Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: The Hopper

  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 19,045, Level: 42
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 805
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Grimes
    Posts
    1,202
    Points
    19,045
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 19
    Given: 9

    The Hopper

    I have the Hopper and need to add a tv. I have 3 Joeys with one close to the tv I want to add. Can I split the signal and add the other tv? It's in a workout room, I totally forgot about adding it? Thanks for the help.



  2. #2
    Prospect
    Points: 7,007, Level: 24
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 43
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    64
    Points
    7,007
    Level
    24
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

  3. #3
    Pro
    Points: 84,705, Level: 90
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 845
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Tailg8er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    2,924
    Points
    84,705
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 190
    Given: 650

    Re: The Hopper

    I have a roommate who installs them. When installing ours he said he wasn't supposed to, but he split off of one of our Joey's to another tv. Not sure what he used to do it, but I'll try to find out.



  4. #4
    Starter
    Points: 10,642, Level: 31
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 608
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    TRZA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    West Side of Des Moines
    Posts
    819
    Points
    10,642
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 45
    Given: 0

    Re: The Hopper

    The dingo might eat your baby.



  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 111,490, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,115
    Points
    111,490
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 275
    Given: 305

    Re: The Hopper

    I didn't have the hopper but when I had dish I split one box between two TVs and then bought an extra wireless remote for the 2nd TV. Dish's wireless remotes are the bomb. DirecTV's wireless remotes suck ***.



  6. #6
    Starter
    Points: 40,149, Level: 61
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 201
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Trice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    941
    Points
    40,149
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 38
    Given: 4

    Re: The Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by IceCyIce View Post
    I have the Hopper and need to add a tv. I have 3 Joeys with one close to the tv I want to add. Can I split the signal and add the other tv? It's in a workout room, I totally forgot about adding it? Thanks for the help.
    I have a similar scenario. I have a DirecTV DVR in a home theater setup against one wall. On the other side of the wall is a workout room where I've mounted a TV. I really don't want to pay for another DirecTV receiver that will be used a comparatively small amount of time - and probably never at the same time as the home theater.

    So these HDMI splitters (here's another example of one I saw) essentially just split the signal into two? So if both TVs were on at the same time they would have to be on the same channel? Seems pretty straightforward, anything else I should know?


    For what it's worth, I also use a Logitech Harmony 900 remote. This has two major benefits. First, this particular remote uses an RF system instead of infrared, so you don't have to be pointing the remote directly at your devices for it to work. You can be across the room, in another room, etc.

    The second benefit is that you can program the remote for many different functions and it turns on all necessary devices at once. I hit "Home Theater" and my TV, DirecTV box, and A/V receiver all turn on. Then I programmed in a "Workout Room TV" function that will control that TV plus the DirecTV box, which I need to connect using one of these HDMI splitters.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 65,231, Level: 79
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 1,219
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Cyclonesrule91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Waukee
    Posts
    4,949
    Points
    65,231
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 116

    Re: The Hopper

    Don't want to derail the thread but I have a question about the Hopper. I was told today that it has 6 tuners so you can record up to 6 shows at a time. What I was told was that 4 of the tuners are dedicated only to ABC, NBC, CBS and FOX and even if you shut it off you can't use those 4 tuners for any other channels to record on. That leaves 2 tuners that you can record on all other channels. Not sure if "tuners" is the right term.

    For those with the Hopper, is that correct?



  8. #8
    Rookie
    Points: 8,668, Level: 27
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    State Center
    Posts
    356
    Points
    8,668
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 12
    Given: 3

    Re: The Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyclonesrule91 View Post
    Don't want to derail the thread but I have a question about the Hopper. I was told today that it has 6 tuners so you can record up to 6 shows at a time. What I was told was that 4 of the tuners are dedicated only to ABC, NBC, CBS and FOX and even if you shut it off you can't use those 4 tuners for any other channels to record on. That leaves 2 tuners that you can record on all other channels. Not sure if "tuners" is the right term.

    For those with the Hopper, is that correct?
    It has 3 tuners. During primetime you can set it up so that one of those tuners records ABC, CBS, NBC and Fox all at the same time. leaving you two other tuners to use. This is how they claim you can record 6 shows at once.



  9. #9
    Legend
    Points: 208,366, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,629
    Points
    208,366
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 310
    Given: 479

    Re: The Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by Trice View Post
    I have a similar scenario. I have a DirecTV DVR in a home theater setup against one wall. On the other side of the wall is a workout room where I've mounted a TV. I really don't want to pay for another DirecTV receiver that will be used a comparatively small amount of time - and probably never at the same time as the home theater.

    So these HDMI splitters (here's another example of one I saw) essentially just split the signal into two? So if both TVs were on at the same time they would have to be on the same channel? Seems pretty straightforward, anything else I should know?


    For what it's worth, I also use a Logitech Harmony 900 remote. This has two major benefits. First, this particular remote uses an RF system instead of infrared, so you don't have to be pointing the remote directly at your devices for it to work. You can be across the room, in another room, etc.

    The second benefit is that you can program the remote for many different functions and it turns on all necessary devices at once. I hit "Home Theater" and my TV, DirecTV box, and A/V receiver all turn on. Then I programmed in a "Workout Room TV" function that will control that TV plus the DirecTV box, which I need to connect using one of these HDMI splitters.
    I have a similar set-up with a TV above my treadmill. I didn't go the HDMI splitter route though. Since all the connections are live on the back of the DVR, I'm just using a component cable to that TV.



  10. #10
    Speechless
    Points: 341,821, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    cyhiphopp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Johnston
    Posts
    16,532
    Points
    341,821
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,375
    Given: 2,882

    Re: The Hopper

    YOU RAAAANG?!?!



  11. #11
    Starter
    Points: 40,149, Level: 61
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 201
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Trice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    941
    Points
    40,149
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 38
    Given: 4

    Re: The Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    I have a similar set-up with a TV above my treadmill. I didn't go the HDMI splitter route though. Since all the connections are live on the back of the DVR, I'm just using a component cable to that TV.
    I tested that awhile ago with a different TV and it worked fine, but for some reason with the TV I bought for the workout room, no audio gets through with anything other than HDMI.



  12. #12
    Pro
    Points: 152,515, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    iahawkhunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Huxley, IA
    Posts
    2,780
    Points
    152,515
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 19
    Given: 23

    Re: The Hopper

    Quote Originally Posted by ruxCYtable View Post
    I didn't have the hopper but when I had dish I split one box between two TVs and then bought an extra wireless remote for the 2nd TV. Dish's wireless remotes are the bomb. DirecTV's wireless remotes suck ***.
    Good thing you sprang for the wireless versions. Those wired remotes are a PITA.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lake_remote.jpg 
Views:	338 
Size:	137.9 KB 
ID:	17408


    Quote Originally Posted by im4cyclones View Post
    [Anything] is easy if you are content to suck at it.

  13. #13
    All-Star
    Points: 19,045, Level: 42
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 805
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Grimes
    Posts
    1,202
    Points
    19,045
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 19
    Given: 9

    Re: The Hopper

    I'll need to look at the Joey. You need to split at the Joey and run to the TV? Thats a long HDMI cord?



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 07:00 PM