Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33
  1. #1
    Lost in Eastern Iowa
    Points: 265,899, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures
    rworkman83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Boone & Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    18,372
    Points
    265,899
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 118
    Given: 122

    Setting up a Wireless Network

    I'm trying to set up a wireless network in my apartment as some people in my building are stealing my internet and it is slowing my connection down.

    I have a D-Link 802.11g/2.4 GHz Wireless Router. When I follow the direction in the box, when I go to the ip area, the username and password they tell me to put in don't work.

    Any of the tech people here know anyway that I can get this up and running?

    Thanks in advance!


    43-54 Record in CF Mafia. The most games played and wins by any player in Cyclone Fanatic History. Yes, I'm a nerd.

  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 126,837, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    tim_redd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    7,471
    Points
    126,837
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 150
    Given: 76

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Some wise guy probably has already changed the default password. Reset the router to factory defaults and start over.



  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 387,504, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,979
    Points
    387,504
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 742
    Given: 557

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by tim_redd View Post
    Some wise guy probably has already changed the default password. Reset the router to factory defaults and start over.

    Im betting this as well. There should be a pin hole on the back or bottom to reset it.



  4. #4
    Lost in Eastern Iowa
    Points: 265,899, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures
    rworkman83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Boone & Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    18,372
    Points
    265,899
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 118
    Given: 122

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by tim_redd View Post
    Some wise guy probably has already changed the default password. Reset the router to factory defaults and start over.
    That sounds like a good idea, but I can't find anywhere on the wireless router to reset it. There is no on/off switch either, I just have to unplug the power cord.


    43-54 Record in CF Mafia. The most games played and wins by any player in Cyclone Fanatic History. Yes, I'm a nerd.

  5. #5
    Legend
    Points: 387,504, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,979
    Points
    387,504
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 742
    Given: 557

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by rworkman83 View Post
    That sounds like a good idea, but I can't find anywhere on the wireless router to reset it. There is no on/off switch either, I just have to unplug the power cord.

    Aw, I bet there is a pin hole somewhere. You may want to go to Dlinks website and look for reset directions. What model is it?



  6. #6
    Starter
    Points: 13,192, Level: 34
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 158
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    SlyCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    North Liberty, Iowa
    Posts
    804
    Points
    13,192
    Level
    34
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Is there a way to tell if someone else is using your network besides noticing it is slow?



  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 110,774, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUKyro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    10,012
    Points
    110,774
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 240
    Given: 670

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    When you find the reset pin you may have to hold it down with a pen for 10-20 seconds or something like that to do a complete reset. (at least I know it works with Linksys stuff)
    Then set up a new Wireless SSID (the name of your net work), and then set up a password, and then to make it even better select 'Dissable SSID Broadcast' and that will make it so others don't see your network name on the list when they search for networks. :)



  8. #8
    Rookie
    Points: 12,861, Level: 34
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 489
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    578
    Points
    12,861
    Level
    34
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by SlyCy View Post
    Is there a way to tell if someone else is using your network besides noticing it is slow?
    If you type in your default gateway IP in your browser it will take you to your router page. You can get your default gateway by going to your command prompt in accessories and type in ipconfig. when you get to the router page there may be something on there to find who is using your connection. On my page I can click a tab that says attached devices to figure out who's on the network! I doubt yours will be exactly the same but it may help!



  9. #9
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,832, Level: 63
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,118
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central US
    Posts
    3,689
    Points
    41,832
    Level
    63
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 59
    Given: 1

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by SlyCy View Post
    Is there a way to tell if someone else is using your network besides noticing it is slow?
    In your router you should be able to see who is connected or used a dhcp address. If you are really concerned about this you should do the following:

    1. Reset your router like above
    2. Go in a change your username/password or at least password
    3. Change your ssid to something cool like "hawks_Suck" or "Click_4_Virus" OR Disable SSID Broadcasting all together.
    4. Secure your network with WPA2 or at least wep 128bit encryption.
    5. Write down your passphrase and username and password somewhere were its safe in case you need it again.
    6. If you really want to lock down a network you use MAC filtering, but I you do the steps above you should be cool.

    I personally like to change my ssid every once in a great while just to be a dork. My network only reaches 2 neighbors and that is with one bar connection though. Its fun to see the neighbors reaction to some of my titles.



  10. #10
    Lost in Eastern Iowa
    Points: 265,899, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures
    rworkman83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Boone & Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    18,372
    Points
    265,899
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 118
    Given: 122

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by SlyCy View Post
    Is there a way to tell if someone else is using your network besides noticing it is slow?
    When I go into my network section of Windows, I have four computers listed in there that aren't mine...that's how I figured it out...

    I found my reset thing, now I just need to find something that will fit in the hole....


    43-54 Record in CF Mafia. The most games played and wins by any player in Cyclone Fanatic History. Yes, I'm a nerd.

  11. #11
    Legend
    Points: 110,774, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUKyro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    10,012
    Points
    110,774
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 240
    Given: 670

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by HandSanitizer View Post
    I
    I personally like to change my ssid every once in a great while just to be a dork.
    Cool to know I wasn't the only one that did this.



  12. #12
    Legend
    Points: 387,504, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,979
    Points
    387,504
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 742
    Given: 557

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Usually there is a list of clients listed on the access points config page. Thats how you can tell.



  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 110,774, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUKyro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    10,012
    Points
    110,774
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 240
    Given: 670

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by rworkman83 View Post
    I found my reset thing, now I just need to find something that will fit in the hole....
    A small ball-point pen, or a bent paper clip are the some that I use most.

    A thumb tack works good too.



  14. #14
    Legend
    Points: 387,504, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,979
    Points
    387,504
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 742
    Given: 557

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUKyro View Post
    Cool to know I wasn't the only one that did this.

    I dont broadcast my ssid. That helps. Also use mac address filtering. Havent had anyone in yet.



  15. #15
    Legend
    Points: 110,774, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUKyro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    10,012
    Points
    110,774
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 240
    Given: 670

    Re: Setting up a Wireless Network

    I dissable the broadcast and just have it for a name of the network really. So I'm the only one seeing my true level of nerdiness (acutally a word??)



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. West Virginia
  • November 29, 2014
  • 11:00 AM