Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Starter
    Points: 22,903, Level: 46
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 647
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cyadict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    626
    Points
    22,903
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 50
    Given: 8

    Anybody use Vonage?

    My wife want to switch phone providers to Vonage and I'm all in favor in getting rid of the land line all together. Anybody here ever use Vonage? What are your thoughts on it?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 71,750, Level: 83
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 1,400
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    5,667
    Points
    71,750
    Level
    83
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 257
    Given: 225

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    I have used it for a couple years, no complaints. You do need a decent speed to be able to surf, etc. And have no loss in quality. Also, voicemail transcription is marginal, but having the vm recording come to email is pretty cool. Only outages I have had is when the Internet is down.



  3. #3
    Starter
    Points: 22,903, Level: 46
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 647
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cyadict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    626
    Points
    22,903
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 50
    Given: 8

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    Really..that it? Just one person??



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 71,042, Level: 82
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 408
    Overall activity: 35.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    wxman1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    6,763
    Points
    71,042
    Level
    82
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,487
    Given: 1,026

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    It may be a good alternative but if you have a cell phone why get rid of a landline just to get another house phone.



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 232,883, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 79.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    15,240
    Points
    232,883
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 959
    Given: 1,428

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    I've used ooma for 3 years without any issues.



  6. #6
    Speechless
    Points: 232,883, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 79.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    15,240
    Points
    232,883
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 959
    Given: 1,428

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    I would recommend a Google voice /ooma combo. You can do a lot of cool things.



  7. #7
    Addict
    Points: 45,969, Level: 66
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 981
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album picturesVeteran25000 Experience Points
    ThatllDoCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    5,030
    Points
    45,969
    Level
    66
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 813
    Given: 1,042

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    I use vonage and have no complaints.


    “Man suffers only because he takes seriously what the gods made for fun.”
    Alan Wilson Watts

  8. #8
    Starter
    Points: 14,591, Level: 36
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 259
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    SwirlingFloater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    706
    Points
    14,591
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 33
    Given: 846

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    We had it but couldn't get our fax machine to work at all using Vonage. Vionage tried saying it would work if we slowed our baud rate way down on our fax machine, still didn't work 90% of the time.

    Switched back to a Centurylink land line because we have to be able to fax to/from our home office.



  9. #9
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 8,110, Level: 26
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    227
    Points
    8,110
    Level
    26
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 0

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    Quote Originally Posted by cyadict View Post
    My wife want to switch phone providers to Vonage and I'm all in favor in getting rid of the land line all together. Anybody here ever use Vonage? What are your thoughts on it?
    We had it for a couple of years. The call quality on long distance isn't great, and had a tendency to drop. For some reason, the cost kept creeping up on us over time until it was in the 30 dollars a month range. Eventually dropped it due to the long distance and the price, no longer have a land line.
    For comparisons sake, during that time we had a cable modem through Mediacom with their 20 mbps+ service.



  10. #10
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 69,138, Level: 81
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    cyfanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    4,202
    Points
    69,138
    Level
    81
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 88
    Given: 2,041

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    That ooma sounds interesting...almost too good to be true.



  11. #11
    Speechless
    Points: 232,883, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 79.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    15,240
    Points
    232,883
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 959
    Given: 1,428

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    Quote Originally Posted by cyfanatic View Post
    That ooma sounds interesting...almost too good to be true.
    I don't know why it seem to good to be true, It's just basic VOIP. I've used it for 3 years now.



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 139,764, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5,045
    Points
    139,764
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,213
    Given: 1,089

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    We had Vonage for a while. Vonage itself was great but when we had it Mediacom kept dropping our internet connection. Coincidence? I think not. I don't know what they have now in terms of pricing packages but at that time they had like a 500 minute plan that was only $14.99. It was perfect for people who want to have a landline just in case but don't use it that much.



  13. #13
    Pro
    Points: 57,758, Level: 74
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 792
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,190
    Points
    57,758
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 104
    Given: 487

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    No, but I've used Google voice and the Obihai OBI100 without any problems for a couple years. Monthly charge = $0.00.

    Newegg.com - Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP


    I was a victim of a series of accidents, as are we all.

  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 120,644, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Clonefan94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    7,526
    Points
    120,644
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,085
    Given: 830

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    We've had vonage for quite a few years and really like it. The call quality is better than what we used to get and it's substantially cheaper with a lot more fun tools. I don't know how it compares to other VOIP services, but compared to regular phone companies, there is no comparison.



  15. #15
    Speechless
    Points: 467,298, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 68.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    70,964
    Points
    467,298
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,377
    Given: 2,181

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    I've used ooma for 3 years without any issues.
    I had vonage and could not use my house security system due to vonage problems - yes, they could not figure out how to make a npn centralized vonage system to avoid my house alarms. I know two family people with oompa and it is great. One is lifetimed in at $5 a year. The way to go although the price has gone up.


    Let Prohm's Posse Ride: Hallice, Brady, Stu, Lard, Naz, Deonte, Monte, Matt, Simeon, Jordan, and Babb.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBA
  • Football Season Opener vs. UNI
  • September 3, 2016
  • 07:00 PM