Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 4,732, Level: 20
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 318
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    264
    Points
    4,732
    Level
    20
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 64
    Given: 13

    Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    I have always been in Apartments where the Internet is provided. Looking at moving into a home and Internet/Cable packages. I see Mediacom has implemented a data cap on their service Do any of you have experience with this? I am not sure how much I would use in a month, I don't like the idea of having a cap with as much netflix as I use. Is 250GB enough?



  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 240,931, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 65.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsOverdriveVeteran
    Rabbuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    17,655
    Points
    240,931
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,444
    Given: 134

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    We didn't know about this till one month we hit 97% and it started warning us. If there is one of you you should be fine. This was amongst 4 of us.



  3. #3
    Speechless
    Points: 459,943, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    40,303
    Points
    459,943
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 634
    Given: 79

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    You can get a 1Tb cap. That is what we have. The overage fee is not really too bad either, $10 for 50G.

    Keep in mind CenturyLink has even lower caps, so there is not really much choice. Data caps are here to stay.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  4. #4
    Speechless
    Points: 353,371, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    ISUFan22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    33,322
    Points
    353,371
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,086
    Given: 626

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    Non-issue for vast majority of people. I haven't come close and we stream some movies - in addition to all of my hard drives being backed up daily to Backblaze. With a portrait studio - that is a lot of large files - no issues.



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 671,714, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    27,055
    Points
    671,714
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4,570
    Given: 510

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    It would take some effort to hit the cap, I stream constantly and download a fair amount and haven't come close yet.



  6. #6
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 55,737, Level: 73
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 1,313
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered50000 Experience Points
    roundball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3,562
    Points
    55,737
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,611
    Given: 1,709

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    250GB should be fine. The only time I've ever gotten a warning is when I downloaded a boatload of movies (in a completely legal manner, of course) one week. 250GB is half the size of my computer's hard disk.



  7. #7
    Speechless
    Points: 671,714, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    27,055
    Points
    671,714
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4,570
    Given: 510

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    You can get a 1Tb cap. That is what we have. The overage fee is not really too bad either, $10 for 50G.

    Keep in mind CenturyLink has even lower caps, so there is not really much choice. Data caps are here to stay.
    1Tb for residential? That sounds like overkill.



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 459,943, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    40,303
    Points
    459,943
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 634
    Given: 79

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    1Tb for residential? That sounds like overkill.
    Came with the plan when we got 50M internet. We don't come anywhere near it.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 240,931, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 65.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsOverdriveVeteran
    Rabbuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    17,655
    Points
    240,931
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,444
    Given: 134

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    1Tb for residential? That sounds like overkill.
    maybe brian looks at a lot of "movies"



  10. #10
    Speechless
    Points: 671,714, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    27,055
    Points
    671,714
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4,570
    Given: 510

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    Came with the plan when we got 50M internet. We don't come anywhere near it.
    Oh I thought you meant you paid extra just for a 1Tb cap.



  11. #11
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 4,732, Level: 20
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 318
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    264
    Points
    4,732
    Level
    20
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 64
    Given: 13

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    I guess I have never really had an idea of how much I use with computers/TVs because I have never had services that monitors it besides for the cellular. Sounds like the 15mbps and 250gb will be plenty for a bachelor then, granted there is enough action around to keep me from the extra curricular "movies"



  12. #12
    All-Star
    Points: 32,863, Level: 55
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    tzjung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    1,176
    Points
    32,863
    Level
    55
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 225
    Given: 248

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    When I originally signed up with Mediacom, I orderd the 20Mb download plan and it came with unlimited bandiwdth. Last year...they modified my account (w/o letting us know), and they boosted my speed to the 30Mb plan but capped out data at 250GB. My wife and I hit the datacap after about 3 weeks (we mostly netflix / hulu for entertainment). Anyway...I was IRATE. I called Mediacom as they changed my contract w/o letting me know and it was going to cost me more in overages. Mediacom agreed that they f'd up and allowed me to upgrade to the 50Mb download plan with 999GB datacap for the same price I was paying. Since they made that modification for us, we have not hit our cap..although we have had months of over 700GB.

    What's crazy...is that I'm paying $75 / month for 50mb download & 5 mb upload

    My employee in KC is paying $70 / moth to Google and gets 1000mb download and 1000mb upload. I know this as a fact as he is a Telecommuter and thus we subsidize his internet bill and I approve it.

    I think I want to run as Governor, just so I can propose new Iowa Internet goals to either build an Iowa Municipality for internet to compete w/ these money grubbers or to help convince google to come to DSM!!!!



  13. #13
    Speechless
    Points: 459,943, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    40,303
    Points
    459,943
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 634
    Given: 79

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    Quote Originally Posted by tzjung View Post
    When I originally signed up with Mediacom, I orderd the 20Mb download plan and it came with unlimited bandiwdth. Last year...they modified my account (w/o letting us know), and they boosted my speed to the 30Mb plan but capped out data at 250GB. My wife and I hit the datacap after about 3 weeks (we mostly netflix / hulu for entertainment). Anyway...I was IRATE. I called Mediacom as they changed my contract w/o letting me know and it was going to cost me more in overages. Mediacom agreed that they f'd up and allowed me to upgrade to the 50Mb download plan with 999GB datacap for the same price I was paying. Since they made that modification for us, we have not hit our cap..although we have had months of over 700GB.

    What's crazy...is that I'm paying $75 / month for 50mb download & 5 mb upload

    My employee in KC is paying $70 / moth to Google and gets 1000mb download and 1000mb upload. I know this as a fact as he is a Telecommuter and thus we subsidize his internet bill and I approve it.

    I think I want to run as Governor, just so I can propose new Iowa Internet goals to either build an Iowa Municipality for internet to compete w/ these money grubbers or to help convince google to come to DSM!!!!
    Iowa has their own communications network already. It is a complete cluster, and massively overbuilt, with a huge loss to the taxpayers. All signed by the current governor.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  14. #14
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 55,737, Level: 73
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 1,313
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered50000 Experience Points
    roundball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3,562
    Points
    55,737
    Level
    73
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,611
    Given: 1,709

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    Quote Originally Posted by tzjung View Post
    I think I want to run as Governor, just so I can propose new Iowa Internet goals to either build an Iowa Municipality for internet to compete w/ these money grubbers or to help convince google to come to DSM!!!!
    Spencer has it's own municipal utility that offers internet.



  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 83,488, Level: 89
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 262
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    isufbcurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    5,167
    Points
    83,488
    Level
    89
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,271
    Given: 2,228

    Re: Mediacom Internet Data Cap?

    Quote Originally Posted by roundball View Post
    Spencer has it's own municipal utility that offers internet.
    I am pretty sure Cedar Falls does also



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.TV
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. UNI
  • September 5, 2015
  • 07:00 PM