Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Network help

  1. #1
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312

    Network help

    After reading the wireless internet thread I decided I'd better check my security settings. But, I can't find my WAP's setup. I must have changed the IP at some point. Is there a way to "discover" the IP address of points on your network? For some reason it doesn't show up in the clients of my router but I know it's there and working since I'm using it right now



  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 459,906, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    40,299
    Points
    459,906
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 634
    Given: 79

    Re: Network help

    Sure.

    Start->Run->cmd

    from there you can do an ipconfig /all

    Your routers IP will be the default gateway.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312

    Re: Network help

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    Sure.

    Start->Run->cmd

    from there you can do an ipconfig /all

    Your routers IP will be the default gateway.
    No, my WAP is connected to my router.



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 75,107, Level: 85
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,443
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,278
    Points
    75,107
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 52
    Given: 22

    Re: Network help

    your WAP and your router are two different devices?

    If so goto a wirelessly connected computer and do as brian said. The gateway will be the WAP's IP address



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 459,906, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    40,299
    Points
    459,906
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 634
    Given: 79

    Re: Network help

    Or is your computer connected to your router, because you cannot get to the wap?

    If so, you have two/three choices:

    1. Log into the router and see what devices are connected.

    2. Reset the WAP to default settings which is probably 10.0.0.1 or 192.168.0.1

    3. You bricked it, just go get a new one because it is not worth messing with for $45.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  6. #6
    Speechless
    Points: 517,365, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    jdoggivjc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    35,559
    Points
    517,365
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,216
    Given: 1,576

    Re: Network help

    Usually your WAP has a reset button on it that will reset to default settings if you follow the directions (for instance, on mine, if I insert a pin into the pin hole and press for 30 seconds the box resets).


    Chuck Lidell: I paint my toenails with pink and black polish. Problem is, I get more paint on my toes and on the carpet than on my nails. Any advice?
    Maria Sharapova: Don't you beat up other guys for a living? I don't know how to answer this.


  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 147,981, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,649
    Points
    147,981
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 448
    Given: 312

    Re: Network help

    I used a free tool from 3COM called Network Supervisor that found my WAP. I still don't understand why it doesn't show up in the clients list on my router. Oh well. Thanks for all the suggestions.



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 63,666, Level: 78
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 1,184
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,481
    Points
    63,666
    Level
    78
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 22
    Given: 10

    Re: Network help

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    your WAP and your router are two different devices?

    If so goto a wirelessly connected computer and do as brian said. The gateway will be the WAP's IP address
    if it's just a WAP, the default gateway will still be your router's default gateway, not the WAPs.

    If it's a wireless router (quite likely) it depends on how your network is set up, but the default gw will likely be the wireless router.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 59,095, Level: 75
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 955
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    pulse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,183
    Points
    59,095
    Level
    75
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 192
    Given: 131

    Re: Network help

    fyi - the reason you may not see the management address is if the WAP is bridging.



  10. #10
    Speechless
    Points: 433,830, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 49.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    64,958
    Points
    433,830
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,479
    Given: 1,120

    Re: Network help

    Last step is to ask the St Petersburg hackers to check out your revised system, just like the identity theft fellow who offers million doillar protection.


    Let Prohm's Posse Ride: Georges, Georgios, 3sus, Hallice, Deonte, Dustin, Abdel, Monte, Matt, and McKaT.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.TV
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. UNI
  • September 5, 2015
  • 07:00 PM