Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 28,152, Level: 51
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 498
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,470
    Points
    28,152
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 601

    Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    At my inlaws for the weekend in rural Iowa. I am thinking of getting Cyclones.tv for the WIU game and doing the following:

    I installed a wireless router using their 0.5 mbps Internet
    Stream to my Lenovo Thinkpad
    Hook Thinkpad up to 52" HDTV via HDMI (Thinkpad has HDMI out)

    My concern is that 0.5 mbps just won't be fast enough and I will go crazy with all the buffering. Anyone with 0.5 mbps Internet have luck with Cyclones.tv? Thanks in advance.



  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 146,007, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    Judoka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Timbuktu
    Posts
    11,158
    Points
    146,007
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 698
    Given: 782

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    For live feeds they usually have an option in the lower righthand corner where you can manually set the quality. I am sure you'll be able to find a quality setting that will work with .5 mbps internet, but I doubt that will look very good on a 52 inch TV. For an HD feed you'd need much higher speed internet.



  3. #3
    Pro
    Points: 47,482, Level: 67
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 868
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    PabloDiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    2,817
    Points
    47,482
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 202
    Given: 205

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    From what I have been told, that should work. I don't know about the technical jargon but HDMI to TV from streaming laptop is supposed to work.

    At least, I am counting on it to work



  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 28,152, Level: 51
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 498
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,470
    Points
    28,152
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 601

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    I've been testing out some of the non-premium videos on cyclones.tv just streaming to my Thinkpad and there is quite a bit of buffering. I may just listen to the game on the radio.



  5. #5
    All-Star
    Points: 28,152, Level: 51
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 498
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,470
    Points
    28,152
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 601

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    Quote Originally Posted by PabloDiablo View Post
    From what I have been told, that should work. I don't know about the technical jargon but HDMI to TV from streaming laptop is supposed to work.

    At least, I am counting on it to work
    I know the connections and streaming should work, i'm just afraid with 0.5 mbps i'm just going to get constant buffering. Was hoping someone would say "that's what i do and it works okay."



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 128,685, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    WhatchaGonnaDo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    5,205
    Points
    128,685
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 384
    Given: 219

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    .5 mbps is pretty slow. Good luck with that.



  7. #7
    Speechless
    Points: 408,040, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    61,087
    Points
    408,040
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 877
    Given: 609

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    Can you hardwire instead of wireless? That is what the website suggested.


    Let my Fred's Posse Ride: Georges, Naz, Hogue, Bryce, Nader, Monte, Matt, and McKay.

  8. #8
    Legend
    Points: 146,007, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    Judoka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Timbuktu
    Posts
    11,158
    Points
    146,007
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 698
    Given: 782

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    Quote Originally Posted by JBone84 View Post
    I've been testing out some of the non-premium videos on cyclones.tv just streaming to my Thinkpad and there is quite a bit of buffering. I may just listen to the game on the radio.
    One of my least favorite parts about Cyclones.tv is the lack of ability to adjust resolution or buffer for non live events. It all comes up high quality and it wont let you adjust if you have a crappy connection.



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 146,976, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6,187
    Points
    146,976
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesley View Post
    Can you hardwire instead of wireless? That is what the website suggested.
    Wireless won't matter behind an 0.5 mbps connection.

    Any chance this "rural area" has 3G? You could tether an android phone and pull 1 mbps, maybe 1.5. That could be passable, especially if it is one of those auto-adjusting streams based on your speed.



  10. #10
    All-Star
    Points: 28,152, Level: 51
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 498
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,470
    Points
    28,152
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 601

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    Quote Originally Posted by SeattleClone View Post
    Wireless won't matter behind an 0.5 mbps connection.

    Any chance this "rural area" has 3G? You could tether an android phone and pull 1 mbps, maybe 1.5. That could be passable, especially if it is one of those auto-adjusting streams based on your speed.
    Unfortunately, I'm underneath a steel roof so the phone doesn't even like to pick up 3G.



    Really leaning towards listening on the radio unless someone comes up with some other great advice.



  11. #11
    Legend
    Points: 311,214, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 94.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    00clone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Iowa City area
    Posts
    10,656
    Points
    311,214
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,573
    Given: 611

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    Quote Originally Posted by JBone84 View Post
    Unfortunately, I'm underneath a steel roof so the phone doesn't even like to pick up 3G.



    Really leaning towards listening on the radio unless someone comes up with some other great advice.

    Ahh, only allowed in the machine shed at the in-laws, eh?




    Quote Originally Posted by cowgirl836
    moar yoga pants, please.

  12. #12
    All-Star
    Points: 28,152, Level: 51
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 498
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,470
    Points
    28,152
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 601

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    Quote Originally Posted by 00clone View Post
    Ahh, only allowed in the machine shed at the in-laws, eh?

    You give me too much credit. There's no machinery in here...only poo in this lean-to.



  13. #13
    Speechless
    Points: 408,040, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialOverdriveVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    61,087
    Points
    408,040
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 877
    Given: 609

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    HIT THE BARS.


    Let my Fred's Posse Ride: Georges, Naz, Hogue, Bryce, Nader, Monte, Matt, and McKay.

  14. #14
    All-Star
    Points: 28,152, Level: 51
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 498
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    JBone84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    1,470
    Points
    28,152
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 601

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesley View Post
    HIT THE BARS.
    If i knew of one with cyclones.tv i would be there.



  15. #15
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 110,823, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,258
    Points
    110,823
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 375
    Given: 395

    Re: Cyclones.tv - Will this Setup Work?

    No, 0.5mbps is not going to work. That's barely faster than dial-up. You might get through the first quarter by Monday morning.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.tv
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Mississippi Valley State
  • December 31, 2014
  • 06:00 PM