Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 75,081, Level: 85
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,469
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran
    NATEizKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hilton
    Posts
    6,930
    Points
    75,081
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 287
    Given: 399

    IT Help - Reaching Here

    My laptop has been locking up after just a few minutes (5-10) every time I start it up. Here is the error message it displays after being frozen for a while:

    Failure to display security and shut down options

    The logon process was unable to display security and logon options when CTRL + ALT + DELETE was pressed. If the operating system does not respond, press ESC or restart the computer by using the power switch.


    I tried the googled answer option of reseting winsock in cmd safe mode but have not had any success. I have also tried to restore to a previous date and none of the previous dates work, always get an error. My easy software management was installing an update and is no longer on my computer which I have read updates and installations have caused this error. Not sure how to get it fixed though. I am running safe mode with networking just fine.



  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 181,742, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,036
    Points
    181,742
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 157
    Given: 132

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here


  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 26,519, Level: 49
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 31
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    iowa_wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,274
    Points
    26,519
    Level
    49
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 42
    Given: 17

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Nate, you may not like my suggestion but it worked wonders for me when the Vista on my Toshiba shot craps.

    Meet Ubuntu | Ubuntu



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 75,081, Level: 85
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,469
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran
    NATEizKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hilton
    Posts
    6,930
    Points
    75,081
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 287
    Given: 399

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    I read through these and tried the clean boot and winsock reset in safe mode, neither worked.



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 75,081, Level: 85
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,469
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran
    NATEizKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hilton
    Posts
    6,930
    Points
    75,081
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 287
    Given: 399

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Quote Originally Posted by iowa_wildcat View Post
    Nate, you may not like my suggestion but it worked wonders for me when the Vista on my Toshiba shot craps.

    Meet Ubuntu | Ubuntu
    I'd rather avoid that route for now, I have reinstall cd's if I have to resort to that.



  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 92,591, Level: 94
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 559
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    VTXCyRyD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3,248
    Points
    92,591
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 104
    Given: 67

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Ubuntu is a pretty simple to use Linux system. I run it on my desktop at home. I run it with a dual boot along with Windows XP. The only reason I have XP still on the system is some of the programs I use don't work well with WINE on Ubuntu. Its mostly a couple of games. Some of them work on WINE just fine.

    95% of the time my desktop computer at home is running Ubuntu 12.10.



  7. #7
    Addict
    Points: 157,483, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsSocial1 year registered
    Cycl1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Liberty
    Posts
    6,582
    Points
    157,483
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 77
    Given: 3

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    have you tried restarting?


    I LIEK CHOCOLATE MILK - The Partisan Bat

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisMWilliams View Post
    Hmmm...I'm not a huge "weiner"
    Quote Originally Posted by Angie View Post
    "Yeah, Chris' weiner is a way bigger get than mine."

  8. #8
    Legend
    Points: 389,752, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,846
    Points
    389,752
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 588
    Given: 425

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Have you tried creating a new administrator account, moving your documents and such to it and then deleting your old account? Im curious if its user specific and was wrecked up by malware.



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 75,081, Level: 85
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,469
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran
    NATEizKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hilton
    Posts
    6,930
    Points
    75,081
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 287
    Given: 399

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Ever used Microsoft Answer Desk?



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 75,081, Level: 85
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,469
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran
    NATEizKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hilton
    Posts
    6,930
    Points
    75,081
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 287
    Given: 399

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Quote Originally Posted by Cycl1 View Post
    have you tried restarting?
    I have to boot in safe mode with networking or my screen freezes after about five minutes and I get the message I posted above, then have to restart again for same result.



  11. #11
    Addict
    Points: 75,081, Level: 85
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,469
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran
    NATEizKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hilton
    Posts
    6,930
    Points
    75,081
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 287
    Given: 399

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    Have you tried creating a new administrator account, moving your documents and such to it and then deleting your old account? Im curious if its user specific and was wrecked up by malware.
    Haven't tried this, not really sure I know how. I usually don't set up accounts since it's my personal computer and I'm the only one that uses it.



  12. #12
    Legend
    Points: 389,752, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,846
    Points
    389,752
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 588
    Given: 425

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Quote Originally Posted by NATEizKING View Post
    Haven't tried this, not really sure I know how. I usually don't set up accounts since it's my personal computer and I'm the only one that uses it.

    Before you decide to reload the system try it.

    How to create a new user account in Windows 7 and Windows Vista

    This will tell you how.

    Once you have created the account (make sure you set as administrator), log in under it and confirm if everything is working, once it is, just go into the old user profile c:\users\username and move your documents over to the new profile. Once you have done all that you can delete that account.


    Last edited by bos; 01-03-2013 at 10:15 AM.

  13. #13
    Addict
    Points: 75,081, Level: 85
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,469
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran
    NATEizKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hilton
    Posts
    6,930
    Points
    75,081
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 287
    Given: 399

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    Before you decide to reload the system try it.

    How to create a new user account in Windows 7 and Windows Vista

    This will tell you how. You can still get to your regular account in safe mode, correct? Make sure you back up all of your stuff if you can to an external hard drive, because once you remove the old account its gone.
    I have a flash, not much I really need on here anyway. The help desk guy told me to try this (with links):

    First you need to do a system file check
    if it founds corrupted files which it cannot repair then you will need to perform an in-place upgrade using the windows 7 disc
    you will also need to run our safety scanner to determine any on going virus infection
    and to update your device driver (GPU)

    If it fails I will try the new account method, and yes I can get on my administrator account in safe mode, had to run cmd as admin to try the winsock reset suggestion but that failed me



  14. #14
    Legend
    Points: 389,752, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,846
    Points
    389,752
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 588
    Given: 425

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    I guess I didnt ask, can you get to a logon screen when not in safe mode? Or does it error out long before that?



  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 75,081, Level: 85
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,469
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsRecommendation Second ClassVeteran
    NATEizKING's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Hilton
    Posts
    6,930
    Points
    75,081
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 287
    Given: 399

    Re: IT Help - Reaching Here

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    I guess I didnt ask, can you get to a logon screen when not in safe mode? Or does it error out long before that?
    I don't have a logon screen because I never created an account or password, but I can fully load in regular boot but it freezes after about 5 minutes. Screen goes black for a while, get a loading cursor that I can move, get the error message above, goes back to normal for a few minutes, repeat.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 07:00 PM