Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Bench Warmer Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Waukee
    Posts
    299
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Intel chip and MS Vista question

    I'm in the market for a new computer. I'm planning on getting a fairly high end consumer machine with Intel chips, 4 GB of RAM, and a higher end video card. Couple questions.

    In regards to the Intel chips, is there an easy answer as to which is the best? Duo, Quad, Extreme? From what I've read, if I'm wanting to edit HD video on this machine, I should be okay with the Quad chip set.

    In regards to Vista, this 32 bit vs 64 bit decision is driving me crazy. I've found some info on the advantages/disadvantages but not enough to make an informed decision. Any help? Is everything headed to 64 bit eventually?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 126,756, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    tim_redd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    7,362
    Points
    126,756
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 96
    Given: 41

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    32 bit vista won't be able to take advantage of 4 gigs of ram.



  3. #3
    CF Founder
    Points: 238,333, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    Jeremy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Urbandale, IA
    Posts
    13,158
    Points
    238,333
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 293
    Given: 141

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    The Core 2 Duo or Quad will do what you want, of course the Quad handling multi-tasking even more remarkably. With the current threading capabilities of apps, you don't notice multi-cores much within the same app but you'll notice it when running more than one app or having things go in the background. I would stay away from the Extreme chips for price/performance ratio considerations.

    You'll get an endless debate on 32 vs 64 but in reality 32 is going to be mainstream until at least Windows 7 hist in 2010. There are still quite a few driver and app compatibility issues with 64bit Vista and unless you plan on going over 4GB ram, you won't notice a single difference.


    A program isn't built on one player and it doesn't succeed because of one player, thus a program won't fail if it doesn't get that one player.

  4. #4
    Starter
    Points: 15,177, Level: 37
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 473
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    ce1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    955
    Points
    15,177
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 10

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    You might fall into the one category where 64-bit Vista would help you, in high-end graphic processing. There is no real performance advantage to 64-bit vs. 32-bit OS. In fact, we just got through doing a side-by-side comparison of the two with a high-end Website that i manage, in a Microsoft-run performance lab, and it turned out that the web site, under load test, ran slower on the 64-bit OS (granted it was Longhorn, but you get the idea)...

    But, as someone previously stated, you won't really be able to use the 4 gig memory effectively (although you will get an improvement over 2 gig, even at 32-bit OS). The trouble is that a 32-bit OS can only load about 2.5 gig of data maximum, before it will run out of memory ( for the real bit-heads, i know this is a bit simplistic). A 64-bit OS will allow you to load more data into a single application. Since high-end graphic editing frequently uses more than 4 gig of data, it is highly possible you'll see performance improvements, in terms of the size of the data you can work on (say, maybe 200 frames loaded simultaneously instead of 50)...if (read on...)

    Make ABSOLUTELY certain:

    1. That the editing application your using will support the 64-bit OS. All Microsoft .NET applications are good to go, all Java apps will support it (w/ 64 bit Runtimes), but older 32-bit C/C++ Compiled applications (like Adobe Illustrator and others) will still run as a 32-bit applications. The application will run in the 32-bit subsytem, but you won't be able to take advantage of the extra application data space.

    2. Make certain that if you're using video capturing, special graphic cards, or other D/A or A/D hardware, that the device drivers will work in Vista. A lot of device drivers for older hardware never had 64-bit device drivers made and probably never will. Vista requires 64-bit Device Drivers for 64-bit Vista, there is no subsystem to run old 32-bit drivers. And since MS requires any device driver to have the device driver signed by MS (for security purposes, this is only for 64-bit OS installations), to run in the 64-bit space, a lot of older hardware devices will never work in the 64-bit Vista space.


    Last edited by ce1; 04-16-2008 at 10:26 PM. Reason: punctuation

  5. #5
    Bench Warmer Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Waukee
    Posts
    299
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    I'm planning on using Sony Vegas Platinum 8 for the HD video editing. I assume it will work with the 64 bit OS, but I'll check to make sure.



