Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

question for construction/carpenter contractors

what is an acceptable margin of error on a job estimate? i fear i have underbid a job and i am kind of new to this gig. it is only a $2000 job, but its looking more like it will be about $2,400. it was a completely one of a kind job though so it was inherently difficult to estimate. is that grounds for a ****** off costumer?

granted, the last project if did for this client, i overbid and sent him home with a smaller bill. much smaller job though.

All-Star
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 754
    Achievements:
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 2

Re: question for construction/carpenter contractors

Has the project started? If not, I don't think it's unreasonable to approach the owner and be candid about the actual costs and ask if they still want to proceed.

If the agreement has been struck as a guaranteed lump sum, I would stick by the original proposal, but inform the owner of the actual costs, but in the interest of providing good service, you'll stick with the proposal. In my experience, when done correctly, that approach can garner a lot of good will and likely lead to future work.

All-Star
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 82
    Given: 49

I bid jobs on a regular basis. sometimes during the course of construction you run into things that just can't be foreseen at the time of your initial estimate/bid. As long as you can reasonably explain the additional cost, It shouldn't be a problem. Now, if you just made a poor bid from the get go, then that's a different story.

Speechless
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive