Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HDTV help!

  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 133,219, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    cyismydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6,353
    Points
    133,219
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 10

    HDTV help!

    We just got a 32" 1080p Toshiba LCD. We plan to hook it up to our computer for a variety of reason. The TV has a PC place, but I was wondering: What kind of cord do you need to hook your TV up to your PC?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 165,905, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUKyro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,886
    Points
    165,905
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 188
    Given: 476

    Re: HDTV help!

    Probably a DVI or VGA



  3. #3
    Addict
    Points: 80,935, Level: 88
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 1,015
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,473
    Points
    80,935
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: HDTV help!

    HDMI or DVI.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 133,219, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    cyismydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6,353
    Points
    133,219
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 10

    Re: HDTV help!

    What if your computer doesn't have an HDMI input?



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 165,905, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUKyro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    9,886
    Points
    165,905
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 188
    Given: 476

    Re: HDTV help!

    Just so I'm 100% right, because I've been drinking.... alot.

    Do you want to use your new tv as a computer monitor? If so check the cord that goes to your normal computer monitor and see if you have a spot like that on the new tv - there a good chance you will.



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 80,935, Level: 88
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 1,015
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,473
    Points
    80,935
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: HDTV help!

    Quote Originally Posted by cyismydog View Post
    What if your computer doesn't have an HDMI input?
    Use a DVI-HDMI cable.

    HDMI and DVI are essentially the same thing.

    edit: or get one of these:
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 11:00 AM