Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Speechless
    Points: 253,452, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    BryceC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    16,578
    Points
    253,452
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 94
    Given: 0

    Wii/Router/WiFi question

    Long story short, I to be semi-tech saavy, but I'm totally ignorant now.

    Basically, we have a broadband cable modem at home, and we just bought a Wii yesterday. I didn't think I'd be all that interested in playing online but seeing all the sweet Mario Kart features I can't help myself. I don't want to have an ethernet cable snaking 30 feet across my basement connected to a Wii either since I have a dog and it looks like crap.

    Is it possible to get a wireless router and connect it to my existing cable modem so that can broadcast a signal to the Wii? If this does exist, where can I find one for cheap? I don't care how good it is because it's just going to be used to connect the Wii. Thanks,



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 81,388, Level: 88
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ames, Born and Raised
    Posts
    8,423
    Points
    81,388
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: Wii/Router/WiFi question

    Quote Originally Posted by BryceC View Post
    Long story short, I to be semi-tech saavy, but I'm totally ignorant now.

    Basically, we have a broadband cable modem at home, and we just bought a Wii yesterday. I didn't think I'd be all that interested in playing online but seeing all the sweet Mario Kart features I can't help myself. I don't want to have an ethernet cable snaking 30 feet across my basement connected to a Wii either since I have a dog and it looks like crap.

    Is it possible to get a wireless router and connect it to my existing cable modem so that can broadcast a signal to the Wii? If this does exist, where can I find one for cheap? I don't care how good it is because it's just going to be used to connect the Wii. Thanks,
    You can get a wireless router pretty much anywhere, wal-mart, best buy. I like Linksys, but right now I have a d-link that has served me well for 4+ years. Setting it up should be pretty easy, most everything can be detected automatically, although nothing ever seems to work that easy.

    I already had a wireless network when I bought my wii, and it was just plug and play to get connected.


    It's Bushbama!

    2 time Chupacabra of Humor Award Recipient

    Quote Originally Posted by joefrog
    I will admit, I am to blame in sometimes making mountains out of molehills.

  3. #3
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 56,492, Level: 73
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 558
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    benjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,594
    Points
    56,492
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 74
    Given: 18

    Re: Wii/Router/WiFi question

    I recommend Linksys wireless routers. You plug it into your modem using the ethernet cable they provided, and then plug the pc into the router. Once you get your computer back online, run the wii wi-fi setup. It will detect your wireless connection. If you want to encrypt your network (recommended) you will have to type the key into the wii to get online. It's all fairly easy, just follow the instructions that come with the router.



  4. #4
    Speechless
    Points: 253,452, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    BryceC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    16,578
    Points
    253,452
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 94
    Given: 0

    Re: Wii/Router/WiFi question

    Alright, thanks guys... also, our home computer is a Mac. One reason why I'm totally ignorant now - I haven't used a PC regularly for years outside of work. Could that make any sort of impact?



  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 56,492, Level: 73
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 558
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    benjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,594
    Points
    56,492
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 74
    Given: 18

    Re: Wii/Router/WiFi question

    Shouldn't matter. You're just plugging your computer into the router rather than the modem.



  6. #6
    Rookie
    Points: 8,590, Level: 27
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 160
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    389
    Points
    8,590
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4
    Given: 0

    Re: Wii/Router/WiFi question

    Quote Originally Posted by BryceC View Post
    ... I don't want to have an ethernet cable snaking 30 feet across my basement connected to a Wii either since I have a dog and it looks like crap....

    ,
    So Bryce, why do you say your dog looks like crap????
    I know what you mean bro, but it just struck me as funny.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 55,615, Level: 73
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,435
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    dustinal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3,635
    Points
    55,615
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Wii/Router/WiFi question

    Quote Originally Posted by BryceC View Post
    Alright, thanks guys... also, our home computer is a Mac. One reason why I'm totally ignorant now - I haven't used a PC regularly for years outside of work. Could that make any sort of impact?
    Quote Originally Posted by benjay View Post
    Shouldn't matter. You're just plugging your computer into the router rather than the modem.
    I think that's true, but you'll want to be sure to check the box of any router you're looking at to make sure it's Mac compatible.

    We have Qwest now but used to have Mediacom cable internet. We have a Belkin Wireless G router. Our primary computer is a Mac and is hardwired to the router. We have a Wii and two laptops (one Windows, one Mac) that we use on the wireless network all the time.

    We had a little trouble setting up the network at first, but I got some good answers from this thread several months ago and haven't had any problems since...

    http://www.cyclonefanatic.com/forum/...-mediacom.html



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 253,452, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    BryceC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    16,578
    Points
    253,452
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 94
    Given: 0

    Re: Wii/Router/WiFi question

    Awesome link dude, thanks!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM