Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 55
  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 173,034, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    9,663
    Points
    173,034
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 22

    Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    I saw on Facebook that there are people getting notices from Mediacom that they will begin a 250GB/mo cap starting 9/17. Didn't say if that was tied to a certain account type or what. Anyone else see this?



  2. #2
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 103,565, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,778
    Points
    103,565
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 44
    Given: 24

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Yep. They started phasing it in with new/renewed customers quite a while ago but now I think they're going to apply it to all residential customers. We signed a new two-year deal with them several months ago and it included a 250gb cap. As far as I know I haven't come close to going over so it's not a big deal to me.



  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 26,172, Level: 49
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 378
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album picturesVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Triggermv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Marion, IA
    Posts
    1,506
    Points
    26,172
    Level
    49
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 27
    Given: 26

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Just switched to IMON last week in Cedar Rapids and couldn't be more happy that I did. No limit there.


    Last edited by Triggermv; 08-30-2013 at 09:57 AM.

  4. #4
    Legend
    Points: 144,848, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    cybsball20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    12,620
    Points
    144,848
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 92
    Given: 15

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    I got the notice yesterday. I wonder if this is their effort to counteract people dropping cable and going completely web based.



    Follow me on Twitter at twitter.com/MarkHanrahan20

    Check out my blog
    http://markhanrahan.com

    and tune into "Extra Innings" Thursdays at 6pm on 1460kxno

  5. #5
    Swarm & Punish
    Points: 279,455, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    keepngoal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    18,937
    Points
    279,455
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 100

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Quote Originally Posted by ruxCYtable View Post
    Yep. They started phasing it in with new/renewed customers quite a while ago but now I think they're going to apply it to all residential customers. We signed a new two-year deal with them several months ago and it included a 250gb cap. As far as I know I haven't come close to going over so it's not a big deal to me.
    You can go over the 250gb limit for your monthly cost, so it isn't a cap. It does, however, cost $10/50gb there after.

    -keep


    The first and best victory is to conquer self; to be conquered by self is of all things most shameful and vile. - Plato

    May you only need 39 acres to turn your rig around. - keep

  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 31,903, Level: 54
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    iowast8fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    2,099
    Points
    31,903
    Level
    54
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 22
    Given: 7

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    how much video streaming will it take to go over that?



  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 130,277, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    Judoka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Timbuktu
    Posts
    10,134
    Points
    130,277
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 214
    Given: 158

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Quote Originally Posted by Triggermv View Post
    Just switched to IMON last week in Cedar Rapids and couldn't be more happy that I did. No limit there.
    Same here, the channel selection isn't as good (and lacks the Cyclones.TV channel). But I stream more than I watch TV and download a bunch of stuff so I'll take slightly less better TV selection for much better internet.



  8. #8
    Recruit
    Points: 2,400, Level: 13
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 50
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    85
    Points
    2,400
    Level
    13
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Quote Originally Posted by cybsball20 View Post
    I got the notice yesterday. I wonder if this is their effort to counteract people dropping cable and going completely web based.
    That's the exact reason....and all internet providers will be doing it here shortly



  9. #9
    Pro
    Points: 96,756, Level: 96
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 294
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    FDWxMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    2,142
    Points
    96,756
    Level
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 5
    Given: 5

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Quote Originally Posted by cybsball20 View Post
    I got the notice yesterday. I wonder if this is their effort to counteract people dropping cable and going completely web based.
    Yup.

    The people begging for "a la carte" should be more careful for what they wish for.

    $100 for cabletv, plus $50 for mediacom internet.

    In the hypothetical a la carte future,

    $0 for cable tv, $110 for high-speed internet (still probably capped), $35 for ESPN suite. $15 FoxSports suite...nbcsports....cbssports......BigXII network.....



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 96,326, Level: 96
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 724
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    huntt26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    po' dUnk
    Posts
    7,398
    Points
    96,326
    Level
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 18
    Given: 4

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    250 GB is still quite a bit, even if you stream/play games I would think. Do they have a way to monitor usage?



  11. #11
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 103,565, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,778
    Points
    103,565
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 44
    Given: 24

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Quote Originally Posted by iowast8fan View Post
    how much video streaming will it take to go over that?
    A rough estimate is about 1gb per hour so it would take quite a lot.



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 126,372, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    tim_redd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    7,303
    Points
    126,372
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 48
    Given: 25

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Now it will take me 12 months to fill my 3 tb hard drive with porn.



  13. #13
    Addict
    Points: 173,034, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    9,663
    Points
    173,034
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 22

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Quote Originally Posted by huntt26 View Post
    250 GB is still quite a bit, even if you stream/play games I would think. Do they have a way to monitor usage?
    Really? And no, 250GB isn't that much if you work from home, stream Netflix/Amazon Prime/etc, play online games, stream music...



  14. #14
    Hooper drives the boat, Chief
    Points: 582,488, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupVeteran50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second Class
    Mr Janny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21,054
    Points
    582,488
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 326
    Given: 21

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    the sooner Google Fiber gets here the better.


    "What a horrible night to have a curse."
    -Simon Belmont

    "Please bury me with all my stuff, because you know it's mine..."
    -Master Shake

    "Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood."
    -Lorem Ipsum

  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 96,326, Level: 96
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 724
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    huntt26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    po' dUnk
    Posts
    7,398
    Points
    96,326
    Level
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 18
    Given: 4

    Re: Mediacom bandwidth metering?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    Really? And no, 250GB isn't that much if you work from home, stream Netflix/Amazon Prime/etc, play online games, stream music...
    I mis-typed my question. Do WE have a way to monitor usage via Mediacom's website or a third party program? Obviously, Mediacom can track it.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM