Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 45 of 45
  1. #31
    Pro
    Points: 48,191, Level: 67
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Burnsville, MN
    Posts
    3,010
    Points
    48,191
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 94
    Given: 19

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by snowcraig2.0 View Post
    Would I need that if I am running straight into the TV, not into a DTV receiver?
    I don't have anything like that. Try it without first and add if needed.



  2. #32
    All-Star
    Points: 33,842, Level: 56
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 408
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    TruClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Eldridge, IA
    Posts
    1,475
    Points
    33,842
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 120
    Given: 175

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    I got this after trying different "highly" rated outdoor/indoor antennas, http://www.amazon.com/Mohu-Leaf-Pape.../dp/B004QK7HI8

    It works fantastic and picks up a bunch of channels.



  3. #33
    Addict
    Points: 69,722, Level: 81
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 28
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    5,385
    Points
    69,722
    Level
    81
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 111
    Given: 112

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Directv sells a receiver for OTA that ties into your regular receiver, the AM21. I am not sure if you can install yourself or how it works but I think that is what you need to tie it into the system.



  4. #34
    Addict
    Points: 66,324, Level: 79
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 126
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Rural's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6,077
    Points
    66,324
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 275
    Given: 204

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Long story.

    I live in the sticks with a tower antenna right beside the house.

    We remodeled the house before we moved in and ran dual coax to five different spots in the house.

    In the pre-HD days we had the antenna and DirecTV taking up the two lines.

    When HD started being broadcast a local TV dealer sold us these little converter boxes for over the air signals.

    They worked great and the pictures were otherworldly. On top of it, we were pulling stations from all over (110 miles from DM and 140 from Ames) and they came in like they were next door. Also got all the .2, .3, etc options.

    Here's where it went south, decided to go whole hog and get DirecTV HD. The service guy showed up while I was gone and basically disabled the antenna by using both coax lines for DirecTV. It's been that way ever since.

    I've talked to both DirecTV and Dish people on different occasions and all say he shouldn't have done that (should have ran more lines). However, DirecTV, while saying he screwed up has also been unwilling to correct it.

    Any ideas on how I can restore those beautiful OTA pictures?



  5. #35
    Legend
    Points: 205,520, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jbhtexas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Arlington, TX
    Posts
    11,009
    Points
    205,520
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 313
    Given: 193

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by snowcraig2.0 View Post
    Would I need that if I am running straight into the TV, not into a DTV receiver?
    You shouldn't need anything special if you plan to connect right to the tuner on your TV, provided that your TV has an ATSC (HD) tuner. Some early flat screens didn't have HD tuners, but any more recent TVs should have an HD tuner.


    "Don't worry Boss...they can't do nothin' 'til they're through sparklin'..."

    Avatar - America's new superhero...Cenex Guy

  6. #36
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 110,349, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,200
    Points
    110,349
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 339
    Given: 361

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by ricochet View Post
    The SWM8 (which is what you have) does support off air signals but on the receiver end I'm pretty sure you need to use a diplexer and not a regular splitter. Also, not all diplexers are SWM compatible so you might want to google around a bit before buying anything.
    Quote Originally Posted by snowcraig2.0 View Post
    Would I need that if I am running straight into the TV, not into a DTV receiver?
    If you are not running to a directv receiver, you can just unhook the rooms needed for OTA from the DTV splitter and hook those to a different splitter. You wouldn't need a diplexer if you did that. I live in Marion, I could come by sometime and look at it with you. I'm not a real cable guy but I play one on TV. I have all the tools and stuff. I also stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night.


    Quote Originally Posted by nj829 View Post
    Directv sells a receiver for OTA that ties into your regular receiver, the AM21. I am not sure if you can install yourself or how it works but I think that is what you need to tie it into the system.
    I have an AM21 and it works great. In the past, you needed one for EACH TV that you wanted to receive OTA local channels on. Now, if you have a Genie, you only need to have one AM21 and the Genie will feed to all your receivers.


    Twitter: @JWD42

  7. #37
    Swarm & Punish
    Points: 290,586, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    keepngoal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    20,223
    Points
    290,586
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 641
    Given: 1,297

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by MNclone View Post
    Yes, most HD signals run in the range of the old UHF signals. Lips work great for UHF. I am 21 miles from signal and it is in the rafters of my garage so maybe 15 foot tops.
    can you point me in the direction of a picture or an article on this?


