Mediacom Internet Issues
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Walk On
    Points: 8,185, Level: 27
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 565
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    tleonwdm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WDM
    Posts
    159
    Points
    8,185
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Mediacom Internet Issues

    Anyone else in DM/WDM area experiencing issues with Mediacom? Can't get through their phone lines but unsure if an outage or their typical response time.


    CycloneTom

  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 424,518, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    alarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    21,817
    Points
    424,518
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 894
    Given: 427

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Saw on another forum people were having DNS issues.

    Change your dns settings to google's DNS (8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4) and that should help (and if not, its generally a better option than mediacom's DNS servers anyways)



  3. #3
    Pro
    Points: 60,436, Level: 76
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 1,214
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures50000 Experience PointsVeteranSocial
    geburgess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    WDSM, IA
    Posts
    2,382
    Points
    60,436
    Level
    76
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Yeah, I am in WDM. Luckily I have class @ Drake tonight and can get on from here.


    Keepers of the Faith -- The Unknown



  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 27,288, Level: 50
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 262
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album picturesVeteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Urbandale
    Posts
    1,392
    Points
    27,288
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 214
    Given: 136

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Some sites work in Urbandale, like Yahoo, CF and Amazon are not reachable.



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 81,239, Level: 88
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 711
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    tigershoops31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    5,412
    Points
    81,239
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 17
    Given: 68

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Thanks this worked for me. Ours was out in Ames. Every Mediacom # I called I got a straight busy signal. I can honestly not remember the last time I've heard an actual busy signal. They must be having major problems...


    Quote Originally Posted by alarson View Post
    Saw on another forum people were having DNS issues.

    Change your dns settings to google's DNS (8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4) and that should help (and if not, its generally a better option than mediacom's DNS servers anyways)



    Im just glad I have Homan as my bodyguard, Eustachy joked. If I ever make it real big and get to drive a limo everyday, hell be driving it. I thought he came off the bench like somebody was stealing his cow or something.

    http://blogs.dmjuice.com/?cat=43

  6. #6
    Recruit
    Points: 8,800, Level: 28
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 550
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    5000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    113
    Points
    8,800
    Level
    28
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    https://twitter.com/mediacomsupport/...18313089433600

    For as miserable as their service/support is, they do a good job on the Twitter.



  7. #7
    All-Star
    Points: 19,341, Level: 42
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 509
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Grimes
    Posts
    1,235
    Points
    19,341
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 32
    Given: 14

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Grimes was out for an hour. now up and going



  8. #8
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 51,579, Level: 70
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 971
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    CyclonesRule's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    3,774
    Points
    51,579
    Level
    70
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 10

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    I was having issues in WDM as well, but all appears to be okay now.



  9. #9
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 10,524, Level: 30
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    downtown Des Moines
    Posts
    300
    Points
    10,524
    Level
    30
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 45

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    southside Des Moines was out but is now good to go... I hate not knowing if there are issues or not. Yesterday they changed the name of my wireless connection (& password) with no notice.. Is that common? I moved my internet from Qwest to Mediacom (was paying $40/mo for 1.5 mbps not getting 15 mbps for $25!!!) I have always hated mediacom but I like the increase in speed (when it works!)



  10. #10
    Speechless
    Points: 734,998, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 35.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Cyclonepride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    A pineapple under the sea
    Posts
    49,080
    Points
    734,998
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,188
    Given: 1,041

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    I was having problems in Indianola on my iPad, but thought it might be my extender. I'll have to check it out.



  11. #11
    Walk On
    Points: 8,185, Level: 27
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 565
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    tleonwdm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    WDM
    Posts
    159
    Points
    8,185
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 1

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by alarson View Post
    Saw on another forum people were having DNS issues.

    Change your dns settings to google's DNS (8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4) and that should help (and if not, its generally a better option than mediacom's DNS servers anyways)

    THANKS!


    CycloneTom

  12. #12
    Pro
    Points: 68,595, Level: 81
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 1,155
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    cloneswereall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,367
    Points
    68,595
    Level
    81
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 101
    Given: 5

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Pretty sure this was widespread. Waterloo also couldn't connect to anything.


    He who makes a beast of himself gets rid of the pain of being a man.

  13. #13
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 62,805, Level: 77
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 445
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    aauummm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    On the road again
    Posts
    3,894
    Points
    62,805
    Level
    77
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 134
    Given: 1,358

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by tleonwdm View Post
    Anyone else in DM/WDM area experiencing issues with Mediacom? Can't get through their phone lines but unsure if an outage or their typical response time.
    DNS server issues for the last hour or so here in Altoona. All is well now.




    Jamie's Fine for Helping Children:
    https://www.unitypoint.org/desmoines...-donation.aspx

  14. #14
    Speechless
    Points: 424,518, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    alarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    21,817
    Points
    424,518
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 894
    Given: 427

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by cloneswereall View Post
    Pretty sure this was widespread. Waterloo also couldn't connect to anything.
    It was. Mediacom's social media account said it was happening all over.



  15. #15
    Pro
    Points: 101,661, Level: 99
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 1,389
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranCreated Album pictures
    Senolcyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3,205
    Points
    101,661
    Level
    99
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 99
    Given: 25

    Re: Mediacom Internet Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Pat View Post
    https://twitter.com/mediacomsupport/...18313089433600

    For as miserable as their service/support is, they do a good job on the Twitter.

    Announcing internet outages on the internet is brilliant.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.tv
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Mississippi Valley State
  • December 31, 2014
  • 06:00 PM