Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Prospect
    Points: 106, Level: 1
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 44
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    106
    Level
    1
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    On Texas Tech's drive in the 4th quarter in which they made the field goal, they had a 1st and 10 from about midfield. They completed a pass for about 6 yards, then, there was a personal foul, 15 yard penalty after the play. They moved the ball back the 15 yards from the spot of the catch, and granted them 1st and 19. To me this did not make any sense. If the penalty happened after the play, shouldn't it have been 2nd and 19 after the penalty yardage was marked off? If the penalty actually happened during the play, shouldn't it have been 1st and 25? Just curious.....



  2. #2
    Pro
    Points: 38,172, Level: 60
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 878
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3,000
    Points
    38,172
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 91
    Given: 25

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    I was also confused about this, then again I don't know all the rules by heart either.



  3. #3
    Addict
    Points: 107,658, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 42.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    Cycsk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8,279
    Points
    107,658
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 96
    Given: 176

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    Yeah, that confused me too.



  4. #4
    Speechless
    Points: 426,205, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,643
    Points
    426,205
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 37
    Given: 1

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    I can't remember the penalty but on a spot foul it would be marked correctly. I think it was on a receiver so if it was down the field then yes, 1st and 19 would've been correct.



  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 103,282, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,762
    Points
    103,282
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 11

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    Quote Originally Posted by IcSyU View Post
    I can't remember the penalty but on a spot foul it would be marked correctly. I think it was on a receiver so if it was down the field then yes, 1st and 19 would've been correct.
    I know there are some football officials on here but I think you're correct. It must have been penalized from the spot of the foul.



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 106,824, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    CysRage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5,506
    Points
    106,824
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 84
    Given: 69

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    If the penalty was after the play it should have been loss of down since the play was blown dead. If it was during the play, it was correctly called.


    ďI told you, I donít care if youíre black or white. I donít care if youíre rich or poor. I donít care where you come from, whether itís Texas, Florida, California, or right here in the state of Iowa, I donít care about any of thatÖ But what I did care about is moving forward from that day on, that we were one team." -Paul Rhoads

  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 268,938, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 42.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    VeloClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park, MN
    Posts
    12,496
    Points
    268,938
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 154
    Given: 375

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    Quote Originally Posted by IcSyU View Post
    I can't remember the penalty but on a spot foul it would be marked correctly. I think it was on a receiver so if it was down the field then yes, 1st and 19 would've been correct.
    This is what I remember. It was quite a ways downfield.


    "There are five real good recruits in the state. We got three of them. One couldnít get into school, and the other went to (the University of) Iowa...which is about the same thing." - Coach Johnny Orr

  8. #8
    All-Star
    Points: 33,827, Level: 56
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 423
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    farminclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,304
    Points
    33,827
    Level
    56
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    So if a WR runs 50 yards downfield and commits a 15 yard spot penalty while the QB scrambles around that is a net gain of 35 yards on the play?

    I think I found our new offensive strategy.

    Edit: I suppose the defense would just decline the penalty.


    Last edited by farminclone; 10-01-2012 at 01:34 PM.

  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 96,472, Level: 96
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 578
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Clonefan94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    5,802
    Points
    96,472
    Level
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 24
    Given: 18

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    Quote Originally Posted by farminclone View Post
    So if a WR runs 50 yards downfield and commits a 15 yard spot penalty while the QB scrambles around that is a net gain of 35 yards on the play?

    I think I found our new offensive strategy.
    I think that's only when the ball has moved beyond the line of scrimmage though. I have seen run plays where I guy breaks free, holding call 5 yards down field and it ends up being 1st and 5, so in essence, having gained 5 yards and no loss of down from the previous spot.

    I could be wrong though, and if I am, yeah, we should send a receiver 15 yards down field every play and just grab the defender. Although, the other team could choose to not accept the penalty.

    EDIT: Although, there are a plethera of rules on penalties that neve made sense to me. i.e. how a holding call and an off sides call can off set. One is 10 yards, the othe is 5, why not still mark off the 5 yards?