  6. #6
    Starter
    Points: 11,303, Level: 32
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 647
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    657
    Points
    11,303
    Level
    32
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 1

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    The only thing I have to add is along the lines of what others have said. 32-bit will only recognize 3 gigs of ram (I had 3 installed on mine too) so don't waste the money if you have the choice.



  7. #7
    Pro
    Points: 29,756, Level: 53
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,094
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,737
    Points
    29,756
    Level
    53
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 17
    Given: 3

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    AMD FTW



  8. #8
    Legend
    Points: 385,722, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,593
    Points
    385,722
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 411
    Given: 282

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    I support AMD heavily as well. Intel I believe has a slight edge as of recently on its new chips, but it is super expensive. I have noticed alot of the animated movies anymore are done on AMD machines. FWIW Could be the AMD donates more money to the picture companies =)

    64 bit windows works fine, but as you mentioned not alot is compatible....but it is getting better. My biggest beef with it was for my printer drivers. They just didnt have them available and the closest match wasnt good enough. And Im too cheap to buy a new one. ha!


    Last edited by bos; 04-17-2008 at 08:40 AM.

  9. #9
    Legend
    Points: 203,220, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,308
    Points
    203,220
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 203
    Given: 302

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    I assume you're going to build your own? If not, you should.



  10. #10
    Legend
    Points: 385,722, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,593
    Points
    385,722
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 411
    Given: 282

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    I assume you're going to build your own? If not, you should.

    I agree wholeheartedly. That way you know exactly whats in it, you get what you want without having to sacrifice, and you can better prepare for upgrades since you know your machine in and out.



  11. #11
    Recruit Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wichita, Kansas
    Posts
    91
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    As far as which chip to get, it depends on what you want to do. If this machine is to play video games, the stick with the core 2 duos. If you are planning on doing multiple applications at once, go with the quad. The good thing about these new intel chips is how easy they are to overclock. My current cpu is rated for 2.4ghz and it is currently at 3.4ghz with very little temperature increase. As far as OS goes, I have vista 64bit and have run into 0 compatability issues.



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 80,683, Level: 88
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,267
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,461
    Points
    80,683
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 8

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    I support AMD heavily as well. Intel I believe has a slight edge as of recently on its new chips, but it is super expensive. I have noticed alot of the animated movies anymore are done on AMD machines. FWIW Could be the AMD donates more money to the picture companies =)

    64 bit windows works fine, but as you mentioned not alot is compatible....but it is getting better. My biggest beef with it was for my printer drivers. They just didnt have them available and the closest match wasnt good enough. And Im too cheap to buy a new one. ha!
    AMD isn't even in the same ballpark as Intel at the moment. If you're doing anything multimedia based, stick with Core 2 Duos or Core 2 quads.

    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    I agree wholeheartedly. That way you know exactly whats in it, you get what you want without having to sacrifice, and you can better prepare for upgrades since you know your machine in and out.
    If you're asking questions like he's asking, I would HIGHLY advise you not to build your own. Buy something from a reputable vendor that has a warranty.


    "Homemade beer, after all, is like a democracy. Every so often, youíre gonna hate what comes out of it. But when itís good, itís the best." - woot.com

  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 385,722, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,593
    Points
    385,722
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 411
    Given: 282

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    Quote Originally Posted by jumbopackage View Post

    If you're asking questions like he's asking, I would HIGHLY advise you not to build your own. Buy something from a reputable vendor that has a warranty.

    LOL true. But maybe he doesnt mind learning =)



  14. #14
    Legend
    Points: 203,220, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,308
    Points
    203,220
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 203
    Given: 302

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    I should of said, "have someone build you a PC".



  15. #15
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 60,714, Level: 76
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 936
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cycloneG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Off the grid
    Posts
    3,635
    Points
    60,714
    Level
    76
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 53
    Given: 14

    Re: Intel chip and MS Vista question

    A few years ago you may have gotten more bang for your buck with AMD, but Intel has really put out some good material lately and their prices are way better than AMD's.


    I don't think I'm alone when I say I'd like to see more and more planets fall under the ruthless domination of our solar system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM