94
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 1,139
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Bader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    4,384
    Points
    92,011
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 8

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    I assume you have other machines hooked up to the router that can all access the internet just fine?

    If so, the first thing to check is to open a command prompt (Start, Run, cmd) and type ipconfig

    If you're getting a 192.168.xxx.xxx number you should be fine
    If you're getting a 169 number your DHCP server in your router is acting up and you may try resetting the router (pull the power cable, wait a minute, plug it back in)

    If it's not these let me know


    Last edited by Bader; 12-29-2008 at 09:33 PM.

  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 84,981, Level: 90
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 569
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    superdorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    6,947
    Points
    84,981
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    My dad has vista and has a lot of problems when his computer wakes from hibernation.



  6. #6
    All-Star
    Points: 40,204, Level: 61
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 146
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tec71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    1,135
    Points
    40,204
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 1

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    Quote Originally Posted by IcSyU View Post
    I'm assuming Vista is the OS?
    XP.


    Hope is not a method. Soon is not a time.

  7. #7
    Speechless
    Points: 426,314, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,656
    Points
    426,314
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 41
    Given: 1

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    Quote Originally Posted by tec71 View Post
    XP.
    That actually surprises me. Vista is what gives me fits getting on networks. However, whoever suggested unplugging everything and then plugging it all back in is recommending what I normally do.



  8. #8
    All-Star
    Points: 40,204, Level: 61
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 146
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tec71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    1,135
    Points
    40,204
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 1

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    you either entered the wrong security code for the access point.

    If that is not it:

    Unplug the power from your router. Also unplug your DSL or cable modem.

    Plug the modem back in. Then the router then see if the problem is fixed
    I've tried both, but i'm trying them again. I've reentered the code 15 times I think.


    Hope is not a method. Soon is not a time.

  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 183,404, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ajk4st8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    15,217
    Points
    183,404
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 31
    Given: 108

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    Im having troubles too. Do you think it has anything to do with our service?

    I live in Ankeny and I have qwest.



  10. #10
    Speechless
    Points: 426,314, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,656
    Points
    426,314
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 41
    Given: 1

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    Quote Originally Posted by ajk4st8 View Post
    Im having troubles too. Do you think it has anything to do with our service?

    I live in Ankeny and I have qwest.
    ISP shouldn't matter in the case of connecting to a network.



  11. #11
    All-Star
    Points: 40,204, Level: 61
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 146
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tec71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    1,135
    Points
    40,204
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 1

    Re: Limited of no connectivity?

    Okay it's connected. I had to to the router set up utility on the internet since I've long since lost the software. After I guessed by password, it showed me the encryption code in what I'm guessing was hexadecimal if my old EE eyes aren't deceiving me. I put that in the work computer and it worked fine. Thanks for all the effort.


    Hope is not a method. Soon is not a time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM