Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Pro
    Points: 40,974, Level: 62
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 676
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    San Francisco Cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,001
    Points
    40,974
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    Anybody out there that can give me a quick tutorial on how to set my laptop up so that I can use my Moto Q for internet access by hooking up to it? I've heard that it's possible, and tried downloading a couple of programs, to no avail, thus far. Any success stories out there?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 80,761, Level: 88
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 1,189
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,464
    Points
    80,761
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 8

    Re: Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    What programs have you tried?
    Who is your service provider?
    Do you have a Phone-As-Modem plan?


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  3. #3
    Starter
    Points: 15,088, Level: 37
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    MrGreg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    875
    Points
    15,088
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 7

    Re: Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    sorry, i never tried tethering my q to my laptop. maybe check out Motorola Q cases, accessories, news and forums at Everything Q ?
    Posted via Mobile Device



  4. #4
    Pro Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    CyGuy33's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    3,174
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    I tired to do this with my Q as well had no success. Then the phone crapped the bed so I wasn't able to try again. Sorry


    "Profanity is the Crutch of Inarticulate Mother ****ers"
    The Wall in the Bathroom at People's

  5. #5
    Pro
    Points: 51,035, Level: 69
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Broodwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    42.186391, -93.598597
    Posts
    2,044
    Points
    51,035
    Level
    69
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    I've got my laptop tethered to my Q for internet. But that won't help much unless you have the same service provider and Bluetooth.



  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 40,974, Level: 62
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 676
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    San Francisco Cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,001
    Points
    40,974
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    I have US Cellular. I have tried PDA Net, but when I try to run it on my laptop, it gives me an error...



  7. #7
    Addict
    Points: 80,761, Level: 88
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 1,189
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,464
    Points
    80,761
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 8

    Re: Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    I use PDANet with my palm. it was nicer when my phone was PAM enabled, but it also cost me 30 bucks a month and I didn't use it that often, or often enough to justify it. When I travel these days, I generally only need internet in airports, so i just pay the 10 bucks a month for Boingo. It's faster, more reliable and less of a hassle.

    Technically, PDANet probably violates the terms of service of your cell phone contract, just FYI.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  8. #8
    Pro
    Points: 40,974, Level: 62
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 676
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    San Francisco Cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,001
    Points
    40,974
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    Quote Originally Posted by jumbopackage View Post
    I use PDANet with my palm. it was nicer when my phone was PAM enabled, but it also cost me 30 bucks a month and I didn't use it that often, or often enough to justify it. When I travel these days, I generally only need internet in airports, so i just pay the 10 bucks a month for Boingo. It's faster, more reliable and less of a hassle.

    Technically, PDANet probably violates the terms of service of your cell phone contract, just FYI.
    I do pay $24.95 for internet on my phone. Not sure why it would matter if I teather up to my laptop, but I've heard other people saying the same thing. I know someone that is able to use internet on her laptop from her Moto Q, but she had someone else set it up for her. And has no idea what he did, but she has the same phone, cellphone provider, and laptop. I may just have to track the dude down and have him do it for me, too.



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 80,761, Level: 88
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 1,189
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,464
    Points
    80,761
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 8

    Re: Using Moto Q for laptop internet purposes...

    Quote Originally Posted by AnkenyCy24 View Post
    I do pay $24.95 for internet on my phone. Not sure why it would matter if I teather up to my laptop, but I've heard other people saying the same thing. I know someone that is able to use internet on her laptop from her Moto Q, but she had someone else set it up for her. And has no idea what he did, but she has the same phone, cellphone provider, and laptop. I may just have to track the dude down and have him do it for me, too.
    Because cell phone companies (I don't know about USC, but I know sprint and verizon) generally charge extra to tether your phone to your laptop. The 24.95/month is usually just for data access on the phone, not data access through the phone.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM