XBMC
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: XBMC

  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 81,388, Level: 88
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ames, Born and Raised
    Posts
    8,423
    Points
    81,388
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    XBMC

    Just finished setting up a couple XBMC boxes in my house, It's the best $60 I ever spent. Was wondering if anyone else uses it as well.

    For those that don't know, XBMC is Xbox Media Center, and it's a homemade dashboard for the original xbox. I have it networked with my computer and you can stream dvd's/video/audio/whatever from your computer to the xbox to play on your TV. I picked up a 1TB external HD from best buy last week so I'm set on space, starting to rip my dvd collection to my computer now. Only downside is it's not HDDVD/Bluray capable, although the xbox does a decent job of upconverting to 720p or 1080i. Not a huge concern for me as I don't plan on investing in Bluray any time soon.


    It's Bushbama!

    2 time Chupacabra of Humor Award Recipient

    Quote Originally Posted by joefrog
    I will admit, I am to blame in sometimes making mountains out of molehills.

  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 387,713, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,014
    Points
    387,713
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 773
    Given: 616

    Re: XBMC

    Where do you get it?



  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 287,984, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    CloneAggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    14,854
    Points
    287,984
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: XBMC

    Quote Originally Posted by cmoneyr View Post
    Just finished setting up a couple XBMC boxes in my house, It's the best $60 I ever spent. Was wondering if anyone else uses it as well.

    For those that don't know, XBMC is Xbox Media Center, and it's a homemade dashboard for the original xbox. I have it networked with my computer and you can stream dvd's/video/audio/whatever from your computer to the xbox to play on your TV. I picked up a 1TB external HD from best buy last week so I'm set on space, starting to rip my dvd collection to my computer now. Only downside is it's not HDDVD/Bluray capable, although the xbox does a decent job of upconverting to 720p or 1080i. Not a huge concern for me as I don't plan on investing in Bluray any time soon.
    I've read there are some audio issues with streaming ripped DVDs over XBMC. Something about how many channels (2.1, 5.1, 7.1, etc.) if I recall correctly. Haven't tried it myself.


    Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that. ~ George Carlin

    There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old’s life:
    The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves Orcs. ~ John Rogers

  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 81,388, Level: 88
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ames, Born and Raised
    Posts
    8,423
    Points
    81,388
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: XBMC

    Quote Originally Posted by CloneAggie View Post
    I've read there are some audio issues with streaming ripped DVDs over XBMC. Something about how many channels (2.1, 5.1, 7.1, etc.) if I recall correctly. Haven't tried it myself.
    From what I've read they've fixed most of the problems pertaining to 5.1/6.1/7.1 audio, mine seems to play back at 5.1 fine, it's picked up normally by my receiver.

    Where do you get it?
    XBMC // is the place to start.


    It's Bushbama!

    2 time Chupacabra of Humor Award Recipient

    Quote Originally Posted by joefrog
    I will admit, I am to blame in sometimes making mountains out of molehills.

  5. #5
    Rookie
    Points: 10,463, Level: 30
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    548
    Points
    10,463
    Level
    30
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 5

    Re: XBMC

    I have been using this for about a year. It is great for streaming music and video. You should google "tech3 xmbc builds". This guy does nightly builds with new and improved features. Also look into adding xbmc *******. I am not sure if it is included by default.

    I have noticed some issues with dvd playback with respect to things not seeming right or framing correctly on my television. This could just be my tv though.



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 81,388, Level: 88
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ames, Born and Raised
    Posts
    8,423
    Points
    81,388
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: XBMC

    Quote Originally Posted by bstegs View Post
    I have been using this for about a year. It is great for streaming music and video. You should google "tech3 xmbc builds". This guy does nightly builds with new and improved features. Also look into adding xbmc *******. I am not sure if it is included by default.

    I have noticed some issues with dvd playback with respect to things not seeming right or framing correctly on my television. This could just be my tv though.
    I'm using a t3ch build as of a week ago or so. So far the only problems I've run into have been a result of a bad rip or a bad AVI file.

    I assume the ****** is S_cripts, I haven't looked into that much yet, but the build I'm using has things like youtube viewer, last.fm, and a handful of other things, including Tetris! haha

    It's very nice to not have to worry about getting out a dvd, especially since mine are all downstairs, when I want to watch a movie or tv show. So far I've got about 60 movies and probably 15+ tv seasons of a handful of shows ripped and I've only used about 150gb of my 1tb drive.


