Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: DVR Problems

  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 17,190, Level: 39
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,578
    Points
    17,190
    Level
    39
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    DVR Problems

    I have mediacom and have a DVR and HD cable package. When i record a program no matter the channel and then go to watch it at a later time it is always really choppy and you can't even watch it, anyone know what the problem is? besides the fact that mediacom is terrible. BTW i only have mediacom because i live in an apt with free cable so i only have to pay difference which makes it pretty affordable. Thanks in advance.



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 91,587, Level: 94
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 1,563
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,168
    Points
    91,587
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 3

    Re: DVR Problems

    I would guess it is choppy when it records it so it records the choppyness.

    Just call mediacom and have them send someone out



  3. #3
    Pro
    Points: 42,293, Level: 63
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 657
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    mike4cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Urbandale
    Posts
    2,557
    Points
    42,293
    Level
    63
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0

    Re: DVR Problems

    Meidacom is pretty aweful.


    --Luck of the Cyrish--






  4. #4
    Rookie Achievements:
    SocialVeteran5000 Experience Points
    Jetta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    583
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: DVR Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    I would guess it is choppy when it records it so it records the choppyness.

    Just call mediacom and have them send someone out
    This may be it. We don't have a DVR but our channels are often choppy (service through Mediacom). It apparently has something to do with the fact our street gets a really low (negative) signal. Which they promised to fix a year ago, but. . .



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 80,367, Level: 88
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 1,583
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,452
    Points
    80,367
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: DVR Problems

    Is it choppy when you watch live?

    If not, my guess is there's a problem with your DVR.

    Even though I loathe mediacom's TV offerings, there's no reason it should be choppy and blocky if you have a decent live signal.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  6. #6
    Legend Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    DaddyMac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14,375
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: DVR Problems

    As a general rule and by my experience, MediaCom DVR's aren't exactly the best things around.

    I've had 3 replaced in maybe 2-3 years.

    Call them and tell them you want a replacement.

    You might have to go down and exchange it yourself. They've allowed me to do that - saves the time and trouble of a service call.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 49,101, Level: 68
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 649
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    CyclonesRule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    3,662
    Points
    49,101
    Level
    68
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 1

    Re: DVR Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by DaddyMac View Post
    As a general rule and by my experience, MediaCom DVR's aren't exactly the best things around.

    I've had 3 replaced in maybe 2-3 years.

    Call them and tell them you want a replacement.

    You might have to go down and exchange it yourself. They've allowed me to do that - saves the time and trouble of a service call.
    plus you don't have to wait around for the 8-12 or 12-4 o'clock windows if you go down yourself.



  8. #8
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 11,403, Level: 32
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 547
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    CloneBack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    269
    Points
    11,403
    Level
    32
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: DVR Problems

    Tivo, end of thread.


    Ron freaking Swanson

  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 717,701, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    A pineapple under the sea
    Posts
    45,665
    Points
    717,701
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 431
    Given: 233

    Re: DVR Problems

    I had this happen on DirectTV, but it happened on a day that was raining, so it was just the reception.



  10. #10
    Pro Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    AIT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Johnston, IA
    Posts
    2,743
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: DVR Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by DaddyMac View Post
    As a general rule and by my experience, MediaCom DVR's aren't exactly the best things around.

    I've had 3 replaced in maybe 2-3 years.

    Call them and tell them you want a replacement.

    You might have to go down and exchange it yourself. They've allowed me to do that - saves the time and trouble of a service call.
    You're doing better than I am. My Mediacom DVR's have had a lifespan of a few months.

    Is your DVR a Pace brand, silver in color? I had a tech tell me those are garbage and they're always replacing those. I'm guessing your DVR is bad, though you might have a bad signal too. They might insist on sending someone out to check the signal if this is your first call.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM