A/V Cables
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: A/V Cables

  1. #1
    Speechless
    Points: 343,792, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 34.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUFan22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    32,651
    Points
    343,792
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 595
    Given: 365

    A/V Cables

    Going to get a 50ft A/V cable from MonoPrice. Finally getting the TV downstairs hooked up to the DirecTV box from upstairs.

    50FT Triple RCA Stereo Video Dubbing Composite Cable (3 x RG59U) | RCA Composite Cable

    I do want to run along side it a cable that will carry HD signal. Probably at least a year or two before we'll get a different TV for that room, but may as well run the cable for it while I'm at it. Not too interested in running HDMI that far as it won't be cheap ($50 for 50ft).

    Is component the next best option?

    50FT 5-RCA Component Video/Audio Coaxial Cable (RG-59/U) | 5-RCA Component Video Cable


    Last edited by ISUFan22; 01-26-2008 at 02:35 PM.

  2. #2
    Walk On Achievements:
    SocialVeteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    I'm a nomad.
    Posts
    224
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: A/V Cables

    Yeah, component is your only option if you want it to carry an HD signal. You may want to also run a digital audio cable along with the component as well.



  3. #3
    CF Founder
    Points: 240,663, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    Jeremy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Urbandale, IA
    Posts
    13,447
    Points
    240,663
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 416
    Given: 370

    Re: A/V Cables

    Yeah - I agree. For longer runs I've used component as well.


    A program isn't built on one player and it doesn't succeed because of one player, thus a program won't fail if it doesn't get that one player.

  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 56,837, Level: 73
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 213
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    guitarchitect7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6,318
    Points
    56,837
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: A/V Cables

    Are there units out there using DVI or HDMI cables for HD. I'm not sure what the recievers are coming with these days. I would imagine HDMI would be used since a lot of TVs are coming with them now.


    "You must try to generate happiness within yourself. If you aren't happy in one place, chances are you won't be happy anyplace." -- Ernie Banks



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 85,825, Level: 91
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 1,625
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    superdorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    6,949
    Points
    85,825
    Level
    91
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0

    Re: A/V Cables

    The DishNetwork ViP 622 and ViP 722 both have HDMI outs.



  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 210,064, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,934
    Points
    210,064
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 451
    Given: 657

    Re: A/V Cables

    HDMI and component for the HR20/HR21's Directv DVR's and both are live at the same tyime.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 72,226, Level: 83
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 924
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Bader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    4,454
    Points
    72,226
    Level
    83
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 66
    Given: 50

    Re: A/V Cables

    You can use S-Video as well if you want. I believe they both can carry 1080p signals. However, the general consensus is component is better than s-video



  8. #8
    Walk On Achievements:
    SocialVeteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    I'm a nomad.
    Posts
    224
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: A/V Cables

    Actually, S-Video can't carry HD signals. I believe they can only carry up to a 576i picture. They don't have the bandwith for an HD signal.



  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 343,792, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 34.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUFan22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    32,651
    Points
    343,792
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 595
    Given: 365

    Re: A/V Cables

    Thanks folks...that's what I thought - just wanted to make sure.

    Already have the 50ft cables on their way here. :)



  10. #10
    Walk On Achievements:
    SocialVeteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    I'm a nomad.
    Posts
    224
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: A/V Cables

    You gotta love monoprice! I'm amazed when I go into a place like Best Buy and see how much money people waste on buying their cables from them.



  11. #11
    Speechless
    Points: 454,613, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    39,934
    Points
    454,613
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 392
    Given: 49

    Re: A/V Cables

    So you are going to use a composite cable as a component cable? What are you going to do for audio?


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  12. #12
    Speechless
    Points: 343,792, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 34.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUFan22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    32,651
    Points
    343,792
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 595
    Given: 365

    Re: A/V Cables

    The first cable I have linked is a standard A/V cable - will be used for now (on a 20" non-HDTV).

    The component cable will be used once we upgrade the TV in the basement to HD - won't be anytime soon but wanted to run both cables at the same time.



  13. #13
    Speechless
    Points: 343,792, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 34.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUFan22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    32,651
    Points
    343,792
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 595
    Given: 365

    Re: A/V Cables

    So, like a moron, I didn't even bother to think that I only needed one cable for my current/future needs.

    I didn't need a standard A/V cable when I could use the single-video (red) cable from the component cable and of course the 2 audio cables - leaving the green/blue video cables alone until we upgrade the TV.

    I've got a 50' standard A/V cable I don't need. At least I only paid $14 for that mistake. :)



  14. #14
    Speechless
    Points: 343,792, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 34.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUFan22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    32,651
    Points
    343,792
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 595
    Given: 365

    Re: A/V Cables

    I am looking for a connector to join 2 component cables together. I was a few feet short on my component cable.

    Searched monoprice and didn't find what I was looking for - may not have the correct name for it though.



  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 85,825, Level: 91
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 1,625
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    superdorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    6,949
    Points
    85,825
    Level
    91
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0

    Re: A/V Cables

    I think an RCA Female to Female should do the trick...



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.tv
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Mississippi Valley State
  • December 31, 2014
  • 06:00 PM