    It's Bushbama!

    2 time Chupacabra of Humor Award Recipient

    Quote Originally Posted by joefrog
    I will admit, I am to blame in sometimes making mountains out of molehills.

  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 387,713, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,014
    Points
    387,713
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 773
    Given: 616

    Re: XBMC

    Ah so you have to get a mod chip. Hmmm.. will have to think on that. Dont have that cash handy.



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 63,248, Level: 77
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,474
    Points
    63,248
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: XBMC

    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    Ah so you have to get a mod chip. Hmmm.. will have to think on that. Dont have that cash handy.
    No, you can soft mod it for "free" (though you'll need a couple of things - an exploitable game, and a savegame on a memory card).

    I use XBMC, and it's pretty freaking sweet.



  9. #9
    Rookie
    Points: 8,727, Level: 27
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 23
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    conmebol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    419
    Points
    8,727
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4
    Given: 10

    Re: XBMC

    That's the only use for my 2 xboxes, playing media with xbmc. It's great, although I only put 250gb hard drive on each of those boxes. It seems adequate for me.



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 81,388, Level: 88
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ames, Born and Raised
    Posts
    8,423
    Points
    81,388
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: XBMC

    I softmodded mine, cost me about $3 for a used copy of splinter cell, $5 for a memory card, and about 10 minutes. Best part is it's completely reversable if you so choose. I also bought a controller extension cable and frankensteined it into an Xbox -> Usb cable so I didn't need to buy an Action Replay to transfer the save files onto the memory card.


    It's Bushbama!

    2 time Chupacabra of Humor Award Recipient

    Quote Originally Posted by joefrog
    I will admit, I am to blame in sometimes making mountains out of molehills.

  11. #11
    Rookie
    Points: 10,463, Level: 30
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    548
    Points
    10,463
    Level
    30
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 5

    Re: XBMC

    I have struggled to get most ******* working. I think that it may be due to my router. I currently run one xbox through a buffalo wireless router which I flashed with an open source firmware so that it acts as a wireless-to-ethernet bridge. I have a second box wired to my router in my bedroom.

    You don't need a game to soft mod. You can do what is called a hot swap. It is kind of tricky but the gist is that you open up the xbox and plug the hard drive into you computer while running an operating system off of a cd. This to me was the easiest method.



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 81,388, Level: 88
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 562
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Ames, Born and Raised
    Posts
    8,423
    Points
    81,388
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: XBMC

    If only they could get XBMC working with the 360, then it'd be powerful enough to handle hd movies easily.


    It's Bushbama!

    2 time Chupacabra of Humor Award Recipient

    Quote Originally Posted by joefrog
    I will admit, I am to blame in sometimes making mountains out of molehills.

  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 387,713, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,014
    Points
    387,713
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 773
    Given: 616

    Re: XBMC

    Quote Originally Posted by bstegs View Post
    I have struggled to get most ******* working. I think that it may be due to my router. I currently run one xbox through a buffalo wireless router which I flashed with an open source firmware so that it acts as a wireless-to-ethernet bridge. I have a second box wired to my router in my bedroom.

    You don't need a game to soft mod. You can do what is called a hot swap. It is kind of tricky but the gist is that you open up the xbox and plug the hard drive into you computer while running an operating system off of a cd. This to me was the easiest method.

    If you have those directions, please forward them.



  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 63,248, Level: 77
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,474
    Points
    63,248
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: XBMC

    Quote Originally Posted by bstegs View Post
    I have struggled to get most ******* working. I think that it may be due to my router. I currently run one xbox through a buffalo wireless router which I flashed with an open source firmware so that it acts as a wireless-to-ethernet bridge. I have a second box wired to my router in my bedroom.

    You don't need a game to soft mod. You can do what is called a hot swap. It is kind of tricky but the gist is that you open up the xbox and plug the hard drive into you computer while running an operating system off of a cd. This to me was the easiest method.
    If you've ever softmodded with a game, I can assure you that it's WAY easier than opening the box up. WAY easier.



  15. #15
    Legend
    Points: 387,713, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    24,014
    Points
    387,713
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 773
    Given: 616

    Re: XBMC

    Im oblivious to this whole thing. Is there a list of games that work? And do you mean the memory card that you put in the controller?



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.tv
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Mississippi Valley State
  • December 31, 2014
  • 06:00 PM