Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Starter
    Points: 23,330, Level: 46
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cowboycurtis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    913
    Points
    23,330
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 45
    Given: 8

    Need help with a wireless bridge!

    The situation: I have wireless internet in my office building about 50 yards from my house. Internet works great over there. I have PS3 in the house and I bring the laptop over sometimes. The internet in the house is slow and has a bad connection that I lose sometimes.

    The office has a Netgear range max router. I have an extra router, D-link DI-524, that i would like to use in the bridge if possible.

    Could somebody please help me out with this. I am not real good with computers but I know enough to hurt myself and probably a few others standing nearby!



  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 406,135, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 70.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    60,551
    Points
    406,135
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 796
    Given: 528

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    String a wireless booster out about 50 ft into your yard and hope for good weather.

    (Just joking - there should be a way to pick it up from 50 yards. Will they let you hardwire it? It is official business.)


    Let my Fred's Posse Ride: Georges, Naz, Hogue, Bryce, Nader, Monte, Matt, and McKay.

  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 387,504, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,979
    Points
    387,504
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 742
    Given: 557

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    A bridge would essentially bridge the gap, but you would still have connectivity issues to contend with between the access point and the bridge. I would look for a signal amplifier or larger antenna



  4. #4
    Starter
    Points: 23,330, Level: 46
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cowboycurtis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    913
    Points
    23,330
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 45
    Given: 8

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesley View Post
    String a wireless booster out about 50 ft into your yard and hope for good weather.

    (Just joking - there should be a way to pick it up from 50 yards. Will they let you hardwire it? It is official business.)

    I dont think I can hardwire it. The PS3 is wireless only. And i Dont feel like digging a trench 50 yards in frozen ground and burying an ethernet cable



  5. #5
    Starter
    Points: 23,330, Level: 46
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cowboycurtis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    913
    Points
    23,330
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 45
    Given: 8

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    A bridge would essentially bridge the gap, but you would still have connectivity issues to contend with between the access point and the bridge. I would look for a signal amplifier or larger antenna

    Is that all I need to do? I have asked a few computer nerds about this and have got the bridge answer. You guys tell me. I am in the dark when it comes to this stuff. I Put this range max router on(which took me about 12 hours and 57 phone calls to tech support) thinking that would solve it. It boosted my signal on the PS3 from 20 to 35% but is still SLOW. I feel the need, the need for speed.



  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 387,504, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,979
    Points
    387,504
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 742
    Given: 557

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    The bridge may have a better reception than the PS3 wireless antenna. Bridges arent too expensive so you could give it a shot. I bridge essentially just acts like your wireless adapter in a laptop, ps3 etc. You may very well be able to get away with the bridge.



  7. #7
    Pro
    Points: 47,255, Level: 67
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 1,095
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Cy Hard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Urbandale
    Posts
    2,635
    Points
    47,255
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 215
    Given: 69

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    Have you checked going to a Comp USA store near you. With them going out of business there are some really cheap stuff, but it'd be a crapshoot if you can find what you need.


    Cyclone
    Iowa State became the Cyclones after they leveled Northwestern in 1895. As the Chicago Tribune (9/29/1895) noted:
    'Struck by a Cyclone
    It Comes from Iowa and Devastates Evanston Town'

  8. #8
    Starter
    Points: 23,330, Level: 46
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cowboycurtis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    913
    Points
    23,330
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 45
    Given: 8

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    The bridge may have a better reception than the PS3 wireless antenna. Bridges arent too expensive so you could give it a shot. I bridge essentially just acts like your wireless adapter in a laptop, ps3 etc. You may very well be able to get away with the bridge.

    Thanks for the help so far! Now, where do I start? How do you get the two routers to communicate with each other?



  9. #9
    Starter
    Points: 23,330, Level: 46
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cowboycurtis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    913
    Points
    23,330
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 45
    Given: 8

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    Quote Originally Posted by Cy Hard View Post
    Have you checked going to a Comp USA store near you. With them going out of business there are some really cheap stuff, but it'd be a crapshoot if you can find what you need.
    I was hoping i could use thre routers i have if possible but I will keep that in mind if i need something. Thanks.



  10. #10
    Legend
    Points: 387,504, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,979
    Points
    387,504
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 742
    Given: 557

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    Quote Originally Posted by cowboycurtis View Post
    Thanks for the help so far! Now, where do I start? How do you get the two routers to communicate with each other?
    There will be directions for the bridge. You just connect it to your business network and use the included software cd.

    As for using an extra access point/router, you will have to get into the router and configure it a bridge, otherwise it wont work. Look on the manuf website for more info.



  11. #11
    Starter
    Points: 23,330, Level: 46
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 220
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cowboycurtis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    913
    Points
    23,330
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 45
    Given: 8

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    Quote Originally Posted by bostinelosd View Post
    There will be directions for the bridge. You just connect it to your business network and use the included software cd.

    As for using an extra access point/router, you will have to get into the router and configure it a bridge, otherwise it wont work. Look on the manuf website for more info.

    I dont under stand your first statement. The directions for what? the router that is currently working? I thought the bridge was just 2 router communicating?



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 126,837, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    tim_redd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    7,471
    Points
    126,837
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 150
    Given: 76

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!


  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 387,504, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,979
    Points
    387,504
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 742
    Given: 557

    Re: Need help with a wireless bridge!

    Quote Originally Posted by cowboycurtis View Post
    I dont under stand your first statement. The directions for what? the router that is currently working? I thought the bridge was just 2 router communicating?

    Well at first I thought you were going to buy a bridge. But then you mentioned having an additional router. A router cant bridge a connection without being told to do so.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. West Virginia
  • November 29, 2014
  • 11:00 AM