Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Prospect Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

Outsider's Perspective (Long)

I am an Indiana grad who was raised in Iowa and returned to live here. Being a big football fan I have always followed ISU with some interest. One thing IU football and ISU football share is some of the fan base has a "woe is me" attitude regarding who would want to coach at each university. While I think IU is a coaching graveyard, I believe ISU is a very good job for the following reasons:

ISU consistently draws large crowds for non BCS opponents so scheduling some wins is not a big deal. This helps to build your program while not killing your bottom line.

The fan base is strong considering the lack of return on their investment. IU would kill for type of following ISU football has.

The salaries for coaches are excellent. You can recruit and retain a good staff.

The fans are patient and realistic. At times I thought this years team looked like an 8th grade team in terms of game organization, yet the overwhelming number of fans were very positive until the end of the GC reign.

The media is pretty tame. Some of them are almost boosters for ISU and/or Iowa.

No competition from the pros. It is very hard for IU football to get significant coverage when competing against the Colts in the same media market.

Don't sell this job short. It is obviously challenging but there are many advantages to coaching at ISU. Just my two cents.

Legend
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 461
    Given: 304

Re: Outsider's Perspective (Long)

Thank you for your insight. Its appreciated by me.

Addict
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 32
    Given: 5