Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,832, Level: 61
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 518
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tman24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,041
    Points
    39,832
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 16
    Given: 22

    Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Mediacom adds A&E, History and SciFi HD in Des Moines / Ames, IA - Engadget HD

    They have added Sci Fi HD, A&E HD and History HD today.

    I am glad they finally added some more. I am mostly excited for History HD. There is always something decent on History.


    Hooray for Metaphors!

  2. #2
    Lost in Eastern Iowa
    Points: 277,045, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures
    rworkman83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Boone & Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    18,314
    Points
    277,045
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 113
    Given: 114

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    What I don't understand is why we get certain national HD channels in Cedar Rapids and a whole lot more are offered in the Des Moines Market. Makes no sense to me.


    42-54 Record in CF Mafia. The most games played and wins by any player in Cyclone Fanatic History. Yes, I'm a nerd.

  3. #3
    Pro
    Points: 104,288, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    vmbplayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    3,486
    Points
    104,288
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 31
    Given: 32

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Quote Originally Posted by tman24 View Post
    Mediacom adds A&E, History and SciFi HD in Des Moines / Ames, IA - Engadget HD

    They have added Sci Fi HD, A&E HD and History HD today.

    I am glad they finally added some more. I am mostly excited for History HD. There is always something decent on History.
    switch to Directv and enjoy hist international. I can't stand mediacom, best thing my house ever did was drop it for Directv.



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 80,935, Level: 88
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 1,015
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,473
    Points
    80,935
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Quote Originally Posted by rworkman83 View Post
    What I don't understand is why we get certain national HD channels in Cedar Rapids and a whole lot more are offered in the Des Moines Market. Makes no sense to me.
    Probably has something to do with infrastructure, though that's just a guess.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,832, Level: 61
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 518
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tman24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,041
    Points
    39,832
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 16
    Given: 22

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Quote Originally Posted by rworkman83 View Post
    What I don't understand is why we get certain national HD channels in Cedar Rapids and a whole lot more are offered in the Des Moines Market. Makes no sense to me.
    Don't you guys get Comcast Sportsnet Chicago? I wish I had that during the summer. Almost all the cubs games are on that channel.

    Quote Originally Posted by vmbplayer View Post
    switch to Directv and enjoy hist international. I can't stand mediacom, best thing my house ever did was drop it for Directv.
    I live in an apartment so directv really isn't and option otherwise I totally would have been there already. My dad has directv and I love it whenever I go home.


    Hooray for Metaphors!

  6. #6
    All-Star
    Points: 19,650, Level: 42
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    kcclones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    1,708
    Points
    19,650
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 6

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    here is a dumb question for those who have directv. I currently have cable in KC and have 2 HD boxes with DVR. In my other 2 rooms I have basic over the air cable at no additional cost....this is nice because 1 room is a living room that isn't used that often and the other is the room with the treadmill. Is there any easy way to get Directv in those rooms without having to pay for the additional boxes?

    Thanks



  7. #7
    Pro
    Points: 32,453, Level: 55
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 597
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    iowast8fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    2,125
    Points
    32,453
    Level
    55
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 47
    Given: 21

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Quote Originally Posted by nickborton View Post
    here is a dumb question for those who have directv. I currently have cable in KC and have 2 HD boxes with DVR. In my other 2 rooms I have basic over the air cable at no additional cost....this is nice because 1 room is a living room that isn't used that often and the other is the room with the treadmill. Is there any easy way to get Directv in those rooms without having to pay for the additional boxes?

    Thanks
    You could run a splitter off the output line from one of the receivers and into your other rooms, but it would be controlled by the original receiver. So, you would have to have both TVs on the same channel. Changing channels may also be difficult from the other room.

    Not a very good solution, but it only cost an extra $5 per receiver.



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 80,935, Level: 88
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 1,015
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,473
    Points
    80,935
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Quote Originally Posted by iowast8fan View Post
    You could run a splitter off the output line from one of the receivers and into your other rooms, but it would be controlled by the original receiver. So, you would have to have both TVs on the same channel. Changing channels may also be difficult from the other room.

    Not a very good solution, but it only cost an extra $5 per receiver.
    I don't know if you can use more than one output on the receiver at the same time, but you could use the component, Y, Pb, Pr, HDMI or (I think?) coax on the receiver to run to the other room.

    I've never tried this, but it might work.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  9. #9
    Legend
    Points: 208,495, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,642
    Points
    208,495
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 316
    Given: 484

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Quote Originally Posted by jumbopackage View Post
    I don't know if you can use more than one output on the receiver at the same time, but you could use the component, Y, Pb, Pr, HDMI or (I think?) coax on the receiver to run to the other room.

    I've never tried this, but it might work.
    It does work. I power one TV via HDMI and another one off componet, and a 3rd to power a sling box via s video all from the same receiver. Of course you have to watch the same channel.



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 93,595, Level: 95
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 1,455
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,203
    Points
    93,595
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 8

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Just got 5 more HD channels in Cedar Rapids on mediacom

    TBS, A&E, Sci Fi, History, and CNN.

    Rumor I heard is there should be another 2-4 more in about a month.



  11. #11
    Lost in Eastern Iowa
    Points: 277,045, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures
    rworkman83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Boone & Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    18,314
    Points
    277,045
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 113
    Given: 114

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    Just got 5 more HD channels in Cedar Rapids on mediacom

    TBS, A&E, Sci Fi, History, and CNN.

    Rumor I heard is there should be another 2-4 more in about a month.
    Are these all free ones like the rest? This would happen as I leave town for 10 days.


    42-54 Record in CF Mafia. The most games played and wins by any player in Cyclone Fanatic History. Yes, I'm a nerd.

  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 93,595, Level: 95
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 1,455
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,203
    Points
    93,595
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 8

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Yes all those are part of the family cable package



  13. #13
    Addict
    Points: 165,394, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Stewo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    7,087
    Points
    165,394
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 299
    Given: 82

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Anyone know what's going on Mediacom ch. 852? It says to be announced like the other new 3 did? I hope it's FX HD.



  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 93,595, Level: 95
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 1,455
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,203
    Points
    93,595
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 8

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    I don't have a channel 852 on mine. Though from what I was told the Des Moines market will likely get the other new HD's 1-2 weeks before CR does.



  15. #15
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 33,118, Level: 56
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 1,132
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    cyclonez7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ames/Coralville
    Posts
    4,260
    Points
    33,118
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 81
    Given: 13

    Re: Mediacom adds new HD channels

    Why does Des Moines get these channels before Eastern Iowa does? Anyone know when they'll be available in E. Iowa?


    Droppin' 3's like my name is Scotty C.

    Philippians 4:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 07:00 PM