Dish UHF Remotes
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Legend
    Points: 143,092, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,247
    Points
    143,092
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Dish UHF Remotes

    I have my Dish Network receiver connected to a TV in our living room and a second TV in the bedroom on the second floor. The UHF remote doesn't work well from the bedroom. I found a diagram on the Dish Network website that explains how to extend the range by "back-feeding" the remote signal into the home distribution but I'm a little confused by what's already there and what needs to be added. Can anyone explain this diagram to me?



  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 143,092, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,247
    Points
    143,092
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    Specifically, which components do I need to add and what is already there?



  3. #3
    Addict
    Points: 63,248, Level: 77
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,474
    Points
    63,248
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    You'll need the splitters and the diplexers.

    edit: Also, the 15db attenuator.


    Last edited by jumbopackage; 12-27-2007 at 05:40 PM.

  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 63,248, Level: 77
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,474
    Points
    63,248
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    To clarify: what it's doing is using "unused" capacity on the RG6 to diplex the UHF/VHF signal which has been "combined" with the splitter with the inbound RF from the LNBFs. It's then "un-diplexed" by the other diplexer and then "unsplit" by the splitter. Maybe someone with more signals experience can tell me why you'd need a 15 db attenuator, but I have a feeling it's something to do with distortion of the RF signal.

    This diagram probably wouldn't work if you had a directv HD system, since that "extra" capacity is used up now by the Ka-lo satellite signal.

    If you do this yourself, I HIGHLY recommend using quality compression connectors on all the cable splices. That diagram looks like a surefire way to dork up your satellite signal if not done right.

    editagain: Also, it makes a difference if you have a DPP or a DP lnb. If you have a DP, you will have two cables going to the DVR instead of 1 (or, if it's not a DVR, you will probably just have one). In the case of two cables, just pick one. In the case of one cable, just ignore the DPP separator.


    editsomemore: Do you have the two connected via a dedicated RG-59 or RG-6 cable? If so, you can probably ignore the diplexers, and just use the splitters and attenuator as in the picture I attached.


    Last edited by jumbopackage; 12-27-2007 at 05:48 PM. Reason: added picture

  5. #5
    Legend
    Points: 143,092, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,247
    Points
    143,092
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    After actually pulling out my receiver and looking at the wiring, I think it looks like this currently. So, I'm thinking I just need the splitters and attenuator. Does that sound right?



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 63,248, Level: 77
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,474
    Points
    63,248
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    After actually pulling out my receiver and looking at the wiring, I think it looks like this currently. So, I'm thinking I just need the splitters and attenuator. Does that sound right?
    Is it like that, or like this:

    If it's like this now, I'd say just get two splitters and the attenuator. It shouldn't be more than a few bucks worth of stuff.



  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 143,092, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,247
    Points
    143,092
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    There's a separator and diplexer right behind the receiver with one cable running outside. Then another diplexer outside with a cable running to the dish and another running to the TV upstairs. So, I think I just need the splitters and attenuator. So, is there some special splitter I need? And where does one pick up a 15 db attenuator? Would Radio Shack have both?

    On a different subject: I also have an over-the-air antenna and I'm running another cable into the house and the receiver for that. Can I combine that signal with the dish cable and then split it again at the receiver so I only have one cable running into the house? And if so, will that change this remote setup?



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 91,556, Level: 94
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,594
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CYdTracked's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    8,700
    Points
    91,556
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 8

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    A little off subject but does anyone ever have a problem with signals getting crossed up sometimes? I have a DVR receiver that runs the upstairs and downstairs TVs and a regular receiver that runs the 2 bedrooms. Every now and then the 2nd bedroom and the downstairs TVs (both are the 2nd TVs on the receivers) may have different channels on but say if you hit the guide button it will put the guide on both or switch channels. Doesn't do it all the time though.


    Go Cubs Go!

  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 63,248, Level: 77
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,474
    Points
    63,248
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    There's a separator and diplexer right behind the receiver with one cable running outside. Then another diplexer outside with a cable running to the dish and another running to the TV upstairs. So, I think I just need the splitters and attenuator. So, is there some special splitter I need? And where does one pick up a 15 db attenuator? Would Radio Shack have both?

    On a different subject: I also have an over-the-air antenna and I'm running another cable into the house and the receiver for that. Can I combine that signal with the dish cable and then split it again at the receiver so I only have one cable running into the house? And if so, will that change this remote setup?
    yes, you'd just need the splitters and the attenuator. I'd try it first without the attenuator, just to see what it does. Radio shack could at least point you in the right direction. Otherwise I'm sure you can find one online. RF Attenuator: RF online part for example.

    Well, since you're doing the "remote TV" thing, I don't think you'll be able to diplex both onto the same cable. If you didn't have the second TV hooked up, I'm sure you could.



  10. #10
    Legend
    Points: 143,092, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,247
    Points
    143,092
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 267
    Given: 175

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    I'll try that. Thanks for all of your help!



  11. #11
    Addict
    Points: 63,248, Level: 77
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    jumbopackage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5,474
    Points
    63,248
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 21
    Given: 10

    Re: Dish UHF Remotes

    No worries. Hope you get it sorted out! If nothing else, you'll have a much longer antennae.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.tv
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Mississippi Valley State
  • December 31, 2014
  • 06:00 PM