    Last edited by Clonefan94; 10-01-2012 at 01:39 PM.

  10. #10
    Legend
    Points: 268,938, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 42.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    VeloClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park, MN
    Posts
    12,496
    Points
    268,938
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 154
    Given: 375

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    Quote Originally Posted by Clonefan94 View Post
    I think that's only when the ball has moved beyond the line of scrimmage though. I have seen run plays where I guy breaks free, holding call 5 yards down field and it ends up being 1st and 5, so in essence, having gained 5 yards and no loss of down from the previous spot.

    I could be wrong though, and if I am, yeah, we should send a receiver 15 yards down field every play and just grab the defender. Although, the other team could choose to not accept the penalty.

    EDIT: Although, there are a plethera of rules on penalties that neve made sense to me. i.e. how a holding call and an off sides call can off set. One is 10 yards, the othe is 5, why not still mark off the 5 yards?

    First they do not offset personal foul type penalties with non personal fouls. So the penalties are all within the flow of the play not aggregious misconduct.

    I think the idea of offsetting penalties is that the play is flawed and should just essentially be replayed. What if a player is offsides and his blocker who is put at a large disadvantage due to the offsides then holds that player. Does that really deserve a net 5 yard penalty for the offense? The genesis of the holding infraction was the offsides.


    Last edited by VeloClone; 10-01-2012 at 02:05 PM.
    "There are five real good recruits in the state. We got three of them. One couldnít get into school, and the other went to (the University of) Iowa...which is about the same thing." - Coach Johnny Orr

  11. #11
    Speechless
    Points: 401,168, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 29.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    alarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    20,826
    Points
    401,168
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 93
    Given: 39

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........




  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 96,472, Level: 96
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 578
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Clonefan94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    5,802
    Points
    96,472
    Level
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 24
    Given: 18

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    Quote Originally Posted by VeloClone View Post
    First they do not offset personal foul type penalties with non personal fouls. So the penalties are all within the flow of the play not aggregious misconduct.

    I think the idea of offsetting penalties is that the play is flawed and should just essentially be replayed. What if a player is offsides and his blocker who is put at a large disadvantage due to the offsides then holds that player. Does that really deserve a net 5 yard penalty for the offense? The genesis of the holding infraction was the offsides.
    Ddn't know I said they did the bolded part, thanks for ah, clearing that up for me?

    Bt it rarely happens that way. They are usually two separate occurrances. Holding on the line and pass interference. Yeah, you could say the guy had to interfere, because the QB had too much time, but my argument to that would be that he probably had to interfere because he was worried about what the line was doing and not his receiver.

    Not really a big deal though. I wasn't trying to make a case for it, just saying that it doesn't always make sense to me.

    Honestly, I was just making a case to not put too much stock in my explanation of what happened on the play the OP was talking about.



  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 268,938, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 42.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    VeloClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brooklyn Park, MN
    Posts
    12,496
    Points
    268,938
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 154
    Given: 375

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    Quote Originally Posted by Clonefan94 View Post
    Ddn't know I said they did the bolded part, thanks for ah, clearing that up for me?

    Bt it rarely happens that way. They are usually two separate occurrances. Holding on the line and pass interference. Yeah, you could say the guy had to interfere, because the QB had too much time, but my argument to that would be that he probably had to interfere because he was worried about what the line was doing and not his receiver.

    Not really a big deal though. I wasn't trying to make a case for it, just saying that it doesn't always make sense to me.

    Honestly, I was just making a case to not put too much stock in my explanation of what happened on the play the OP was talking about.

    Didn't say you did, just trying to paint the whole picture.

    Sorry if I offended, but I thought you were legitimately asking a question since you asked why they didn't still mark off the 5 yards.


    "There are five real good recruits in the state. We got three of them. One couldnít get into school, and the other went to (the University of) Iowa...which is about the same thing." - Coach Johnny Orr

  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 124,588, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    theshadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6,462
    Points
    124,588
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Maybe I just don't know the rules, but........

    PF was during the play. Since the ball ended up past the spot of the foul, the 15 was marked off from the spot, and the down replayed.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM