Anybody use Vonage?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Rookie
    Points: 19,033, Level: 42
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 817
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cyadict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    589
    Points
    19,033
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 5

    Anybody use Vonage?

    My wife want to switch phone providers to Vonage and I'm all in favor in getting rid of the land line all together. Anybody here ever use Vonage? What are your thoughts on it?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 69,933, Level: 82
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 1,517
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    5,431
    Points
    69,933
    Level
    82
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 132
    Given: 128

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    I have used it for a couple years, no complaints. You do need a decent speed to be able to surf, etc. And have no loss in quality. Also, voicemail transcription is marginal, but having the vm recording come to email is pretty cool. Only outages I have had is when the Internet is down.



  3. #3
    Rookie
    Points: 19,033, Level: 42
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 817
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    cyadict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    589
    Points
    19,033
    Level
    42
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 5

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    Really..that it? Just one person??



  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 49,664, Level: 68
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 27.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    3,900
    Points
    49,664
    Level
    68
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 142
    Given: 18

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    It may be a good alternative but if you have a cell phone why get rid of a landline just to get another house phone.



  5. #5
    Legend
    Points: 209,972, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,932
    Points
    209,972
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 450
    Given: 655

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    I've used ooma for 3 years without any issues.



  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 209,972, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,932
    Points
    209,972
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 450
    Given: 655

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    I would recommend a Google voice /ooma combo. You can do a lot of cool things.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 40,072, Level: 61
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 278
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album picturesVeteran25000 Experience Points
    ThatllDoCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    3,860
    Points
    40,072
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 324
    Given: 421

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    I use vonage and have no complaints.


    “Man suffers only because he takes seriously what the gods made for fun.”
    Alan Wilson Watts

  8. #8
    Starter
    Points: 12,900, Level: 34
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 450
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    SwirlingFloater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    629
    Points
    12,900
    Level
    34
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 12
    Given: 348

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    We had it but couldn't get our fax machine to work at all using Vonage. Vionage tried saying it would work if we slowed our baud rate way down on our fax machine, still didn't work 90% of the time.

    Switched back to a Centurylink land line because we have to be able to fax to/from our home office.



  9. #9
    Walk On
    Points: 7,059, Level: 25
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 491
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    203
    Points
    7,059
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 0

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    Quote Originally Posted by cyadict View Post
    My wife want to switch phone providers to Vonage and I'm all in favor in getting rid of the land line all together. Anybody here ever use Vonage? What are your thoughts on it?
    We had it for a couple of years. The call quality on long distance isn't great, and had a tendency to drop. For some reason, the cost kept creeping up on us over time until it was in the 30 dollars a month range. Eventually dropped it due to the long distance and the price, no longer have a land line.
    For comparisons sake, during that time we had a cable modem through Mediacom with their 20 mbps+ service.



  10. #10
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 66,452, Level: 80
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,598
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    cyfanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    4,105
    Points
    66,452
    Level
    80
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 57
    Given: 827

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    That ooma sounds interesting...almost too good to be true.



  11. #11
    Legend
    Points: 209,972, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,932
    Points
    209,972
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 450
    Given: 655

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    Quote Originally Posted by cyfanatic View Post
    That ooma sounds interesting...almost too good to be true.
    I don't know why it seem to good to be true, It's just basic VOIP. I've used it for 3 years now.



  12. #12
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 110,882, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,268
    Points
    110,882
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 379
    Given: 402

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    We had Vonage for a while. Vonage itself was great but when we had it Mediacom kept dropping our internet connection. Coincidence? I think not. I don't know what they have now in terms of pricing packages but at that time they had like a 500 minute plan that was only $14.99. It was perfect for people who want to have a landline just in case but don't use it that much.



  13. #13
    Pro
    Points: 57,799, Level: 74
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 751
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,190
    Points
    57,799
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 99
    Given: 487

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    No, but I've used Google voice and the Obihai OBI100 without any problems for a couple years. Monthly charge = $0.00.

    Newegg.com - Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP


    I was a victim of a series of accidents, as are we all.

  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 104,824, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Clonefan94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    6,419
    Points
    104,824
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 321
    Given: 178

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    We've had vonage for quite a few years and really like it. The call quality is better than what we used to get and it's substantially cheaper with a lot more fun tools. I don't know how it compares to other VOIP services, but compared to regular phone companies, there is no comparison.



  15. #15
    Speechless
    Points: 408,173, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 45.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    61,115
    Points
    408,173
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 881
    Given: 620

    Re: Anybody use Vonage?

    Quote Originally Posted by dmclone View Post
    I've used ooma for 3 years without any issues.
    I had vonage and could not use my house security system due to vonage problems - yes, they could not figure out how to make a npn centralized vonage system to avoid my house alarms. I know two family people with oompa and it is great. One is lifetimed in at $5 a year. The way to go although the price has gone up.


    Let my Fred's Posse Ride: Georges, Naz, Hogue, Bryce, Nader, Monte, Matt, and McKay.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.tv
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Mississippi Valley State
  • December 31, 2014
  • 06:00 PM