Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 16,239, Level: 38
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 211
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Humeston, IA
    Posts
    229
    Points
    16,239
    Level
    38
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0

    XP Service Pack 3

    Should I install this? Any advice? I'm not sure I like what I see out there about this service pack. Has anybody had any problems with it?



  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 208,659, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jbhtexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    10,800
    Points
    208,659
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 186
    Given: 111

    Re: XP Service Pack 3

    I've installed SP3 on a number of computers at home and work and have had no issues whatsoever. In fact, we had an SP2 computer get messed up by the latest SonicWall Global VPN client. We couldn't get it working right, so as a last hope before wiping it and reinstalling, we installed SP3 and it managed to take care of whatever that VPN client messed up.


    "Don't worry Boss...they can't do nothin' 'til they're through sparklin'..."

    Avatar - America's new superhero...Cenex Guy

  3. #3
    Burgermeister!
    Points: 359,541, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    TykeClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22,923
    Points
    359,541
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 258
    Given: 505

    Re: XP Service Pack 3

    Quote Originally Posted by jbhtexas View Post
    I've installed SP3 on a number of computers at home and work and have had no issues whatsoever. In fact, we had an SP2 computer get messed up by the latest SonicWall Global VPN client. We couldn't get it working right, so as a last hope before wiping it and reinstalling, we installed SP3 and it managed to take care of whatever that VPN client messed up.
    I have heard that some machines (HP's with AMD CPU's?) have issues with the service pack, but I've had no issues either. I think that I've rolled it out on more than 20 machines - both clean installs and updates - with no issues.

    One neat utility that I use when updating multiple machines is ctupdate (heise Security - c't Projekte - Offline-Update) This allows you to download all updates for several versions of windows and office on a single machine, and then it creates an ISO for each update type to allow you to create a CDROM to do updates with. It works like a poor mans WSUS server, without the need to set up that server (and is especially nice if you're going to do work on someone else's machine).



  4. #4
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 10,993, Level: 31
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 257
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Cyberclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    310
    Points
    10,993
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 4

    Re: XP Service Pack 3

    I've installed it now, on dozens of machines, and have had no issues.



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 81,388, Level: 88
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ames, Born and Raised
    Posts
    8,423
    Points
    81,388
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: XP Service Pack 3

    We roll it out on all the new machines at work with no problems yet.


    It's Bushbama!

    2 time Chupacabra of Humor Award Recipient

    Quote Originally Posted by joefrog
    I will admit, I am to blame in sometimes making mountains out of molehills.

  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 93,293, Level: 95
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 1,757
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,202
    Points
    93,293
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 7

    Re: XP Service Pack 3

    I have also installed it on alot of computers, and no problems yet. I think you are safe



  7. #7
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 10,993, Level: 31
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 257
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Cyberclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    310
    Points
    10,993
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 4

    Re: XP Service Pack 3

    One thing tho, be prepared for it to take awhile, depending on your connection, it could take upwards of an hour or so.



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 80,837, Level: 88
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 1,113
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,470
    Points
    80,837
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 8

    Re: XP Service Pack 3

    Did it at home a while back and haven't noticed any issues.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  9. #9
    Rookie
    Points: 10,437, Level: 30
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 113
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    374
    Points
    10,437
    Level
    30
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 6

    Re: XP Service Pack 3

    My computer's downloaded and started the install automatically in May. What a mistake. I had Norton Anti-virus installed on both and my registries got messed up on both computers.

    Solution from Norton was to shut off before installing. I'm sure this is fixed by now.

    Probably my biggest mistake was Norton.

    My toshiba laptop has intel and my desktop had AMD.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FOX
  • Iowa State vs. Baylor
  • September 27, 2014
  • 07:20 PM