    The first and best victory is to conquer self; to be conquered by self is of all things most shameful and vile. - Plato

    May you only need 39 acres to turn your rig around. - keep

  8. #38
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 49,185, Level: 68
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 565
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    3,769
    Points
    49,185
    Level
    68
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 95
    Given: 13

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    So with the AM21 you still need an antenna correct?



  9. #39
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 110,349, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,200
    Points
    110,349
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 339
    Given: 361

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by wxman1 View Post
    So with the AM21 you still need an antenna correct?
    That is correct. Kind of irritating you need a separate box to receive OTAs with DTV but it is what it is. When I had Dish you could plug an antenna right into their box. Dish had its own problems, though. Like when they downgraded Disney channel to SD. What kind of self-respecting dad would let his kids watch that?


    Twitter: @JWD42

  10. #40
    Addict
    Points: 176,881, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    snowcraig2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    7,484
    Points
    176,881
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 508
    Given: 80

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by ruxCYtable View Post
    That is correct. Kind of irritating you need a separate box to receive OTAs with DTV but it is what it is. When I had Dish you could plug an antenna right into their box. Dish had its own problems, though. Like when they downgraded Disney channel to SD. What kind of self-respecting dad would let his kids watch that?
    I'd call dhs on them....



  11. #41
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 110,349, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,200
    Points
    110,349
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 339
    Given: 361

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by snowcraig2.0 View Post
    I'd call dhs on them....
    seriously though, pm me if you want me to stop by and check it out. let me know if i should pick up your kids on the way. :-)


    Twitter: @JWD42

  12. #42
    Addict
    Points: 176,881, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    snowcraig2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    7,484
    Points
    176,881
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 508
    Given: 80

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by ruxCYtable View Post
    seriously though, pm me if you want me to stop by and check it out. let me know if i should pick up your kids on the way. :-)
    oh crap, got to go.... :)

    did you use a pre-amp?



  13. #43
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 110,349, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,200
    Points
    110,349
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 339
    Given: 361

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    yep posted above


    Twitter: @JWD42

  14. #44
    Starter
    Points: 20,406, Level: 43
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 344
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    898
    Points
    20,406
    Level
    43
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 0

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by ruxCYtable View Post
    If you are not running to a directv receiver, you can just unhook the rooms needed for OTA from the DTV splitter and hook those to a different splitter. You wouldn't need a diplexer if you did that.
    This is true. It all depends on where the splitter between the SWM8 and receivers is. If you can get to it from the antenna directly that is better than using the SWM8 and diplexors. But if there is only one line off the roof to someplace inside (and you don't want to run another one) you have to use the SWM8 off air port and it will require a diplexor on the other end even if plugged directly into a TV.

    Quote Originally Posted by ruxCYtable View Post
    I have an AM21 and it works great. In the past, you needed one for EACH TV that you wanted to receive OTA local channels on. Now, if you have a Genie, you only need to have one AM21 and the Genie will feed to all your receivers.
    This brings up another issue. I don't think you can diplex an OTA feed and use the whole home Genie stuff over the same cable. You can do one or the other but not both. So to use a single AM21 I think you need a dedicated line from the off air antenna to the Genie. I don't personally use DirecTV's whole home solution so I'm basing this off of what I've heard and I certainly could be wrong.



  15. #45
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 110,349, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,200
    Points
    110,349
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 339
    Given: 361

    Re: OTA TV Antenna (roof top with Directv)

    Quote Originally Posted by ricochet View Post
    This is true. It all depends on where the splitter between the SWM8 and receivers is. If you can get to it from the antenna directly that is better than using the SWM8 and diplexors. But if there is only one line off the roof to someplace inside (and you don't want to run another one) you have to use the SWM8 off air port and it will require a diplexor on the other end even if plugged directly into a TV.



    This brings up another issue. I don't think you can diplex an OTA feed and use the whole home Genie stuff over the same cable. You can do one or the other but not both. So to use a single AM21 I think you need a dedicated line from the off air antenna to the Genie. I don't personally use DirecTV's whole home solution so I'm basing this off of what I've heard and I certainly could be wrong.
    It looks like from the pic above (although for some reason I can't blow it up and can only see the thumbnail) that the existing splitter is outside and easily accessible. If this is the case and he doesn't want the OTA signal going to any DTV receivers, a diplexer won't be needed.


    Twitter: @JWD42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Fox Sports Net
  • BASKETBALL: Iowa State vs. Alabama
  • November 24, 2014
  • 08:30 PM