Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran5000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

Las Vegas

Since this is my first time going to Vegas, I figured I'd better ask for some suggestions on a couple things. Anyone got any suggestions for shows to go to while in Vegas? Who has the best poker room?

Pro
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,882
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 36
    Given: 28

Re: Las Vegas

This will be the first time I've gone to Vegas on a personal vacation in years and years. I go there a lot for business but spend most of my time at the convention center of trade shows inside the various hotel. This time, I'm just going to relax and spend time with the missus - and hopefully see a Cyclone victory.

That said, the only place I've played poker there was in the Las Vegas Hilton, and I wouldn't say it's a destination location - just a hole in the wall. According to the movie "Rounders" the poker room in the Mirage is where the best hang out - when have the movies ever led anyone astray?

One of the best quirky restaurants I've ever been in Vegas is called Battista’s Hole in the Wall just behind the Flamingo. It's Italian and they serve free house wine with your meal. Here's a review:

Battista's - Restaurant Review

The food is good, the atmosphere is great and they have a little guy walking around with an accordian that comes to your table that asks you, "where you from?" in a gravelly voice then tries to sing a song from that state. Caution - when you say Iowa, he generally says in a panic,"I don't know any songs from there!!" It may be time to teach him the fight song!!