Question for Audiofiles
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Pro
    Points: 48,482, Level: 68
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 1,268
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Burnsville, MN
    Posts
    3,076
    Points
    48,482
    Level
    68
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 119
    Given: 23

    Question for Audiofiles

    I set up my surround sound today. I'm just running an optical cable to my receiver. Everything is hooked up, but when I turn on the surround, it is extremely quiet. I turn the volume to max, and can barely hear it.
    When I had it hooked up previously, I didn't used a coax instead of optical, but it appears to be reading the optical.
    What would cause this to happen?
    Could I have damaged my optical cable when I ran it through the wall?
    Any suggestions?



  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 206,214, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jbhtexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    11,089
    Points
    206,214
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 358
    Given: 251

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    Just a thought...on my Sony reciever, for input channels that have both optical and coaxial inputs, you have to manually toggle the receiver between the optical and coaxial inputs. Maybe yours is the same way...


    "Don't worry Boss...they can't do nothin' 'til they're through sparklin'..."

    Avatar - America's new superhero...Cenex Guy

  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 387,777, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,023
    Points
    387,777
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 779
    Given: 626

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    I would first look to see if you accidentally pressed any buttons on the reciever. Sometimes there is a button that controls speaker location or on and off of front and back speakers.



  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 43,699, Level: 64
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 551
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    zach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The Subs
    Posts
    1,555
    Points
    43,699
    Level
    64
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 2

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    What is hooked up to what?


    The grass always looks greener, on the other side of the fence, but the dog over there might be meaner, on the other side of the fence… Stay in your own yard, play in your own yard!

  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 146,976, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6,187
    Points
    146,976
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    My Sony receiver automatically switches between optical and digital coax, depending on where the signal is. If there is a signal coming to both, I believe optical has priority.



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 136,735, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    herbicide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    8,639
    Points
    136,735
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    Sounds like you could use some Monster Cables!

    (sarcasm)



  7. #7
    Pro
    Points: 48,482, Level: 68
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 1,268
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Burnsville, MN
    Posts
    3,076
    Points
    48,482
    Level
    68
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 119
    Given: 23

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    I got it figured out. My TV volume controls the volume of the signal going to the receiver. That wasn't the case with my old TV. I had the volume turned down low so I could hear the surround. I just had to turn off the speaker on my TV, and then crank the volume on the TV so I could have the correct volume control on my receiver.



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 408,316, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    61,142
    Points
    408,316
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 886
    Given: 624

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    Quote Originally Posted by herbicide View Post
    Sounds like you could use some Monster Cables!

    (sarcasm)
    And where do you get those monster cables? Mr Monoprice? Jeremy should have mopnoprice as a sponsor to this website.


    Let my Fred's Posse Ride: Georges, Naz, Hogue, Bryce, Nader, Monte, Matt, and McKay.

  9. #9
    Pro
    Points: 48,482, Level: 68
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 1,268
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Burnsville, MN
    Posts
    3,076
    Points
    48,482
    Level
    68
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 119
    Given: 23

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    Quote Originally Posted by zach View Post
    What is hooked up to what?
    I have my cable box going to TV via HDMI
    DVD player to TV via Component
    TV to Receiver via Optical.
    And I'm thinking I need to run a coax from DVD to receiver to get my Dolby on.



  10. #10
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 57,305, Level: 74
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,245
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    pulse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,826
    Points
    57,305
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 80
    Given: 80

    Re: Question for Audiofiles

    Quote Originally Posted by MNclone View Post
    I got it figured out. My TV volume controls the volume of the signal going to the receiver. That wasn't the case with my old TV. I had the volume turned down low so I could hear the surround. I just had to turn off the speaker on my TV, and then crank the volume on the TV so I could have the correct volume control on my receiver.
    I believe this is also something you can probably set on your TV. There is probably a setting on the menu of your TV that will just send a consistent volume level to your receiver irregardless of you turning the volume up/down on your TV.

    Also, yes you need to send the digital signal (via coax as you said) from your DVD player to your receiver.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.tv
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Mississippi Valley State
  • December 31, 2014
  • 06:00 PM