Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 57,916, Level: 74
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 634
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CyCloned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Robins, Iowa
    Posts
    4,756
    Points
    57,916
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 196
    Given: 90

    does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    and are you happy with it. We just got a Qwest rate increase last week and it looks like the phone bill will be close to $25.00 if we don't make any long distance calls. That is gettin pretty close to some of the prices I have seen for Vontage.



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 177,854, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    snowcraig2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    7,428
    Points
    177,854
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 463
    Given: 77

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    We have vonage, I really like it. It will even email you when you have a voice mail, and provide you a transcript of the message.



  3. #3
    Walk On
    Points: 7,907, Level: 26
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 243
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    134
    Points
    7,907
    Level
    26
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    I looked into it about six months ago. My conclussion was that if you have it and it works, you will be very happy. If you have it and there are problems, the customer service and follow through is questionable. We read enough about the issues that we decided to stick with Qwest.



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 103,803, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Clonefan94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    6,137
    Points
    103,803
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 189
    Given: 100

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    We've had it for 2 years now. The only problems we've had are when our internet is down. I have it set to automatically forward to my cell phone in the even our internet is down. My other favorite feature is being able to forward calls at any time to any phone you want. When we go on extended vacations, I also forward it to my cell phone. Really, for the price, it's been the best move we've made. And to be honest, the line quality and problems have been much better than anything we had with our old line based company.

    The only thing to look out for, if you use your internet a lot, is to make sure you have plenty of bandwidth on your internet connection. Don't have the bare minimum and expect it to work perfectly while playing games online and downloading music. Personally, I'll never go back to a true land based line. The price just isn't worth it. Best part is, I get to keep this phone number forever. No matter where I move to.



  5. #5
    Swarm & Punish
    Points: 288,774, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    keepngoal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    20,051
    Points
    288,774
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 557
    Given: 1,084

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    Iowa Telecom, if in your area.. is reasonably priced.

    -keep


    The first and best victory is to conquer self; to be conquered by self is of all things most shameful and vile. - Plato

    May you only need 39 acres to turn your rig around. - keep

  6. #6
    Rookie
    Points: 9,868, Level: 29
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    DevilDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cedar Falls
    Posts
    418
    Points
    9,868
    Level
    29
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    Ive had Vonage for 3+ yrs now and no issues what so ever. Cant beat the 15.00 a month plan with fees is 19.00 when all is said and done. We also moved and got to keep the number we had for the past 10 yrs. The only problem u will ever have is if your internet provider isnt worth a darn. Poor land lines are a dying animal.


    Last edited by DevilDog; 09-28-2008 at 05:09 PM.
    Cyclone State Now & Forever

  7. #7
    Pro
    Points: 51,035, Level: 69
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Broodwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    42.186391, -93.598597
    Posts
    2,044
    Points
    51,035
    Level
    69
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    I've been a Vonage customer since 2004. I love it.



  8. #8
    Cyclone42
    Guest

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    Quote Originally Posted by CyCloned View Post
    and are you happy with it. We just got a Qwest rate increase last week and it looks like the phone bill will be close to $25.00 if we don't make any long distance calls. That is gettin pretty close to some of the prices I have seen for Vontage.
    I use a very similar service called Lingo. It is just a bit cheaper than Vonage. The thing you have to be really careful about is telephone taxes. Sounds stupid, but many states charge exorbitant taxes on telephone service, plus federal taxes. Nebraska is one of those states. My Lingo technically is $21.95 per month. But with all the state and federal taxes, I pay about $32 a month.



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 69,696, Level: 81
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    5,360
    Points
    69,696
    Level
    81
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 93
    Given: 95

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    Bumping this thread to see if there are any new opinions or users of Vonage. Thinking about going this route and see the feedback was decent a couple of years ago, anyone have something new or different to offer?



  10. #10
    All-Star
    Points: 28,634, Level: 51
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,957
    Points
    28,634
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    My family has standard phone service, but we've noticed problems when communicating with people with Vonage, usually with bad reception. But no idea if that's Vonage, our landline or something else.



  11. #11
    Speechless
    Points: 400,900, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 64.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    59,361
    Points
    400,900
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 622
    Given: 390

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    I had Vonage. Worked great, saw the numbers come in who called. Had to change since house security system interefered with it. Vonage does not have a central switchboard like a Cox or Quest and the two groups clashed. It can be done but I could not find a person to reconcile......


    Let my Fred's Posse Ride: Georges, Naz, Hogue, Bryce, Nader, Monte, Matt, and McKay.

  12. #12
    Legend
    Points: 174,241, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    alaskaguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    10,204
    Points
    174,241
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 1

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    Google/gmail is promoting their free long distance service. Has anyone tried it?


    "If the facts don't fit the theory, change the facts." Albert Einstein
    "If your worried about falling off the bike, you'd never get on" Lance Armstrong
    "Dress cute wherever you go, life is too short to blend in." Paris Hilton
    "Money is one of the greatest instruments of freedom ever invented by man." F.A. Hayek

  13. #13
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 111,531, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,119
    Points
    111,531
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 276
    Given: 307

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    Quote Originally Posted by CyCloned View Post
    and are you happy with it. We just got a Qwest rate increase last week and it looks like the phone bill will be close to $25.00 if we don't make any long distance calls. That is gettin pretty close to some of the prices I have seen for Vontage.
    Vonage is outstanding. The only time we've had issues it was our ISP's fault (Mediacom), not Vonage.



  14. #14
    Legend
    Points: 208,465, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,638
    Points
    208,465
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 312
    Given: 482

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    I've used Ooma Telo for over a year without problems. It costs $12/year once you buy the $250 box. One caveat, it did not work well with Google Voice, there was a delay.


    Last edited by dmclone; 09-20-2010 at 02:08 PM.

  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 164,694, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsCreated Album picturesVeteran
    CtownCyclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,774
    Points
    164,694
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 109
    Given: 87

    Re: does anyone have Vontage phone service?

    FWIW, a guy I know who lives in Qatar that has Vonage. It works really well - when I talk to him, it is like a standard call to someone just down the street. I haven't figured out how come there is no lag, since he's calling from so far away, but there are no awkward pauses or talking over one another. He has had the number for at least a year now and hasn't had any problems that I know of.

    Back when I had it (2006), I also had a crappy ISP, so I dropped the service. Also, I never used it - cell phone only!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 07:00 PM