Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 40,783, Level: 62
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 867
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tec71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    1,181
    Points
    40,783
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 44
    Given: 7

    Cable Modem Problems

    I have Mediacom Internet (yes I know that's my first problem). My cable comes out of the wall into a splitter. one goes to the cable modem and one goes to the tv on the desk. The tv constantly has "low signal strength" blackouts. The cable modem randomly goes from working to not working. It can sometimes be brought back to working by unplugging the modem and plugging it back in. Otherwise it has to sit there and it comes back on its own schedule. I've called Mediacom and they've been less than helpful. I've already exchanged my modem and the current (new) modem does the same thing that the old one does. Thoughts?


    "95% of all quotes posted on Facebook are either made up or mistakenly attributed to someone famous." - Albert Einstien


  2. #2
    All-Star
    Points: 32,434, Level: 55
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 616
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Agclone91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Carroll
    Posts
    1,869
    Points
    32,434
    Level
    55
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 116
    Given: 73

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Sounds like low signal strength coming into the house to me, not necessarily the modem. Is during peak times of the day or just at random?



  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 385,722, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,593
    Points
    385,722
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 412
    Given: 283

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Sounds like its not getting enough juice. Seems odd for it being basically a two way split. Guess you could try an amplifier..but you shouldnt have to for that small of a spread. Those jokers should come out and look at it.



  4. #4
    Speechless
    Points: 392,454, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    57,319
    Points
    392,454
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 334
    Given: 265

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Definitely run an amplifier where it comes in the house like Bos said. The one I have made a big difference.


    CFH HMagic bball season next year.
    Let my Fred's Four Horsemen ride: Georges, Hogue, Nader, and McKay.

  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 646,056, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,653
    Points
    646,056
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,355
    Given: 127

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    It's either split somewhere else, like in the basement, or the signal coming into your house is terrible. Go to the Mediacom twitter or the support forum and tell them what you're experiencing and they can check the signal levels of your modem.



  6. #6
    Speechless
    Points: 646,056, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,653
    Points
    646,056
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,355
    Given: 127

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    You don't want to run an amplifier on the line going to the modem, it'll just mess things up further. They do work for TV though.



  7. #7
    Addict
    Points: 180,261, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    9,875
    Points
    180,261
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 97
    Given: 101

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    It's either split somewhere else, like in the basement, or the signal coming into your house is terrible. Go to the Mediacom twitter or the support forum and tell them what you're experiencing and they can check the signal levels of your modem.
    This: @mediacomsupport



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 392,454, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    57,319
    Points
    392,454
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 334
    Given: 265

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    You don't want to run an amplifier on the line going to the modem, it'll just mess things up further. They do work for TV though.
    My cox cable amp works fine with my docs modem, which is a long ways away from the entry point.


    CFH HMagic bball season next year.
    Let my Fred's Four Horsemen ride: Georges, Hogue, Nader, and McKay.

  9. #9
    All-Star
    Points: 40,783, Level: 62
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 867
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tec71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    1,181
    Points
    40,783
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 44
    Given: 7

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    sorry it comes into the house in the basement and is split. I believe that there's an amplifier where it comes in the house. The split that runs to the office comes out of the wall in the office and is then split to the modem and tv.


    "95% of all quotes posted on Facebook are either made up or mistakenly attributed to someone famous." - Albert Einstien


  10. #10
    Speechless
    Points: 728,085, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 58.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Cyclonepride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    A pineapple under the sea
    Posts
    47,069
    Points
    728,085
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,080
    Given: 574

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    You lose signal every time it is split, and if it is shaky to begin with, that last split will kill it. Maybe run a separate line to one if that is feasible.



  11. #11
    Speechless
    Points: 646,056, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,653
    Points
    646,056
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,355
    Given: 127

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesley View Post
    My cox cable amp works fine with my docs modem, which is a long ways away from the entry point.
    There are some types that will work with a cable modem, but if you have to boost the signal to your modem, which is usually only split one time, then you should try to fix that problem first before you just start amplifying everything.



  12. #12
    Legend
    Points: 385,722, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,593
    Points
    385,722
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 412
    Given: 283

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesley View Post
    My cox cable amp works fine with my docs modem, which is a long ways away from the entry point.

    Cable companies hate amps to modems. Yours probably works fine but they like to limit another point of failure if they can for troubleshooting.



  13. #13
    Speechless
    Points: 646,056, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,653
    Points
    646,056
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,355
    Given: 127

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by tec71 View Post
    sorry it comes into the house in the basement and is split. I believe that there's an amplifier where it comes in the house. The split that runs to the office comes out of the wall in the office and is then split to the modem and tv.
    The fewer splits the better, although 2 splits shouldn't affect TV I wouldn't think, modems are more finicky. Like I said, go to the Mediacom Support Twitter or the forum and have them look at your signals, if they're out of whack they'll see it right away.



  14. #14
    All-Star
    Points: 40,783, Level: 62
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 867
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tec71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    1,181
    Points
    40,783
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 44
    Given: 7

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Now I'm officially old cause while I'm on twitter I don't know that I know how to go to Mediacom Support Twitter. I'll have to figure that out.


    "95% of all quotes posted on Facebook are either made up or mistakenly attributed to someone famous." - Albert Einstien


  15. #15
    Speechless
    Points: 646,056, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 38.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,653
    Points
    646,056
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,355
    Given: 127

    Re: Cable Modem Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by tec71 View Post
    Now I'm officially old cause while I'm on twitter I don't know that I know how to go to Mediacom Support Twitter. I'll have to figure that out.
    You can use the forum at mediacomcable.com too, I've had good results with it. Have to register an account first but it's not a big deal.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM