Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: Rules question

  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 177,318, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    snowcraig2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    7,382
    Points
    177,318
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 436
    Given: 75

    Rules question

    Not sure which forum this belongs, but I have a question for those in the know about basketball rules.

    We were playing a rec league game the other day, and had this situation arise. On a rebound, one of the offensive players tipped the ball out, and it rolled past half court. The rebounder never gained possession of the ball, he just tipped it out. Is this over and back?



  2. #2
    Pro
    Points: 101,674, Level: 99
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 1,376
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    khaal53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,458
    Points
    101,674
    Level
    99
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 54
    Given: 0

    Re: Rules question

    Yes, it is.



  3. #3
    Speechless
    Points: 352,413, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    isucyfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    19,865
    Points
    352,413
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 83
    Given: 1

    Re: Rules question

    Quote Originally Posted by snowcraig2.0 View Post
    Not sure which forum this belongs, but I have a question for those in the know about basketball rules.

    We were playing a rec league game the other day, and had this situation arise. On a rebound, one of the offensive players tipped the ball out, and it rolled past half court. The rebounder never gained possession of the ball, he just tipped it out. Is this over and back?
    Not a ref or anything, but I believe this would be over and back.

    Just like if a pass deflected off one of our players and into the backcourt, this would be over and back.

    Not sure, though...good question.


    Forever trying to find a cure for the Dunning-Kruger Effect.

  4. #4
    Pro
    Points: 37,162, Level: 59
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 688
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    wonkadog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    3,384
    Points
    37,162
    Level
    59
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 83
    Given: 107

    Re: Rules question

    My interpretation is that once a shot goes up, team possession is lost, thus since team possession was never regained again (the tip does not constitute regaining team possession), this would not be over-and-back.



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 177,318, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    snowcraig2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    7,382
    Points
    177,318
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 436
    Given: 75

    Re: Rules question

    I always understood after the ball hits the rim, that it is a loose ball. That's why the shot clock resets. It's definitely a tough one. I tried to look it up on the interweb, but couldn't find anything about it.



  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 37,162, Level: 59
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 688
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    wonkadog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    3,384
    Points
    37,162
    Level
    59
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 83
    Given: 107

    Re: Rules question

    It doesn't matter if the ball hits the rim, if the officials deem that it is a shot attempt, that marks the end of team possession.



  7. #7
    Speechless
    Points: 352,413, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    isucyfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    19,865
    Points
    352,413
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 83
    Given: 1

    Re: Rules question

    A friend of mine refs college ball here in the Twin Cities...I'll email him and see what he says.


    Forever trying to find a cure for the Dunning-Kruger Effect.

  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 177,318, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    snowcraig2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    7,382
    Points
    177,318
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 436
    Given: 75

    Re: Rules question

    Quote Originally Posted by wonkadog View Post
    It doesn't matter if the ball hits the rim, if the officials deem that it is a shot attempt, that marks the end of team possession.
    Yeah, that's what I meant.



  9. #9
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 39,178, Level: 61
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 1,172
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    cloneu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Twin Cities
    Posts
    4,171
    Points
    39,178
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 26
    Given: 22

    Re: Rules question

    Quote Originally Posted by wonkadog View Post
    It doesn't matter if the ball hits the rim, if the officials deem that it is a shot attempt, that marks the end of team possession.
    But why does the shot clock not reset on an airball? I have not played to much organized ball so rules aren't my thing, but I would say it is over and back.


    Step 1: Cut a hole in the box.

  10. #10
    Pro
    Points: 101,674, Level: 99
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 1,376
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    khaal53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,458
    Points
    101,674
    Level
    99
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 54
    Given: 0

    Re: Rules question

    Over and back is called off of last touch. Say your teammate made a pass, a defender tipped it, followed by a tip from you or another teammate and then the ball went over half court. Over and back.



  11. #11
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 76,419, Level: 85
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 131
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    4429 mcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wall Street
    Posts
    4,402
    Points
    76,419
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Rules question

    Quote Originally Posted by wonkadog View Post
    It doesn't matter if the ball hits the rim, if the officials deem that it is a shot attempt, that marks the end of team possession.
    This is correct



  12. #12
    Pro
    Points: 37,162, Level: 59
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 688
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    wonkadog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    3,384
    Points
    37,162
    Level
    59
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 83
    Given: 107

    Re: Rules question

    Quote Originally Posted by khaal53 View Post
    Over and back is called off of last touch. Say your teammate made a pass, a defender tipped it, followed by a tip from you or another teammate and then the ball went over half court. Over and back.
    You are right but this situation isn't the same. No team control is established after the shot goes up in this situation (picture it just being a "jump ball"). It doesn't matter who tips it around in this case, no team has secured team possession until someone actually grabs the ball...tipping doesn't count.



  13. #13
    Addict
    Points: 177,318, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    snowcraig2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    7,382
    Points
    177,318
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 436
    Given: 75

    Re: Rules question

    Quote Originally Posted by cloneu View Post
    But why does the shot clock not reset on an airball? I have not played to much organized ball so rules aren't my thing, but I would say it is over and back.
    The shot clock does not reset on an airball. But, the same player can rebound their own airball, as the player is viewed to have lost possession of the ball, and long as it is a legit shot attempt.



  14. #14
    Pro
    Points: 101,674, Level: 99
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 1,376
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    khaal53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,458
    Points
    101,674
    Level
    99
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 54
    Given: 0

    Re: Rules question

    I think you may be right. But the offense also doesn't have clear posession when the defense tips the ball in the passing scenario, either.



  15. #15
    Pro
    Points: 37,162, Level: 59
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 688
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    wonkadog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    3,384
    Points
    37,162
    Level
    59
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 83
    Given: 107

    Re: Rules question

    Exactly, the crowd would go nuts if a player ever caught their own shot but it's completely within the rules and wouldn't be travelling.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FOX
  • Iowa State vs. Baylor
  • September 27, 2014
  • 07:20 PM