Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 104
    Given: 21

Collections Agency Advice

Somehow, one of my accounts has ended up in collections. I had thought I had long paid it off, but apparently I still owed 80 cents or something. From that point on, many late fees later, I owe 300 or so.
    Now I get a call from a collections agency, and sure enough, I have a collections account.
    I dont mind paying the whole thing off. But what's the best way to deal with this situation?

Speechless
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 133
    Given: 0

Re: Collections Agency Advice

Check your PM. I work in the mortgage industry and see it all the time.

Legend
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 558
    Given: 392

They came after you for an original amount of 80 cents? I would contact the company that turned you in and see if you can work it out that way. Start there first. The collection agency might actually tell you to do this as well.

Legend
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 244
    Given: 311

I owed 3 cents on a credit agency account 1 time. I blew the heck up on the oporater and found out who turned me in for 3 cents since they were reporting it on my credit. Needless to say when I got a hold of the company the 18 year old kid got an ear full. It was actually a credit card account where I moved money from one account to the other. It was with the same company. I spoke to a supervisor who wiped out the 3 cent credit balance that they did not move over. Then I cancelled my credit card immediatly.